1993 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1993 Geo Tracker from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired203 miles
Most recent distance201000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Getting high mileage from my Tracker was my single biggest need and I got it

Faults:

The only problem we have ever had with our Tracker was the bolts holding the compressor in place. They wallowed out from wear and now we can't keep the compressor belt on. We put a single power steering belt on and bypassed the compressor, but I'd still like my air conditioning back.

General Comments:

I did not realize this car had no cup holders when I bought it. It just didn't occur to me to check. That has been a minor annoyance over the years. We bought the cheap type that hangs on the door, but every time you rolled the window down, you had to hang onto your drink.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2003

13th Feb 2004, 15:04

Have someone drill the holes that are wallowed out and either re-tap them for a larger bolt or insert hardened steel sleeves and bolt it back in. I had the same problem and it solved it with little time and expense.

4th Oct 2004, 13:53

One idea on the cupholder issue. I found an aftermarket console that can be bolted in between the front seats (it nests over the emergency brake handle. It provides an armrest, storage for CD's etc and best of all it has two cupholders! I got mine about 5 years ago, but I have seen them offered on the same websites that sell replacement tops.

19th Apr 2008, 20:02

Murph has got one now and he loves it. Go get 'em Bill!! I think you got yourself a good one!

1993 Geo Tracker Base 1.6 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 4-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

The most reliability for your money

Faults:

My steering belt broke along with my air conditioning belt (same belt?)

Air conditioning went out at that time also. (72,000)

Replaced all brakes at 80,000.

Check engine light on at 80,000 but no difference in drive quality.

General Comments:

Magenta seats?

3-speed auto lacks power, makes up in torque.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2003

24th Jan 2004, 00:02

I also have a geo tracker 93 it just hit the 80,000 mile mark. What did you do when the check engine light went on. Was it a dumb service call? how do you turn it off.

19th Oct 2004, 19:56

That engine check light at 80,000 was a service programed into the system. To reset, remove front left speaker grill, then speaker. To the right of the hole you will see a plastic post with a slide switch attached to it. Push the slide switch in the opposite direction. Programed to light at 50,000,80,000 and 100,000 miles. Now when you hit 100,000 miles, you will have to do this again, by pushing slide switch in the opposite position.

1993 Geo Tracker 1.6 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

Good looking little 4+4!

Faults:

The only thing that went wrong with this car was the 4+4 locks were stuck, and had to be turned with pliers and the horn stopped working for a little while. It also had a small amount of rust.

General Comments:

This has been a great little 4+4 so fare!

However it has a little bit of rust.

This Geo is great off-road!

It's gone up steep hills, and in deep mud and water!

It's exterior is in great shape.

The interior is unique and very sharp!

The Geo tracker is an all-around great SUV!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th October, 2002

10th Apr 2004, 12:53

I had the same problem with my tracker. It is easy to fix. Remove the six bolts pull out lock clean and re-grease. That should make them very easy to turn.

31st May 2005, 19:19

My wife's 1993 Tracker had the same problem with the front hubs being stuck in the free position. I was able to turn one with a pair of pliers, but the other one wouldn't budge.

I solved the problem by spraying the hubs with WD-40, making sure I soaked them well and letting it sit for about half an hour. Then I gave the hubs a few good wacks with a rubber mallet and alas, the hubs are now easy to turn by hand!

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 25 reviews