1993 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 6 of 9

1993 Geo Prizm Base 1.6 DOHC FI from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC FI Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Overall great compact car

Faults:

Dealer installed air conditioning constantly failed until they replaced the evaporator. (after 4 times in the shop)

Other than that, nothing else.

General Comments:

The Prizm was (is) essentially the same as a Toyota Corolla, so I had high expectations - and they were met.

The base model didn't even have a radio, but it had 4 speakers and wiring harness installed. I installed my own Pioneer in dash for less than $200. (including harness adapters)

The engine was smooooth and quiet. You could literally balance a coin on the valve cover at idle. Acceleration was good with the 5 speed manual transmission.

Ride quality and handling were both good.

The problems with the A/C were due to the shabby dealer installation. I'm convinced that if it were factory installed, there would have been no problems at all. I paid only $8,000 for the car, and I made them throw the A/C in for free. It was the one the dealer used to get people into the showroom - y'know the "NEW PRIZM for $89/mo". But once people saw it had NO options, they looked at something better. (and more expensive)

The Prizm replaced a Chevy Corsica which was totaled in an accident, and was traded in for a minivan as my family grew.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2003

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

A great starter car for poor people like me!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Well, when I got this car in 98 I replaced the gaskets, but I don't think that really needed to be done.

But other than that I have changed the oil and kept gas in the tanks, and it runs great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 liter fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter fuel injected Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

If you own one, you know what I mean

Faults:

There is not one thing that has gone wrong with my Prism. At around 117,000 miles, the Airbag light came on, however more than one mechanic has told me it is an issue with the light, and not the airbag.

The interior and exterior are both durable.

General Comments:

This is an all-around great car that will surely provide you with everything you could possible want out of an economical little runabout.

Economically, the Prism is unbelievable, offering outstanding fuel economy with regular unleaded gas.

Geo provides top-notch fit-and-finish. After 122,000 miles of traveling, the seats are still firm, the cabin is still quiet, and you still can barely hear the car running when it is on.

All controls and functions still operate just the exact way they should.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2003

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 liter DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired159000 miles
Most recent distance160550 miles
Previous carChevrolet Van

Summary:

Good car for the family or a teenager and great on gas

Faults:

Some alternator problems or something to do with the battery. It might be a short wiring problem, but I do not think it is major.

The car also has brand new Kenwood stereo and Pioneer 6/12 rear speakers.

General Comments:

The car is extremely clean and looks almost as it did when it came from a dealer. The engine has been taken care of and is extremely clean as well. The car was purchased from a friend who was the original owner. I am now selling the car because of financial problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles

Summary:

Reliable and relatively cheap

Faults:

Tape deck stopped working 140,000.

LCD clock and radio display all of a suddent became very faint. Very annoying as I cannot tell what radio station I am on.

General Comments:

Great car overall. Very minor problems throughout its long life. It accelerates very poorly, but what can you expect after 10 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2002

1993 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A reliable, affordable great buy

Faults:

I have had to replace the alternator.

Tires needed replaced after about 50000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has been the most reliable car I have ever owned and for the price I would buy another one in a heartbeat, it is excellent on gas and surprisingly a nice ride for a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2002

1993 Geo Prizm Standard 1.6 L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance296481 miles
Previous carMercury Tracer

Summary:

Affordable, never leaves you stranded, a great car!

Faults:

Alternator went out at 150,000 miles, received a bad one and replaced again, and still going strong to this day!

Brakes done every 40,000 miles or so.

Oil changed every 3,000 miles.

Needed new wheel bearings at 90,000.

Besides the normal stuff like mufflers, tune-ups, tail light bulbs going out, etc. This car is excellent!

General Comments:

This car has been excellent! I bought this car right off the lot back in 1993.

I drive 120 miles per day back and forth to work, 5 days a week, take it on vacation 3 times per year.

Car has never left me stranded.

Great in traffic, never overheated.

Transmission shifts as seamless just as the day I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2002

16th Jun 2004, 16:56

296,481 miles? Wow, I didn't know that a Geo Prism could last that long! How is the interior/exterior of the car?

8th Oct 2006, 23:19

My prism is 1993 with 221ooo miles and is driving like new looking good int and ext.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 39 reviews