1988 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 8 of 16

1988 Honda Accord LX from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

A good solid affordable and reliable car, and I am sold on buying another Honda

Faults:

Replaced radiator at 140,000km.

Rear wheel wells rusted at 150,000km; repaired. Rusting again, at 240,000km.

Replaced clutch at 160,000km.

Replaced timing belt at 150,000km.

Cruise control stopped working at 160,000km.

Dashboard clock works intermittently only.

Suspension rods squeak; began at 200,000km.

General Comments:

What can I expect for this mileage? It continues to serve me well, in spite of replacing things. The suspension rod problem was partly the fault of cheap front tires I previously bought, and it has improved since newer ones. I have been getting regular oil changes and tune-ups, which helps keep it ticking along.

Brakes seem to be a bit weak on this car, as I've had them done quite a few times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2003

1988 Honda Accord LX 4 V from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 V Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired167000 miles
Most recent distance193000 miles

Summary:

Great used car for college kids

Faults:

Head gasket cracked at about 185k.

Needed to be realigned twice in the past 2 1/2 years.

Headlights will not flip open if closed.

Radio/speakers go out randomly (especially when accelerating or breaking suddenly).

Drivers seat has developed an uncomfortable bulge.

Axle broke, causing a clanking noise at about 191k.

Dome and glove box lights do not work.

General Comments:

Runs at its best when traveling at highway speeds (60-70mph)

Does not accelerate any faster when gas petal is depressed deeply compared to when it is depressed slightly, which seems to save on the noise and strain of engine.

Steering/handling is smooth, even on bumpy roads.

Heater is very quick to produce heat in winter.

Car does not overheat at all, even in summer afternoon traffic.

Good gas mileage (About 30mpg highway)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2003

1988 Honda Accord from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Summary:

The car is amazing!

Faults:

My car is fine at the moment, but it seems to run ruff at idle. the rpm's are low at times and fine at others. I was wondering if anyone might have a heads up on my problem?

General Comments:

I have never had a honda before, and I'm going to get more!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd August, 2003

25th Aug 2003, 09:31

Theres an urban legend that cockroaches particularly like the smell of Honda Engine bays and get in there and start causing havoc by chewing thru wires causing probs like rough engine running, etc. Try calling a pest control company to look at your car?

17th Oct 2003, 01:28

Does the dash & steering wheel shake when the idle is below a certain point, say <1000? Or is it only a rpm fluctuation w/o vibration?email me ingegnere24@alinto.com.

1988 Honda Accord EXL 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired180 kilometres
Most recent distance260 kilometres

Summary:

A bit of work, but all worth it

Faults:

CV boot split.

Major body rust.

Gasket valves gone.

Exhaust needs replacing.

Alternator playing up.

Clutch getting A bit stiff.

General Comments:

I received this car A wreck, no warranty to have on the road nothing, all 4 wheel bearings were totally ruined.

I fixed them all, got the warranty and had a few months of great driving with it.

Its amazingly fast in acceleration and the 5 speed gearbox is finely tuned.

It grips the road like hot tarmac and can stop on the dime.

I'm planning to get a full respray and pearl white paint job, hardened shocks and springs as the factory suspension is to soft, blue neon lights underneath the chaise, and fully replacing/rebuilding the engine.

Other than that I keep spending money on it, it was very badly abused when I got it, but runs better everyday.

Also the trunk leaks and the dash back light does not illuminate the needles so its impossible to see what the fuel or idle is at, worse is the speed!.

Ill get it changed to a sports dash to solve the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2003

2nd May 2006, 18:30

I to have an 88 lxi I checked into a turbo or supercharger and ether way you need to rebuild the motor (all new stronger inners) NOT CHEAP AT ALL..

1988 Honda Accord LX 2.0 I4 carb. from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 I4 carb. Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired176149 miles
Most recent distance177892 miles

Summary:

One kick-ass machine!

Faults:

When I first purchased the car it was leaking oil. I could not find the leak until I looked under the car and the oil filter was half off.

Some rust in rear wheel wells, but that was expected for a 15 year old car.

The muffler fell off the car at 176557 miles. What a ticket that was!

General Comments:

It is my first car and I was and still am very happy with it. The car has performed good expecially when I put a new intake manifold and 4 bbl carburetor on it.

The car had stock 98 horsepower and 109 ft pounds of torque. Now from my rough math skills about 135 horsepower and 141 ft pounds of torque.

I mean the car already responded when you put your foot on the pedal, but now it doesn't just stand of and salute it throws your butt in the back seat.

The car is a must buy for anybody. if you can find a accord any year past 86. My advise would be buy it and fix it, if needed because it will always take care of you if you take care of it.

It might not of had the leather seats or sunroof that I wanted, but for a 16 year old it was the best choice I've made in a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2003

15th Sep 2003, 12:09

I also own a 1988 Accord LX 2.0L Manual and was wondering where you find an intake manifold that will accept a four barrel carb. Does the gas mileage suffer?

Thanks, Ross.

24th Nov 2004, 10:07

Hi Tim, an '88 Accord has the same 2.0l as the '88 Prelude with the 2bbl carb, presumably the Prelude's intake manifold will fit the Accord's as well. Try getting a used one. Dexter- chichibud31@yahoo.ca.

28th Dec 2004, 14:42

Hi I have an 88 honda accord lx and it has 240,000 miles on it. I just replaced the timing belt,once that was fixed two days later the alternator went. Now my car is shaking when I'm at a stop light. makes a horrible rattle.

29th Sep 2008, 02:02

Hi, I also have an 88 Accord, and I too was wondering how to get more power out of the thing?

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 64 reviews