1996 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 3 of 9

1996 Geo Tracker from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

The best car I have ever bought

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong except for some normal wear and tear: My front speakers blew, I didn't crank the radio. The plastic cover on the door came loose, but an easy fix. The soft top ripped, so I bought a hard top.

General Comments:

I love this car. It's my fourth one. Rides kinda of like my escort, low and turns sharp. It's a 5 speed. All of my pedals are easy for me to reach, the gear shifter is at just the right height. It's the best car I bought. Just blows around a lot, but I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2006

1996 Geo Tracker 1.6L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89500 miles
Most recent distance109785 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Versatile, capable, and fun

Faults:

Front passenger seat broke (would recline if you leaned back).

Check engine light came on due to emissions leak.

Rear window seam began to unravel.

Rust began developing along the windshield.

General Comments:

As a second car, Trackers excel.

Fun in the sun, goes in the snow. I was very impressed with it's snow performance. Even 26 inches of snow did not stop my little 4x4.

Gas mileage was good. Also because the vehicle is so light, tires last forever!

Car is noisy on the highway however and uncomfortable on long trips (more than 90 minutes or so).

Despite small size, it is comfortable for 4 people for short rides. Cargo space is very limited however. Despite this - one of the best vehicles I've ever had for yard sales. Very agile and easy to park.

Much tougher than it looks. A woman in an Eclipse ran a stop sign and hit the front of my Tracker. The entire side of her car was caved in. I lost my front license plate and had a scraped bumper. I was able to drive away, she had to be towed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2006

1996 Geo Tracker 1.8 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance113900 miles
Previous carGeo Tracker

Summary:

Amazing for the price

Faults:

The lock out hubs had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I love my 1996 Geo Tracker. I purchased this for $1,500 as a second winter driver and the body is virtually flawless. It was garage kept and older lady driven. It's performance in in the snow keeps up with my friends jeep wrangler (just does not get around as quick). Handles well even though everyone told me it would not. Not so comfortable, causes lower back pain after an hour or so (and I'm only 24 in good shape). I would like to get a brush guard for it, however, nobody seems to sell them. Does anyone know where I can get parts to make this look a little more, dare I say masculine?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2005

1996 Geo Tracker from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance107500 miles

Summary:

Cutest SUV ever made -- if it runs well and still shines, keep it

Faults:

Check Engine Light went on. Needed new O2 sensor.

Stalled when rolling to a stop. I bought it with 106,000 miles. Still had original battery (believe it or not) and never had a tuneup. Got a new battery and a thorough tuneup. Now runs great.

General Comments:

This Geo looks brand new. Still shines. I love it. The only way I will sell it is if my wife forces me. She wants a "real jeep". But this car is much cuter and works just the same as a "real jeep". I love it just fine. No regrets on buying it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2005

1996 Geo Tracker from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles

Summary:

This car is great, especially for your first car!

Faults:

The only thing that I ever needed to replace was the exhaust.

General Comments:

This car handles great, in rain or snow.

It gets great gas mileage.

The inside might be a little small, but it is very comfortable.

Not many blind spots; only one (where the back tire is)

It always starts, even when it freezing outside.

The convertible top is very easy to take on and off.

Easy to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th November, 2005

1996 Geo Tracker lsi from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Summary:

My third one and I love this car because it loves me back

Faults:

Nothing other than Ac needed recharging.

General Comments:

These cars are built tough. I am a previous jeep wrangler owner and if you want headaches get a jeep.

If you want reliable transportation and good gas mileage buy a Geo Tracker or Isuzu.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2005

22nd Mar 2006, 18:19

My engine failed at 188,350, and I took it to an independent garage for a rebuild. The problem was a warped and cracked crankshaft. A search for a used crankshaft from a 96 turned into a headache, as many owners had the same problem as me and snatched the used ones up. Often we would find one, used, but discovered it wasnt any better than my old one, warped. Several people have stated, well you got 188 thousand before you had to rebuild the engine - others say the engine should have lasted longer than that. comments?

27th Jan 2007, 16:31

I have a '96 Tracker, and I have had lots of troubles with it, but I still love her. I bought her for $600.00, which is a great price, but altogether put $3000.00 in it. I have replaced the heads and valves on her, which was $1100.00. Then I had a front seal that was leaking oil, EGR valve went, water pump, and now I believe that my throttle body spacer is going now, which is a $700.00 part. It's definitely not a highway driving vehicle, but they are GREAT for offroading. Mine loves the water!! Had water up to the top of the head lights now. Fun times, but now the transmission is leaking from the shifter seal... it's never ending problems, but I still LOVE her.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 38 reviews