1988 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 16 of 16

1988 Honda Accord LXI 2.0L 122HP from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0L 122HP Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica GT

Summary:

Fantastic value, even 13 years later

Faults:

Transmission blew out @ 150000.

Unspecified electrical problems.

Broken tie rod @ 180000.

Some rust showing.

General Comments:

Overall this car (given to me by my sister and brother in law) performed fantastically. They still think it was the best car they have ever owned, and I agree. It never had a problem starting, the transmission finally went out but only cost me $700 along with an alternator and labor included. If it weren't for the stupid girl down at my college who slammed into me at 30mph when I was at a dead stop, I'm sure I would still be driving it.

Decent power with the fuel injected 4 cylinder (122hp?), and performs much better than expected for a 4 door sedan.

LXI offers power moonroof, windows, door locks, mirrors, comfortable interior. I'm considering searching for a 1989 LXI, black exterior with tan/creme interior now. Still a great looking/performing car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2001

1988 Honda Accord Hatchback 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired270000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres

Faults:

Everything. It has been ridiculous.

Radiator.

Coolant leaks.

Alternator.

Regulator.

Exhaust.

Vacuum leaks.

Rust.

Transmission, etc.

General Comments:

Car performs excellently when it is running, which is rare. Left me stranded in another country. was not impressed. Am going back to a Nissan 4x4, far more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2001

7th Jan 2001, 08:56

I want to see any car with that mileage with no problems at all!!!!!!!!!!!

Inspect what you buy, but don't moan about it later, this was a lemon car, you should have seen it when bought. It is not fair judging these cars as unreliable because you bought a neglected one.

1988 Honda Accord EXi Coupe (LXi in the US) from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1988
Engine and transmission EXi Coupe (LXi in the US) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1966000 kilometres
Most recent distance207000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Electra

Summary:

A well kept secret

Faults:

Brakes.

The air conditioner doesn't work.

Cruise control needs repairing.

Body rusts.

General Comments:

This is one of the best kept secrets in the car world. Accords are more costly to maintain, but they deliver more.

The ride is good. The engine is quiet. The handling is better than any Triumph, or MGB sports car that I have ever driven, and I have put touring tires on the car instead of performance tires..

The body style does not give away its age, if you keep it polished.

It fits four people comfortably.

The gas mileage is very good. It coild use a bit more power, but you merge on the freeways with confidence. Passing on country roads doesn't really tax the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2000

1988 Honda Accord LX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Very reliable bargain

Faults:

Not a thing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

Most reliable car I have ever owned. Runs and drives like a car with half the miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2000

20th Feb 2003, 17:21

I think you need to go more in depth as to the immense performance aspects this car surely exudes, while still retaining the legendary Honda reliability. It is the benchmark, and rightfully so. I write this after only the second day of ownership! Wanting something more exciting to drive? Well then you are obviously not making enough to quench that desire, or you wouldn't be commenting so poorly about this stolid and solid automobile. So HA!

26th Sep 2003, 08:46

My motor raises when I drive and my reverse sometimes work and sometimes it don't.

1988 Honda Accord EXi 16v DOCH 2.0i 16 DOCH from Finland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16 DOCH
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Couple of joints and a spring broken, brakes jammed.

Driver's power window and antenna jammed.

Headlight wipers won't work.

Lots of rust.

General Comments:

Though it have had some suspension problems, it has been very reliable car.

Rest of the problems have been mostly cosmetic. Heater is great in Finnish winter and it starts in -27c degrees on the first attempt, even if it has been parked for 2 days. Leaves every teen BMW behind in a race.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 1999

8th May 2001, 11:37

Are you sure it is a 16v DOHC? How much horse power does it have? I have a 2.0 SOHC 12v, it is good, but what is the engine type that you are running?

27th Oct 2001, 09:18

Yes. It had the same 16 valve engine as the 88 Prelude, and had 136hp. This model was sold only in Europe and Japan.

12th Aug 2002, 18:30

Yeah that's true the DOHC engine DOES exist, a friend of my got a JDM engine which had the same engine displacements, but was a twin cam.

12th Aug 2002, 18:31

Head light wiper? WHAT THE I didn't know about that are you sure its the flip headlight version accord you are talking about there.

3rd Jul 2008, 10:41

I have a DOCH 16v with twin cams in my Ford Escort GT, and I get 153 hp at the wheels.

1988 Honda Accord LX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Replaced clutch & brakes under normal wear. Power antenna replaced (very expensive)...worked for a month then quit retracting. Rust rear wheel wells & below tail lights.

General Comments:

Really liked the car. Too bad they don't come in all wheel drive which we need in our area during winter months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

1988 Honda Accord LX 4 cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 4 cyl

Faults:

Cracked distributor cap $49.95.

General Comments:

197,000 miles and the only thing is listed above. The regular maintenance was sufficient. Both sets of tires got 80,000 so the car stayed in alignment very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 64 reviews