1993 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 2 of 7

1993 Geo Tracker from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired148000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Sidekick

Summary:

Love it!

Faults:

When the weather cools down in the fall and spring engine idle wants to hunt or surge.

I had the same problem with my previous 1989 Suzuki Sidekick and two 1991 Metro's.

I have been unable to figure out what the issue is, but assume it is unique to Suzuki vehicles.

General Comments:

I love the vehicle in all other respects. I call it my poor mans jeep.

I enjoy leaving the top off all summer and four wheeling in the farm fields.

I would buy another one if they still made them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2007

10th Jan 2008, 16:22

My tracker had the same "uneven idle" when cold. I took off the e.r.g. valve (bolted onto the manifold underneath the throttle body-held on with 2 bolts) I cleaned it out with solvent and re-installed. problem solved for free!!!

1993 Geo Tracker from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance260000 kilometres
Previous carGeo Honda Civic

Faults:

Nothing that doesn't go wrong with any vehicle: muffler, shocks, fuel filter, brakes. (Note: When the fuel filter goes on a 1993 Tracker it goes suddenly, instantly in fact. If in doubt, replace it.) Apart from that my 1993 Tracker is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned, and I have owned over 30 vehicles. The only negative comment I have regarding this vehicle is comfort, or lack thereof, but the makers do not claim that it is a GT. so fair enough. My Tracker now has more than a quarter of a million Kilometres on it, and it shows no sign of quitting. I think it is one of those welcome anomalies, like the Plymouth 'slant six'.

General Comments:

No complaints that could be considered reasonable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2006

11th Dec 2008, 19:31

I just purchased a 93 Geo Tracker, and besides the soft top being in bad condition, everything else is good. I filled the tank for 10.00 with gas at 1.55 a gallon. So I am very happy with that. If anyone knows where to find a good soft top in Atlanta please post the info. I have great plans for this fun little Tracker!

1993 Geo Tracker from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance18600 miles

Summary:

I LOVE my little truck!

Faults:

I had a small electrical problem do to rain in from rust holes. The problem has not returned after a small amount of body work was done.

General Comments:

Starts up every time. When my other cars fail me I go to old reliable, and he is there for me. I only have a small issue of gas mileage. It does great in the city where speeds are under 50mph anything over and it gets a little thirsty. But, I am willing to overlook that, for the reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2006

1993 Geo Tracker LSI 1.6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carFord Escort EXP

Summary:

Cheap transportation and will appreciate in value as a collectors item

Faults:

My daughter bought the tracker new and has very good luck with it. It died about 6 months ago. Mechanic discovered a rusted off wire to the fuel pump behind the tail light assembly. It failed to start again about a month ago. I decided to fix it myself as mechanic was on vacation. I took it to a big Chev dealer to give me suggestions to fix the problem. They agreed to charge $60 for an hour of diagnosis. They told me it needed a new fuel pump and fuel filter. They said they would fix it for $940, new filter and pump as it was not pumping enough pressure to the injector. I paid $60 and took it home. I had replaced the fuel filter before I took it to the dealer and in order to measure the fuel pressure you connect the gauge to the fuel filter, but they still wanted to replace the filter. I don't think they looked at it at all, just took a wild guess as to the problem and took my money.

I replaced the fuel pump and no help. Went back to dealer and talked to "tracker" mechanic, he suggested testing the voltage at the injector with LED circuit tester. We found no voltage so decided the Engine Control Module was bad. I ordered an exchange ECM on the Internet, installed it and everything works fine.

I suggest someone who understands these vehicles could do a good business diagnosing problems and guys like me could do the work. The dealer that I contacted didn't seem to be interested in helping me and suggested repairs were outrageously expensive.

We had not followed the suggested maintenance on the car accept oil changes etc. The book suggests fuel filter every 30,000 and fuel pump at 90,000. It has served my daughter well and when she decides to sell it I'll keep it for a collection.

General Comments:

A person who understands the electronics of these cars and can diagnose there problems could make good money. Testing equipment is too expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2006

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 25 reviews