1993 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired106254 miles
Most recent distance114685 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

The car is spectacular

Faults:

A head gasket went bad at 112,345 miles and my blinkers stopped working.

General Comments:

This car is awesome. I have had no problems out of this car and it is so comfortable. I travel in it back and forth without any trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2001

1993 Geo Prizm from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

Neat

Faults:

The air keeps on going out, I never get any cold air.

The car shakes a lot, not sure why. Anyone else have this problem, and fixed it? E-mail tyler@webFreaks.org - it gets real annoying!

General Comments:

Overall, a nice car. It goes about 30 MPH up mountains, but *shrug*, it's a 4 cylinder, what do you expect?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

2nd Aug 2001, 20:15

I had the same problem with mine. It took 3 mechanics before one finally discovered a cracked drive axel. It was replaced with a used one and made a huge difference. About a year after that, I had the motor mounts replaced. Another huge difference. Now the car runs brand new (has 120,000 on it now).

30th Nov 2002, 18:57

I have a 93' Toyota Corolla and one of the bottom mounts had loosened over time. Tightened it myself, and the car is smooth now. The symptoms were, the car shook real bad around 40-50mph, and the tranny sounded loud when it shifted because of the loose mount. Alls well now.

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1200 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Great car, long lasting, will not let you down

Faults:

Front brakes every year since 1996.

General Comments:

Really nice car, rides better than you would expect from a car this size, sound system is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2001

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

Good little car

Faults:

Interior door handle broke, passenger side doors wouldn't latch.

Had to replace a clutch and wheel bearing, front brakes and rear brakes.

General Comments:

If you crack open the window in the rain, even the tiniest bit, you get soaked. Other than that, it seems to be a reliable little car, and generally only needs routine maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2000

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

This is a great car for anyone wanting reliable transportation and a comfortable ride

Faults:

The only things that have gone wrong with the car are the alternator taking a dump at 46,000 miles and the starter needing a rebuild at 85,000 miles. Other than that, nothing.

General Comments:

I love this car. It is quick and agile and no matter how fast or slow I drive, I get 340 miles to a tank of gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2000

1993 Geo Prizm 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10

Faults:

The airconditioning went out on it the third day I had the thing, but Geo/Chevy fixed it right away.

General Comments:

This is a wonderful car, it rides so smooth for a small car. Acceleration is terrific for a car its size. Delco sound system is great. Paint is holding up really well considering I've only waxed it one time. In my opinion this is one of the best vehicles to ever roll off the Chevy/Geo lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2000

12th Oct 2001, 19:09

You really think this is the best car to come from Chevy/Geo? Hopefully you mean only Geo. Cause Chevy makes cars way better than that.

19th Mar 2003, 21:00

This is one of the best cars that ever came off a GM lot. GM can't build quality cars, that why they had an entire Geo brand of cars imported in so GM could get some sales, I mean really how often do you see a GM brand vehicle with more than 200,000 miles on the original engine? Not often that's for sure, I mean Geo Prizms are good for at least 200,000 miles-

20th Mar 2003, 07:21

I have 400,000 on my Chevy Citation and it has never has problems with the engine or transmission. I also know lots of other newer Chevy cars that have lasted over 500,000 miles. I think this person has lost his marbles!!

17th Nov 2003, 02:04

First off, Toyota is the parent company of Geo. If you take off one of the wheels and look at the caliper harness it says big and bold, TOYOTA. Secondly, my '78 Toyota Corolla has 600,000+ miles on ALL ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT, with the exception of tune-up supplies and brake pads. Name me a Chevy that can live up to a toy, and I'll give my Geo to the junkyard.

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.8
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is a well made car, I have driven it all over the place and never had any problems with it. It has just over 100,000 miles on it and I'm proud to say nothing has ever went bad in it. I love this car and plan to get another one soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 1999

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 39 reviews