1993 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 3 of 9

1993 Geo Prizm Base from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles

Summary:

I love my Geo Prism (with a Toyota engine)!

Faults:

Replaced fuel tank.

General Comments:

I have a 1993 Geo Prism (with over 170K) and I am the original owner. Given that it cost less than 10K in 1993 I feel like I have really gotten my money's worth out of it and I love not having a car payment. I have done all of the regular maintenance (including replacing the timing belt twice now), and the biggest surprise was having to replace my fuel tank about 4 years ago due to a hole/leak. I just took my car in today because I don't seem to be getting as good gas mileage and I noticed some fluid leaking in my driveway. So I'm worried I might have another rusted fuel tank. Is there a comparable car available out there today that could replace my Geo Prism for reliability and value?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th August, 2006

20th Aug 2007, 11:58

Roofing tar is a bad idea since gas would dissolve the tar and would incorporate in the gas probably causing damage to the engine. You can use epoxy such as JB weld or another product that will seal the hole and will not dissolve in the gas. You can do this as long as the hole is not extremely large; you just have to make sure that you clean the area really well.

27th Feb 2008, 13:49

A little more than just a Toyota engine. The entire car is a Toyota Corolla clone! That's why these Prism models were so special. I had a '92 and my dad had a '94. Neither of us had ever owned a better, more reliable vehicle. And neither of us have yet to own one just as reliable to this very day. I don't even think that solid, reliable, affordable cars even exist in today's market. Shame.

7th Mar 2013, 10:35

I have a 94 Geo Prizm. I bought it off this guy for $800. It seems to get great gas mileage still. About 30 MPG.

I had to replace all THREE serpentine belts, windshield sprayers, trunk lock, and a signal lens. I may have to replace tie rods, since I have a swerving sensation when I hit a bump. All inside handles need to be replaced, as well as one outside door handle. Probably needs all new gaskets everywhere and a tune up, but I can tell that this car is going to be great. In 2013 it has 240,000+ miles on it and still has great gas mileage. The engine is sound, but does need some exhaust work.

Another great thing about this car is, it came with a $300 stereo with all new speakers inside, and wires ran for a subwoofer. I definitely got my moneys worth. For a twenty year old car, it's still great.

1993 Geo Prizm from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

I cannot imagine having a better car

Faults:

When 6 yrs. old, instrument cluster quit ($500 repair) - weird, expensive thing to fail.

Tape deck quit twice while still on warranty.

Door handles and the little knobs on the A.C. broke, so I replaced 'em.

Blew the speakers eventually, so I replaced 'em.

All in all, pretty minor stuff for an otherwise GREAT CAR!

General Comments:

I have only had one alternator, one tune up, a couple of batteries, and normal brake jobs, etc.

Finally got the fuel injectors cleaned at 155,000 miles and my gas mileage went back up dramatically!

I change my oil every 3000 miles., and rotate my tires every other oil change.

My paint was failing (it IS 13 yrs. old) so I paid Peach $300 to paint it just last week, and I plan to keep it as long as it runs.

If I could find another '93 with one owner and low mileage, I would probably buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2006

4th Mar 2007, 20:19

I was wondering if your car came with a radio. If it didn't did it have speakers. I have a 93 Prizm as well, but no radio and my friends insist I have speakers. There are speaker covers, but I'm not sure if I need to buy speakers or not.

5th Mar 2007, 11:05

Most cars of that era in that class were prewired for speakers, but did not have speakers unless it came with a radio to begin with. Good news is if you do get speakers it should be a simple plug and play installation.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 39 reviews