2003 Holden Commodore VY 3.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Great all-rounder with plenty of room

Faults:

I have noticed that when I pull up to the traffic lights and put my foot on the break there is a vibrating noise. I have no idea where it is coming from, does anyone have a similar experience with their car?

General Comments:

I love this car, was use to driving the VN commodore and I would not go past them for reliable performer. This car rides fantastic and even with the Equip level of features there is still plenty of buttons to push.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2003

11th Oct 2003, 15:57

Hello.

I also drive a VY Commodore the Acclaim version. It has been a fantastic car I think its the best Commodore built. I would have went for a BA Futura, but the quality problems and the very cheap looking interior put me off.

12th Oct 2003, 20:30

Hello.

I have recently purchased a VT Executive Series 2 and have a friend you owns a VY Executive and I have driven both cars and the VY is HOPELESS! I drag him off the line hands down, yet he puts almost twice as mush petrol into his thing. Also, my VT has done 39,050km whereas his has completed a mere 3,359km. One more thing, the constant tapping sound when he slows down that comes from the rear brakes is getting louder and doesn't sound like it's doing any good. MY advice to someone looking to purchase a new family sedan: get a VX or consider a BA Falcon. I've heard twice as many positive things about the BA's then the VY Commo.

30th Dec 2004, 04:17

Hi, I have a VY SS Ute Series 1.

Is there anybody out there that is experiencing these problems?

Radio cuts out.

ABS light comes on.

The car cuts out, then says system check OK.

If there is anyone, could you please email me. The car has been to Holden 8 times, and is still playing up.

darrenmcwhinney5@msn.com

2003 Holden Commodore SS 5.7 Gen3 V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Avoid at all costs

Faults:

Blown plugs on cylinders 6 through 8 at 1400km's.

Interior trim does not align properly.

Cracked plastic parts on center console.

Piston slap from day 1.

Excessive oil consumption.

Burning oil.

General Comments:

This car is fast in a straight line which is about all this car is good for.

However, the engine feels like its about to tear its mounts when you are on the limit. Too loud and brash to be anything more than a car for a die hard Holden fan that will stomach the latest Holden gimmick.

Engine is unrefined. In the pursuit of big horsepower, Holden has neglected to even give this engine the slightest touch of class. Engine feels sub-standard.

Cornering is poor, handling is poor. A "sports sedan" this is not.

Poor interior trim and tacky cheap plastic is a trademark of Holden, and this car is no exception.

Too many problems, especially engine related, bring this car to its knees against other cheaper Japanese alternatives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2003

17th Sep 2003, 00:04

C'mon, it can't be that bad can it. It's a new car!

Must admit, I recently went to a (used) car dealer that specialised in High performance (ie V8) Falcodores.

One of the vehicles I looked at was a great looking HSV of 1997/98 vintage apparently with less than 20,000km on the clock. The vehicle looked great, but tired. The tyres were worn. It had stopped raining, and I asked the sales person to show me the car. He opened the boot and it was leaking! He didn't bother trying to sell me the car.

I've heard lots about the later Chevy based V8's burning oil and piston slap problems. But surely these must have been fixed by now!

I notice that the reviewer of this vehicle previously owned a Nissan Skyline and wonder how genuine he is (or is he merely trying to bag the good old Aussie cars).

As poor as the Commodores seem, its still hard to believe that all these problems have presented themselves in a current year model at less than 10,000km.

I would appreciate the truth about the new models as I have been looking for a new car. Should I really be buying a Jap or European car and forgetting all about V8 grunt?

2003 Holden Commodore SV8 Generation 3 235 kwV8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Baby SS a true beast

Faults:

None at all.

General Comments:

This is the baby SS. It may not have all the features of a normal SS, but it's a BBFYB. The performance is excellent. Also has not had not used a drop of oil as well. With some decent modifications and 18" alloys and slightly lowered it will look sweet as a nut. Also its quite fast as well. I am very happy with this basic V8 beast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

12th Oct 2003, 17:08

Have a series 1 VX SS and has done over 82,000 k's and have not had any problems with the engine at all.