1988 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 5 of 16

1988 Honda Accord LX 2.0 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Distance when acquired260000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Faults:

High RPM, takes to much gas.

General Comments:

My car goes to 3000 RPM when you start it, and it goes down to 1000 RPM after 1 hour of driving, but after that if nu stop the ebgine, and started again it will go up to 3000 again. it is a carburetor. Anybody knows how to fix that?., thx, Brad (403) -561-6580.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th March, 2005

14th Mar 2005, 12:49

Try checking your choke. Sometimes they can get greasy and stick or turn on at improper times. The choke is what makes your rpm go higher when starting a cold engine.

22nd Mar 2005, 16:19

Post this in a 3geez.com. That's a site dedicated to the 3rd gen Accord. They've got a whole section for carbs. This is for reviews.

17th Aug 2005, 20:53

It is the 3-way Thrermovalve. I had one go bad on my '88. It wouldn't let the engine idle down, even to shut it off. I had to put it in 5th and dump the clutch with the emergency brake on in order to turn the car off.

19th Oct 2006, 17:37

I am having the same problem happen with my 1988 Honda Accord DX, mine would not shut- down I had to put it in gear to stop the engine from dieseling..

1988 Honda Accord LX 2.0 Fuel injected from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Fuel injected Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

This is one of the best cars of its time and I hope Honda keeps it up!!

Faults:

Replaced c. v joints Replaced battery at 180,000 miles.

General Comments:

My Accord is the best car I have ever owned!! It's quick off the start. It handles like a little race car. My two door model is sharp looking. She has yet to let me down too bad. Gets great gas mileage which is great in this day and age. To tell you the truth I don't have any bad things to say about it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2004

1988 Honda Accord LX 2.0 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance120600 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Ya, this cars going to last

Faults:

Bought a new front right tire.

General Comments:

A 1988 with 120,000 mile and the only thing I had to replace where miner things, like tires, brakes, belts.

The car is quick and has a nice sporty look to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th October, 2004

1988 Honda Accord EXI 2.0 fuel injected gas from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 fuel injected gas Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance426000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

The car was both delightful to look at and to drive and never disappointed me

Faults:

Front coil springs original equipment broke at 200,000 km. Replaced both and replaced the left one again. The right was still broken, but not a problem.

At about the vehicle's 7th year, I made a habit of getting it rust-proofed by Krown each year I owned it. It really did help save the car as the area I lived in was very hard on the car. I also had some yearly touch-up bodywork done to keep the car looking good. I never had it totally painted just touched up. When I sent the car to Car Heaven in August of 2004, it still looked good.

I had some other suspension problems with upper control arm assemblies in the front end and twice replaced the upper ball joints in the rear.

General Comments:

This car was happiest in the highway cruising all day at 120 kilometres an hour! It was responsive and handled very well the whole 10 years I owned it.

I would often get comments on the car and different passengers could not believe the car was the age it was and the kilometers it had on it.

I absolutely loved the car and driving it and it broke me heart when I could no longer keep spending money on it to keep driving it.

The 195 60 R14 tires standard on it were well matched to the car. The only thing I noticed having worn out several sets of tires, was the sensitivity of the car to a tire that wasn't exactly weighted the same. The car would pull one way or another until I put the tire on the back. Then it was fine. Cross rotating the tires on the front was recommended by my mechanic, but when I did, the car simply pulled the other way. Only solution was to put the culprit tire on the back or purchase a new set for the front.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2004

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 64 reviews