1993 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1993 Geo Tracker LSI 1.6 fuel inyection from Costa Rica

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 fuel inyection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Summary:

The more reliable car I ever had

Faults:

Almost anything going wrong, just the normal wear of things.

100,000 miles changing timing belt and also the other ones.

75,000 miles change all the wheels bearings.

General Comments:

The best car I ever had, here in the third world is the right car to have, reliable, tough.

I really recommend this great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2006

1993 Geo Tracker LSi 1.6 litre i4 8v from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 litre i4 8v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired179000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Probably one of the more overall fun vehicles available

Faults:

The Tracker had a replacement engine in it when I purchased it in June of 2005. The engine was the same as the original and the new engine has around 45,000 miles on it. The only problem I have had is the spark plugs need replaced.

General Comments:

The Geo Tracker is a great vehicle all around. Whether you're a seasoned driver or just learning, and with the ever-growing market of upgrades for these cars anyone can make their Tracker their own.

The ride is somewhat rough, but, then again, it is a 4 wheel drive folks. I've driven the 5 speed and heard about the automatic 3 speed and, with all due respect to you automatics out there, I would suggest the manual. Not just for the 5 mpg better than the automatic, but admit it, who hasn't dreamed of going down the highway at 60mph with the wind in your hair and shifting gears.

All in all, the Tracker is NOT a Jeep, but then again, not many Wranglers get 27 miles per gallon either.

In closing, if you are looking for the biggest, brawniest, 4 wheel beast alive, look no further than something else. On the other hand, if you're after fun, affordability, and seemingly endless after market accessories, I think you will find it in the Geo Tracker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2005

23rd May 2007, 05:30

A helpful review because I've got my eye on an old Tracker.

1993 Geo Tracker 1.6L from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles

Summary:

Less reliable with age, but still goes

Faults:

Needed a new a/c clutch and power steering fluid changed when I got it. This probably had to do with the over-sized wheels that had been put on it putting more stress on the pump. Everything else seems fine other than the issues I have had with an alarm system someone installed. Needs oil pan changed and it looks like it will be a pain to try and do it myself.

General Comments:

Car is very nice to ride in and gives you a big car feeling with the nice tall windows despite the fact that it is actually quite small. You can buy a wedge cup holder and it fits perfectly into the nerf bar in front of the passenger side seat :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2005

19th Nov 2006, 10:45

The undercoating did not stop serious rusting on my tracker. Both spring brackets on the rear axle rusted through. These are a difficult item to repair, due to the extensive rust on the frame. I welded a patch on the frame and used pipe of the same size to replace the old supports.

1993 Geo Tracker LS, from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

It's the cutest p.o.s. I've ever owned

Faults:

The timing has needed fixing twice. The transmission has had to be rebuilt. It overheats when high speeds are reached. It has had too many things go wrong with it than I'd like to deal with.

General Comments:

All in all, I like this car, It is the cutest thing I have ever seen. I just can't deal with spending more money to fix it than I paid for it. It handles like a dream, but has no acceleration or speed. It also doesn't help that it is not 4x4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2005

28th Aug 2006, 20:02

I finally found out what was causing my 92 Tracker to overheat - it was a collapsing heater hose, fortunately the top one. If your temperature gauge goes down when you accelerate then that's probably it.

22nd Oct 2006, 15:55

I had an overheating problem and it turned out to be a sticking thermostat. That caused it to get very hot several times and ended up splitting a tube in the radiator. I replaced the radiator and rad cap and the problem still surfaced. Took a while to track down because the sticking was intermittent. A new thermostat and it hasn't happened since.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 25 reviews