1993 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Best cheap wheels

Faults:

Alternator replaced at 110,000 miles. Rear speakers blown.

General Comments:

Great car. Very low maintenance, but make sure the timing belt is changed when required. Very good performance for what is supposed to be an economy car. Comfortable at highway speeds due to the 4-speed auto with overdrive. We were so satisfied with the car that I made it a priority to have my girlfriend buy a 1996 prizm when she searched for a car to purchase. A review for that car will be posted once the final bill for the preventive maintenance is complete.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2004

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 Inline 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Inline 4 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance152224 miles

Summary:

Reliable, one word sums it up

Faults:

No major engine problems.

Console lights went out after 8 years.

Alternator went out at 120k.

General Comments:

This is a phenomenal car. The Toyota Corolla and Geo Prizm are mechanically identical, that's why I think the car has lasted so long. My Prizm still has the original clutch! This car can't accelerate too quickly, but I've gotten this car up to 95 mph and still climbing (took a while, but it will go that fast). The manual transmission also makes this a fun car to drive. This car's small engine gets really good gas mileage, but performance suffers because of it. I hope to enjoy this car for many years and will drive it til' the engine dies completely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2004

5th May 2004, 18:14

Well my 93 Prizm has exactly 203,000 miles and it still runs strong engine is quite doesn't burn any oil, however the auto transmission is making some noises of course I can expect that considering that the transmission and engine are the original. This has been the most reliable car I have ever owned.

1993 Geo Prizm LXI 1.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Right car for a poor person

Faults:

Recently, I started to hear squeacking noise from the engine. Sounds, like it is coming from the side of the engine where the belts are. What can it be?

If anybody can tell me, how can I know if I need to replace the timing belt?

Also, I had to clean distributor once.

General Comments:

I got this car only few months ago, but I already have very pleasant feelings about it. (Except the squeacky noise, described above)

I paid just $ 2000 for it, and I am happy so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2004

20th Sep 2004, 21:42

Try checking the tension on the belts, they aren't too hard to tighten. Possibly see if the sound is coming from the alternator or power steering pump.

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired122333 miles
Most recent distance255204 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Lots of life packed into a small space

Faults:

Starter failed at time of purchase, Which is difficult to replace.

Speedometer failed just recently, yet to be fixed.

General Comments:

This little Geo has been a god-send. It handles the road like a vet, has plenty of pep for the engine size and auto transmission, and yet uses so little fuel it's incredible.

The entire interior is holding up wonderfully, The engine you can JUST barely hear when standing right next to it.

All in all, a wonderful car that's dependable and yet still fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2003

23rd Aug 2006, 10:01

The speedometer problem could be your speed sensor has gone out.

23rd Sep 2006, 12:52

I have a 93 prizm and my speedometer recently went out. It happened after taking off faster than normal. After reving the engine up and disengaging the clutch, the speedometer jumped up to around 30 or 40 mph then dropped to zero. Now however fast I go the speedometer registers around 30 mph. I removed my sensor (it has no cable) and it looks fine. I am going to get some wiring diagrams and see if I can check the wiring and or speedometer. If I figure this out, I will post how I fixed it.

1st Nov 2006, 17:32

Mine has the exact same problem as the last guys, whether I'm going 10 or 60 it stays around 30, what's the deal?

19th Aug 2011, 21:24

Starter replacement: Yeah, kind of difficult, BUT do-able for the home mechanic.

The starter is on backside of engine under the intake manifold. I took mine out from underneath between the drive axle and engine IIRC. But broke the plastic tab off mine in the process. BUT a new one can be put in from the top. Requires removal of one of the heater core hoses - only unclamp one side nearest the firewall, some coolant will leak out. It's not impossible. IIRC 10mm, 12mm sockets. 2 bolts hold on the starter. 2 wires to disconnect.

Our '96 Prizm is at 215k, and I forgot to change the oil and filter for 40,000 miles. From 160k-200k. But she still runs fine.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 39 reviews