2000 GMC Jimmy SLS 4.3 from North America


Avoid these vehicles at all costs


Replaced front hub bearings 65000km and 140000km.

Replaced transfer case at 180000km.

Replaced fuel pump 3 times.

Replaced multi function switch twice.

Replaced rear universals 4 times.

Replaced rear drive shaft at 150000.

Replaced rear axle seals at 150000.

Replaced front axle seals at 215000.

Replaced O2 sensors at 185000.

Replaced remote oil filter lines.

Replaced seat adjuster handles.

Replaced pass seat rails.

General Comments:

This has been a very difficult vehicle to maintain.

I can't believe how badly GM dropped the ball with this thing.

The unfortunate part about it is no one wants them because of the maintenance history.

It is a good thing that I am a mechanic because the labour costs would have been unbelievable, the part costs were bad enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th September, 2006

2000 GMC Jimmy 6 cylinder from North America




I never owned a car that was this much of a lemon. I am constantly fixing things which aren't cheap and I swear I will never buy a GMC again. Balljoints had to fix once a year, transmission body and valves, wheelbearing, I could go on and on. I do not advise anyone to purchase this vehicle, I'd rather ride a bike!! I even had a 2 year extended warranty and it covered absolutely nothing, go figure!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2006

26th Apr 2006, 16:24

50 miles in 4 years???

You'd be quicker walking - never mind the bike.

2000 GMC Jimmy SLE 4.3 Vortec from North America


What a costly investment


All 4 front ball joints.

Driver's side wheel bearing, gasket for the drive train, and transmission dropped, all before 60000 miles.

General Comments:

All you hear inside is cheap plastic squeaking.

To drive, it is very uncomfortable because of a hump in the floor board.

Gas mileage is terrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

2000 GMC Jimmy SLT V6 from North America


A lot if little things that are annoying


The gas gauge is unreliable.

The cargo cover is broken.

The review mirror is broken.

General Comments:

The gas gauge is completely useless, if you want to know how much gas you have left you have to go the gas station and refuel. Then subtract the amount of gallons you added from 18 (fuel tank capacity). Also, you cannot rely on the overhead center console to tell you miles to empty, it fluctuates just as wildly as the needle on the gas gauge, they must be related mechanically somehow.

The rear view mirror rattles as much as the rest of the car. Very bumpy and noisy ride unless you are on smooth ground.

Turn any corner too quickly and the cargo cover container flies off of its moorings.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th September, 2005

2000 GMC Jimmy SLE V6 from North America


This car requires expensive maintenance and repairs


Right bearing had to be replaced.

Left front bearing replaced.

The gas gauge stopped functioning.

Transmission 40,000 rebuilt.

Transmission replaced 100,000 replaced with Jasper transmission.

The radio went out.

The alternator went out.

The handle broke on car seat recliner. Car leaks continually into the interior.

General Comments:

The bearings are a big problem with this vehicle costing around 500.00 each to replace.

The transmission had to be rebuilt or replaced and was 2400.00 to rebuild and 2700.00 to put a new jasper transmission into this Jimmy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th September, 2005

2000 GMC Jimmy SLE 4.3L V6 Vortec from North America


Decent vehicle, but bad on gas.


The doors are sagging and slightly misaligned.

The alternator blew.

The front right ABS (Anti-lock Brakes) sensor started sending erratic signals and then ceased to function (no ABS).

The rear windshield wiper motor is stripped and just makes a grinding sound.

The driver door weather stripping has detached from the body making it leak in wet weather and car washes.

The vehicle has pulled to the right since it was bought, an alignment was performed and the vehicle still pulls.

Front passenger wheel bearing grinds.

Occasional slipping in the transmission leading no movement on acceleration.

Slow Transmission fluid leak from front seal.

Slow transmission fluid leak from transmission cooling lines.

When decelerating in neutral the fuel gage drops, leaving the low fuel light on and the gage reading empty tank.

Front driver top ball joint knocks and has once been replaced.

General Comments:

The vehicle has good acceleration and power, but is not running at the full capacity.

This Jimmy pulls to the right when driving in the city and to the left on highways.

Never had the vehicle stall on me, even in bad weather.

I put a full tank of gas in ($50 Canadian at 82.4 cents per liter) and in 350 km it is already on low fuel.

Also anything under 1/4 tank of gas does not last for more than 20 or 30 kilometers.

I personally don't like the speed limiter set at 160km/h.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2005

2nd Dec 2010, 02:42

Oh my gosh, mine has EXACTLY the same issues that yours has!!! Was yours maroon? I bought mine from a dealer in dm IA.