1992 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1992 Geo Tracker lsi 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

Great in winter, fun in summer

Faults:

The only problem with the car was that I put bigger tires and the acceleration and mileage went down badly.

General Comments:

I love the little car.

It looks so good and run so reliably.

I had no mechanical problem in 20K miles.

4wd work superb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2004

23rd Jan 2007, 09:29

I also have a 1992 GEO Tracker, soft top 4WD. I love this car in the summer because of the top. It is a little work horse in the winter. I used to to drag deer one day and it found its' way through the mud with ease. My friends rag on me because my Tracker is kind of loud and has a few rust spots, but I wouldn't trade it for the world. With the fun it brings in the summer and winter, and the mileage I get with $20 in gas, I hope it lasts me forever.

1992 Geo Tracker 1.6L from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance206000 miles

Summary:

Very dependable, cost effective vehicle

Faults:

Radiator at 140,000.

Alternator at 170,000.

Starter at 190,000.

General Comments:

Rough riding, but very dependable vehicle.

Uncomfortable for long trips.

Pulls through snow like a snowmobile.

Absolutely the most dependable vehicle I've ever owned. I have recently turned it over to my teenagers to drive after 200,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2004

1992 Geo Tracker 1.6L 8v from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6L 8v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance153682 kilometres

Summary:

A very good deal for theh price, takes a licking and keeps on ticking!

Faults:

My Tracker has developed a slight water leak. As of yet I am not sure what is causing this leak.

General Comments:

Great reliable car.

It's a beast off-road, literally, it will take on any other truck head to head.

Very sporty interior, in fact I was offered $500 for the two front bucket seats because "they look like racing seats".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

1992 Geo Tracker from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles

Summary:

Perfect beach bum

Faults:

Absolutely nothing yet! It's still new to me so I really baby it, but it runs like a brand new car. The ONLY thing that takes a little getting used to is in the morning when I first start it the engine runs fast until it warms up, but that may just be this car. Once it warms up it runs like a brand new car.

General Comments:

I LOVE this little tracker!! For a girl, it is THE PERFECT little SUV without all the bulk of a larger car. It's BLAST to drive and despite all the horror stories I heard about it being a "roll over waiting to happen", I feel very safe in it. A little bumpy going down the freeway, but not so bad that it gets uncomfortable. Also depends on the road. On a smooth freeway it much smoother. Around town it runs like a dream. I had a Toyota with 320,000 miles on it (and it still runs fine!) and decided to try something new just in case something happened to the Toyota. I'm so happy I went with this one. Great for parking in tight spaces, SUPER nice with the top down (even in the rain!) and handles really well. Takes corners just fine and it is so quiet at a stoplight you think it has shut itself off. Even with the convertible top and all the windows closed, you can hear just fine inside without a lot of outside noise. Top never leaks and it stays dry inside in the rain. Tops are pretty easy to find on Ebay for about $139.00. So far so good and if anything ever happens to it I'll be heartbroken. I just love it, love it, love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2003

1992 Geo Tracker LSi 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance136785 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Excellent Performance for the Cost and Size

Faults:

Nothing Major at all -

Normal wear and tear.

Brakes, muffler.

Clutch plate @ 120,000 miles.

Bad screws that held down the back seat - rusted out in less than a year.

General Comments:

I bought this off the showroom floor. It has been a dream. I treated it with respect and loyal oil changes and it has respected me in return and been very dependable.

All repairs were normal wear and tear.

I replaced the soft top once - only because the zipper had gotten damaged and replacement was the easier route.

I vowed to keep this vehicle for it's entire life, and Geo has made that quest very doable.

I take great pride in the fact that it is JUST now showing rust. It's 10 years old and lives in the Midwest. I think that's outstanding. It's performance in the snow and cold can't be praised enough.

I would love to have another Tracker in the future. Perhaps with more perks. Though I think I will opt for something more stylish, sporty. Besides that, I'll still have my little blue Tracker!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

16th Aug 2004, 19:07

Do you know what type of oil the 1992 geo tracker takes?

18th Jan 2005, 15:00

Thank you for your comments and well being.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 16 reviews