1988 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 6 of 16

1988 Honda Accord LX 2.0 2bbl carb from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 2bbl carb Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance168932 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Cheap, reliable, and performance too

Faults:

Throttle shaft seals leaking at 120,000.

Window module on driver side window.

General Comments:

These cars are OK stock, but when the carburetor wore out, and I got to looking around at local salvage yards, I found a Prelude with a 2.0 with a duel carburetor setup.

The manifold bolted right up to my engine, and a relatively small amount of wiring and vacuum work, it was done. I purchased all the parts I needed for $120 at a local you pull it yard.

I would recommend this to anyone wanting to wake up their sleepy accord. All you need is the vacuum box, carburetors and manifold.

This gives you somewhere in the 104 horse power range. You don't lose that much fuel mileage either. I get 28 to 30. The car is still as dependable, and now more fun than ever to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2004

1988 Honda Accord LX from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired206134 miles
Most recent distance206456 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

You get what you put in.

Faults:

Carburetor tension spring was sticking, causing the idle to stay too high (3000 rpm). Fixed it, but it still idles a little high when cold.

Alternator wasn't any good, so I replaced it.

Sometimes discharges the battery, because alternator cables disconnect. Thus discharging the battery.

Replaced the Battery.

Replaced the radiator. The last one had a severe leak and wasn't working properly.

General Comments:

The owner before me wouldn't really service the car as it was meant to be serviced. So I have had to put money into the car, but you get what you put in.

Once your put some money into the car, you'll notice it. The car becomes more reliable and better than it was before.

The cars interior is in MINT condition, apparently the previous owners were really anal about the maintnance and care of the interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2004

1988 Honda Accord LX 2.0 ltr,2barrell carb from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 ltr,2barrell carb Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Achieva

Summary:

Reliable, comfortable, versatile,

Faults:

We'll I have had some pretty serious brake work done, turns out the caliper was sticking, replaced worked fine.

Oh! I almost forgot since it's been next to nothing to fix, the cold air intake was bad, removed never had a problem.

And I a looking to replace the shocks or struts which ever they are when I find out!

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever owned, I have to say that Honda lives up to the hype, and I would like to point out if you get you're a/c system upgraded you will have better a/c than brand new vehicles, my air blows a cold 23degrees even the mechanic was amazed, It has a great handling and with the independent suspension you never feel a thing! Got to get you one!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2004

1988 Honda Accord LX-i 2.0L EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L EFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

A very dependable powerful bang for the buck!!!

Faults:

When I got the car it had a/c problems which have since been fixed by my dad. Now my a/c blows colder than a new car. My c.v. joint on the driver's side was broke when I got the car. But I fixed it. Interior is in mint condition and the exterior is in fair. No rust!!!

General Comments:

I paid $400.00 for my Accord in 2002 and I will tell you it is worth every bit of $5,000 now. I have totally fixed anything ever wrong with the car. It has no further problems. I have all of about $1,200 in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2004

1988 Honda Accord LX 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable engine, but it's a lemon

Faults:

Little or no heat. As a result, the windows fogged excessively in cold weather. I had to replace the thermostat and water pump at a cost of about $300 and there is still not much heat.

Front wheels went really out of line and the handling became loose.

The alternator hasn't worked since I've bought it.

Replaced front axle, left front and right front ball joints, as well as the right rear upper ball joint. Very expensive to fix at $1500.

Transmission makes a very noticeable "clunk/grind" noise when shifting into drive and seems to grind when put in "park", however, there are no problems I have found with the transmission.

Idle speed cable sticks occasionally resulting in idle speeds at 3000rpm.

Windshield cracked shortly after purchase.

General Comments:

You pretty much get what you pay for with the 1988 Honda Accord.

It's got great top end speed and good mileage to go along with it.

The engine will always start. However it idles high when it's cold.

The headlights are not very bright.

There are no cup holders. That is not friendly for drive-through orders.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2004

29th Mar 2004, 06:04

Ever stop to think you bought a used car that is 16 years old??? Did you expect it to be perfect???

21st Aug 2004, 16:57

The high idle speed when cold is adjustable. Get a book on the car and it will take you threw the adjustment.

If you fix the alternator problem, you headlights will be allot brighter. The crunch you hear going into park, reverse, and drive is normal. My 85 accord made that sound for 300,000 miles. It's the sprag clutch doing it's job.

It sound like with a little work it will be a good car.

21st Jan 2007, 22:53

I just got my 88 accord and the fuel pump went bad with the front right axle went bad with the boot tearing and had to replace it. Now my windshield just cracked and it is big. A rock hit it on the highway so be careful it is a good car none the less, but be careful.

8th Dec 2008, 00:18

All carb vehicles will have a high idle when the engine is cold. In order for the engine to warm up, the carb has a fast idle valve. Once you let the vehicle warm up, you can tap the gas pedal and this should open the fast idle valve completely and lower the idle.

Normally you don't want to drive with the fast idle open, because the vehicle will be hard to drive, especially if your brakes aren't the best...

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 64 reviews