1996 GMC Jimmy SLE 4.3L V6 from North America

Summary:

Great quality

Faults:

Overall few problems other than maintenance, but here is the list:

70K (miles) - intake manifold gaskets

70K - serpentine belt tensioner

70K - EGR valve & O2 sensor

90K - alternator

110K - transfer case had to be rebuilt

115K - upper left front ball joint

130K - alternator again

140K - fuel pump/tank/lines.

General Comments:

I purchased the Jimmy as GMC has served us well over the years. This is just another example of good engineering and manufacturing. Other than the transfer case issue, this vehicle has been solid as can be expected. I just traded in the vehicle on a 1999 Chrysler 300M only due to the fuel costs, where the mileage on the Jimmy was only 15-18 MPG. vs an estimated 25 for the 300M. I was still running with the original muffler and shocks. I would highly recommend this SUV to anyone considering one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2005

1996 GMC Jimmy SLE from North America

Summary:

Not mechanically reliable

Faults:

Bubbling when air conditioner on, system flushed by dealer three times, still continued to make noise. $864 for repairs.

After flushing we developed a transmission leak and then found out we had water in the transmission, $2,800 for repairs.

After this the heater core needed to be replaced, another $750.

Then the water pump went, I forget how much that cost to replace.

General Comments:

We received no help from GM customer service (contacted 3 times) and when asked if we would purchase another GM vehicle and said "no" we were told they could not help us with our problems.

The dealer ignored our complaints and refused to return calls, etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st September, 2004

1996 GMC Jimmy SLT 4.6 vortex from North America

Summary:

Don't worth the money I spend on it

Faults:

The brakes and pads were all worn out.

Currently the gas pump module give up on me just in the middle of my most important work.

Only about two weeks after I bought it the fuel injector stop working.

Last month my power seat stop working.

General Comments:

I love the fact that the car is too good in looks and comfort level, however within 2 years that I own this truck I spend more money than I bought it.

I'm not saying all jimmy models are the same, I own more than 1 jimmy, but I have to agree with everyone else that this 1996 jimmy slt is a junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th August, 2004

1996 GMC Jimmy SLT 4.3 V6 from North America

Summary:

Bon Voyage piece of junk

Faults:

Replaced: Manifold Gasket at 50000.

Fuel Pump at 44000.

Water Pump at 38000.

Alternator (twice) 37000 and 50000.

Battery (twice)

AC compressor at 60000.

Window motor at 55000.

Rear tires at 40000.

Oil cooling lines at 40000.

Radiator at 55000.

Many misfirings into cylinders.

Starter at 40000.

General Comments:

I bought this truck after my 93 Typhoon was stolen. My Typhoon had way less problems then this piece of crap and it had almost 100000 miles. I liked the interior of the truck, but that is it. The leather was somewhat comfortable.

When listing the problems of this car I had trouble thinking of them because they brought up so many painful and expensive memories.

I traded this truck in 2 months ago for a new Jag. Never again will I venture into a GMC. This thing was a headache from the get go.

I would have expected problems like I had with higher miles, but it seemed like everything went downhill after the 36k mile warranty expired.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th April, 2004

15th May 2006, 20:31

Too Bad, I bought my '96 with 100,000 miles. I now have have 185,000

Yes, did the ball joints. Then I changes some hoses because of oil leaks. That's it. I would not change this GMC for anything, and I have driven a lot of cars and trucks. Yes I believe there are lemons out there and trucks that people just do not maintain from new...

1996 GMC Jimmy SLT 4.3L from North America

Summary:

Make it, sell it, junk it. All in the same day

Faults:

First off, it was my manifold gasket, with water leaking into the engine, causing the oil to fill with water.

Then, my catalytic converter has gone to oblivion, porcelain parts loose and banging around in my cat and muffler.

Now I just received an estimate for my ball joints, idler arm, and pitman arm, well let's just say it's gonna cost me over 1800.00 to replace it all. I spent 850.00 on the coolant, manifold gasket, and green replacement antifreeze. Yes, DEX-COOL is very, shall I say, "Crap".

I will never own one of these again. Honda, here I come. Bah!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th March, 2004

20th Jun 2004, 19:04

I think its horrible you'd rather drive a honda...horrible.

22nd Sep 2006, 10:10

Daughter's family own a 1997 Jimmy and the thing is always being worked on. I won't say fixed as there never seems to be an end to problems. Ball joints, idler arms, pitman arm, air conditioning, radiator and CD player to name a few.Don't say it's lack of preventative maint. as it's always been greased and lubed and oil changed. Just a very poor vehicle.