1993 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

Try to find a bad review of it!

Faults:

Alternator replaced at 123000 miles.

Ignition switch replaced at 178000 miles.

Interior light will only work when turned on (not when the door opens).

General Comments:

I can't help but praise this little car. I have put many miles in a relatively short time on this car, much of it on long trips.

My only gripes are its lack of low-end torque, the down-shifts are very sluggish, but it will accelerate adequately if pressed and forced to downshift.

The sound system could be better, with the controls being unreliable.

Cup holder stupidly placed in position to block of any access to the radio.

Aside from that, everything else seems bulletproof. Great mileage, and reliability is unreal.

Comfort is surprising for the price, with good lateral support, and surprisingly roomy for a compact. Good shocks will make a huge difference in the ride. Tight handling and surprisingly fun to drive.

Very cold air, and a more than adequate heater.

Paid $3000 for it three years ago while on a very tight budget, loved it, every one of the 75,000 miles since.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2002

3rd Dec 2002, 02:05

I have a 1993 Geo Prism and I need to replace the ignition switch. I've been told this part has been discontinued by the manufacture. Do you have another source where this item can be purchased?

12th Sep 2005, 13:13

Nice to hear about GEO Prisms. I have one sentence to say about my GEO Prism: The most reliable car I have ever had.

Everything you described is right on target. My alternator required replacement at around 135k and my ignition switch crapped out on me at around 165k. I presently have a little over 192k, and I have yet to replace any of the exhaust! I was going to donate the car to a local charity when I bought my gas guzzling SUV, but boy am I glad I did not. I continue to drive my 93 Prism on a daily basis and only touch my SUV when I have family outings. My only gripe about my Prism, other than some of the small comfort things, has been my brakes.

1993 Geo Prizm LX 1.6 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance274588 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

An economical and reliable car

Faults:

The only minor things that have gone wrong with this car were from normal driving, like brakes (replaced once), muffler, cap and tires.

A head gasket did blow somewhere around 100,000 miles, but the fix was minor.

The alternator went at about 150,000 miles.

General Comments:

I just wanted to point out the great service and performance that I have received in the last 9 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2001

1993 Geo Prizm Base 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Unbelievable car for the money

Faults:

I purchased this vehicle with a cracked manifold and a hole in the gas tank. The dealer told me the exhaust manifold was a design flaw, and finding one at a salvage yard was almost impossible. I purchased one from the Toyota dealer for $250.00.

Speedometer quit at 110,000.

Water pump went out at 112,000, cracking radiator.

Replaced motor mounts and drive shaft at 110,000 (made the car run 110% better. Can't even feel it idle!)

Radiator leaking into the driver's carpet. The dealer has fixed it twice, yet it still leaks. If anyone can advise a solution, I would be appreciative.

General Comments:

This is the finest compact car on the market.

Runs and drives like brand new, although it does not absorb bumps in the road very well.

I plan to use this vehicle to teach my children to drive (in about 10 years).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd August, 2001

6th Jun 2002, 13:17

I know this comment is late, but maybe it will still benefit you. If not, hopefully someone else will be benefited. Your coolant / water in your passenger floor is likely not a radiator issue. Most likely it is the heater coil. Mine went out in my vehicle (different make and model) and it did the same thing. It seems to be a telltale sign of that issue. Hope this helps!

21st Oct 2002, 15:11

I have a 1992 Geo Prizm and it seems to be a common problem with the exhaust manifolds. The junk yards even stock brand new manifolds for that model (all years) because buying a used one is the same as what you have. Eventually it will crack too. But other than that everything else is basic maintenance. Most water pumps in any vehicle are recommended to be replaced at about 100,000 miles. We bought ours with a locked up engine and replaced everything, even the ex. man. and it runs like a dream. And with gas prices getting so high, it's great on gas!

20th Sep 2004, 21:39

You have to watch that gas tank. I tore a hole in my 93 prism just pulling out of a side street too fast. I think I need my front axle or CV joints replaced. It has been a good car though. The brakes squeaked until I put ceramic brakes on it.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 39 reviews