1996 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1996 Geo Tracker LSI 4X4 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles

Summary:

Great car, always starts!! Never fails

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

I love this car, it can take anything. I've been offroad several times and it's done great, the car has always started as soon as I turn the key. It's holding up a lot better than some of those other Jeep type vehicles I see out there. I would recommend this car to anyone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2000

1996 Geo Tracker from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

It sucks

Faults:

The car is falling apart and has gone down in value. I bought it for $18,000 and still owe around $8,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2000

3rd Dec 2000, 06:14

You shouldn't give a bad review just because you still owe a lot of money on the Tracker. Next time put more money down!

7th Jan 2001, 11:54

I would like to buy one and would like realistic reports. What is wrong with it, what is breaking down? So far I only have only heard positive comments (except for the road noise).

1996 Geo Tracker LSi 4d 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

A affordable SUV which serves its purpose, however lacking in comfort

Faults:

Back cargo door leaks when it rains, dealer has claimed to have fixed numerous times, brake calipers faulted at 50k miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2000

1996 Geo Tracker LSi 4cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4cyl Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

A bouncy piece of crap

General Comments:

If anyone wants to have a good laugh, call a Geo dealer and get the price of an alloy wheel that would go on a 1996 Tracker Lsi. $925.00 one wheel. No tire. One wheel. That would make me want to buy two cars from Geo. One to drive off a cliff and the other to have someone roll on top of me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th June, 2000

12th Dec 2000, 13:48

Hilarious review:

After a 120 mile trip in one of these with a buddy, I must agree. Your review even made the buddy laugh about his bouncy piece of crap.

Thanks for the laugh...

14th Dec 2000, 18:49

Gee, guess what? SUV's don't ride like a car. If you care to get realistic nearly every after-market product is at a higher cost than if you go to a specialty store like Cepeck's or many others. I have a '96 and mine runs great! But I didn't expect it to be like a Lexus.

1996 Geo Tracker 4x4 convertible 1.6L 4cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.6L 4cyl
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Faults:

Windshield wiper motor burned out.

F-clip for rear plastic window broke.

Stitching came apart on inside of vinyl top.

Stops on the zippers tend to corrode easily.

Chipped windshield and has gone through many wiper blades.

General Comments:

Fun, but not a good 'only' car. It is much too noisy above 40mph or so. The ride is horrible for long trips. In 2wd it is highly susceptible to loss of traction and being blown around at speed. The gas tank is a bit too small.

On the plus side this car is amazing in snow, and is a lot of fun with the top down. It also has many configurations for partial removal of the top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 1999

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 38 reviews