2000 GMC Jimmy SLE 4.3 gas from North America


Worst SUV I ever bought


Lights dim on and of dealer can't find the problem, Rotors had to be cut at 12,000 miles, electric windows sometimes do not work then all of a sudden they work, wheel bearing assembly unit on both wheels have to be replace do to grinding noise cost for part $192.00 each. replaced ourselves with guidance form our local auto parts store.

General Comments:

Will not buy another GMC vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2004

2000 GMC Jimmy from North America


I like the car, but it's unpredictable with problems


I had to replace the bearing on the right front side at 50000 miles.

The fuel pump had to be replaced at 69000 miles.

Right front seat knob broke.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2004

2000 GMC Jimmy SLS 4.3 V6 from North America


A piece of garbage for the money


Replaced entire brakes on front, and replaced rear pads. $600.00.

Both recline levers broke off under normal use. Part is $70. each plus labor to repair.

Front right wheel bearing replaced $591.96. Part alone was $465.00.

Short in electrical system. Ground wire exposed. $278.00. May have caused gas gauge to stop registering at 1/2 tank.

Now may be having problems with transfer case. 51,900 miles.

General Comments:

This vehicle has a lot of problems, that started after the warranty ran out, under normal.

Extended warranty only benefits dealer.

Carfax indicates this vehicle was a lease in Michigan before I bought it.

Dealer not willing to make any concessions with repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2004

25th Nov 2005, 09:48

I can't believe it,i thought I was the only one with bad luck, but it sounds like it is the vehichle not my luck after all. i have had so many problems with my jimmy, problems that it sounds like everyone I talk to and every thing I read about them people are having the same problems.. why won't gm take care of these problems and stand behind thier product? I really do like my jimmy, but it has cost me a lot of fun and a lot of work, not to mention the money to fix their problems with my money. I know you will have regular wear and tear items, but this is not right.

2000 GMC Jimmy SLE 4.3 from North America


Just an average car


Brake rotors & pads replaced by dealer 8000 miles.

Repainted by dealer behind doors 10000 miles.

Fuel line came off pump 12000 miles.

Front wheel bearing replaced at 18000 miles.

Brake rotors & Pads replaced by me at 23000 miles.

General Comments:

This car seems to be a Monday morning car as a lot of little details were not completed by the factory, no paint on inside of fenders and hood, loose fuel line. Went back to dealer and found the cars made in Tarrytown NJ had no paint, but from elsewhere had been painted. The dealer has been great at fixing this car, but a new car shouldn't need this much work. Also this car has very poor gas mileage, about 16 mpg. I have a 1999 sierra V8 that gets 18 mpg!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th November, 2003

2000 GMC Jimmy SLE 4x4 4.3 Gas from North America


Does it come with Lemonade?


My Engine crank seal was leaking at 25,000 miles.

The Bose stereo stopped functioning properly. More specific, the SCV (Speed compensated volume) quit.

The wiper control module has burned out twice before 35,000 miles. I barely use the wipers.

My front wheel bearings and hubs were shot at 43,000 miles.

The front window motor burned out at 25,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love the 4.3 engine reliability. You will never hear of problems with the "engine" of these vehicles; its just everything else goes bad!!

The interior is cramped, especially in the back. At most, 2 petite people can sit barely comfortable.

Maintenance is very easy. Being a mechanics son, I do my own work. Its pretty easy to change all of the fluids. The fuel filter is hard though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th July, 2003

8th Apr 2007, 08:00

Its been at least 4-5 years since I wrote this review. I just want to update. I sold the 2000 Jimmy 4x4 in 2004. The final straw was the actuator motor for the heat went bad, it would only heat on the floor (so what happens when you need defrost? exactly) The dealer wanted an exuberant amount of money to fix it. So I did what any self respecting person would do - brought it down the road to the Chrysler dealer and traded it in for a brand new Chrysler Sebring. I only kept the Sebring for 10 months (hated it) and traded the Sebring in for a 2002 Envoy, of which I still have.

2nd Sep 2008, 21:50

You're wrong... the engine went out on my 2000 Jimmy SLE... it decided it would be fun to throw a rod... $9600 piece of crap.

24th Aug 2009, 16:47

I have a 2000 Jimmy. Not many things did not have to be replaced. Too many to list. Most recently the radio stopped working. The radio is on, but no sound. Just repaired the A/C for the second time. Never had a Japanese car, but was forced to buy a Mazda recently. Sorry, but I gave up on American vehicles. Can't afford them.

2000 GMC Jimmy SLE V6 from North America


Questioning Warranty


Rad cracked in first year. Replaced under warranty.

Ignition Switch shorted out, leaving third gear as default. Replace under warranty.

Right front wheel bearing had to be replaced at 71094 KM $545 for the part, it is a sealed unit that can't be greased. Not under warranty.

General Comments:

Changing wheel bearings every 70,000 KM can get expensice. Why can't they be greased or the seals mad beter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd February, 2003

11th Jul 2003, 12:28

My 1999 Jimmy also needed the right front bearing hub at 81,000Km. Fortunately, UAP Auto Parts sold me the part for $316.00 (ca)

3rd Aug 2003, 19:12

I too just replaced my right front wheel bearing due to strange vibration/grinding at 65,0000 miles. Grinding is gone however some vibration is still present. My wheel bearing/hub only $139. Have had serpentine belt replaced... otherwise pretty good overall.