1996 Geo Tracker Reviews - Page 6 of 9

1996 Geo Tracker from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carGeo Sprint

Summary:

I think this car is worth the money I invested

Faults:

I had to replace the battery once.

My heater went on the blink at 120K.

I replaced the timing belt as suggested (85k+) in the manual---nothing was wrong with it.

The convertible soft top is finally showing serious signs of threads fraying at 139K.

General Comments:

I cannot believe how long this car has lasted. I have the oil changed religiously (every 2K).

I still think this is the cutest SUV out there---other than its big brother the Land rover.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

1996 Geo Tracker 2 Door 4X4 Convertible from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

A very reliable, hardworking vehicle

Faults:

Recently, my Tracker began stalling out at stop signs, and I am currently having a clutch repair estimated.

I also had to have the 4 wheel drive hubs cleaned and re-built at about 100K.

I replaced the brakes once, tires once, and basic items like windshield wipers and headlights.

It does tend to blow around in high wind, but that's expected for an SUV.

Finally, the Service Engine Soon light has been on for three years; no mechanic could find the problem, so I ignored it. So far, so good!

General Comments:

This car is GREAT! It goes through anything while in 4X4 - snow, mud, ruts, my woods, you name it.

Very reliable. It has always started, and runs well.

It's definitely fast enough for the curvy roads of PA!

This is a car I can count on, and the amount of repair I have put into it for the 100K I have put on it seems reasonable.

But, if you buy one, get A/C!! Life is horrible in the summer without it, even with the top down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2004

1996 Geo Tracker 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

I'm 65 and it has been the best car I've owned

Faults:

Clutch was replaced at 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

With the size engine lacks acceleration, but will run at 70-75 all day and still get over 30 miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2004

1996 Geo Tracker LSi from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

A never again purchase

Faults:

Stereo locked and there is no pass code available without a fee.

My exhaust has a leak and is loose.

My speedometer ticks continously.

My power steering ticks continously.

General Comments:

My tracker was wonderful during all the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th January, 2004

15th Mar 2004, 12:57

Well man you got a problem my 1996 LSi tracker runs great, but I have a OBX racing pipe and power steering works fine I have no problems with mine, but I only have 30,000 miles on mine and a solution to the radio buy another one.

15th Mar 2004, 16:24

I dreamed of owning a tracker an then one day my dream came true... for the rest of the day, at least... i will never own another Geo tracker again. what cost me 3600.00 will forever haunt me... i have had 1 problem right after another. i have had to replace wheel bearings on both sides... the speedometer went out the day after I paid 3600.00 cash... the driver side seat broke, therefore making it hard to wear a seat belt in which I just got a 75.00 ticket for... it hasn't cranked in the longest time..guess that would be the starter, but I won't spend another dime on the piece of junk... the wheel bearings on one side were over 125.00 an I had to do that 2 times...

1996 Geo Tracker 2 dr soft top 4 cylinder 1.3L ??? from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder 1.3L ??? Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carGeo Tracker

Summary:

A genuine treat to run and to own

Faults:

Absolutely perfect performance and reliability - only had to replace tires once also.

General Comments:

The only thing I didn't like was that in the wind on the highway, you really had to use two hands to handle it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2003

1996 Geo Tracker Convertible 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carDodge Ramcharger

Summary:

A great commuter car that lets you have fun on the side

Faults:

The "Service Engine Soon" light went on. The car runs fine though. A mechanic suspects that it might be the ERG Valve... an expensive repair... so I just removed the light bulb from the dash panel.

I have replaced both headlights twice because of the daytime running lights.

General Comments:

This is probably one of the best cars I've owned, and I've owned a lot! It's fun to drive, economical, and has gotten me through some heavy snow storms.

Although the overall size is small, my 6'3" frame fits comfortably behind the wheel.

My son is looking for a used first car, and wants me to give up my Tracker to him, but he's got a fight on his hands for that one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2003

26th Apr 2005, 07:29

The EGR isn't an expensive part. I have replaced mine and the light went out. I get better fuel mileage now that I did. I have a 96' Geo tracker soft top. The part is about $133.95. Not bad considering what could happen.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 38 reviews