1990 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 16 of 16

1990 Honda Accord LX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

It was worth the $2900 I spent on it

Faults:

Shortly after purchase the car wouldn't start, had to replace the battery terminals.

A few months later the car wouldn't start again, replaced the starter switch.

Again a few months later the car wouldn't start, replaced the ignition coil.

After 9 months the car started overheating, replaced one of the radiator lines and the thermostat. Still overheats occasionally.

Paint is starting to chip off.

Radio antenna no longer moves up and down by itself.

Power side mirrors no longer work.

Tires could all stand to be replaced.

General Comments:

Generally dependable, after I got the ignition system fixed. This seems to be a common problem with older Accords.

Ugly ugly car, especially in baby blue with the paint coming off!

Cruises very nicely at highway speeds, but feels very weak going from a complete stop or up hills. Other sedans blow by me when the light turns green.

Excellent fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2001

30th Nov 2001, 22:06

My brother has a '90 DX with a 5-speed. His has 186K miles, and it will still cream a new Neon. Granted, it is a base model, and it is lighter, but it isn't underpowered.

Also, did you have your distributer checked out when you were having ignition troubles? That is the only thing to go wrong with his car. As for the overheating, try to flush out your radiator, and check to make sure the electric fans are both working.

1990 Honda Accord DX from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles

Summary:

Extremely reliable comfortable car

Faults:

Leak in the windshield (?) onto the passenger floor.

Master cylinder out at 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has been awesome. I have no complaints except for the idiots that broke in and stole my speakers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

1990 Honda Accord LX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

An unexpected LEMON

Faults:

A power window motor broke.

The glove compartment won't open.

The paint wore off on the roof.

The air conditioning had to be replaced.

Both of my rear brake lights retain water and dump it into my trunk when I open it - and this is after a dealer "fixed" it.

The defroster doesn't work - also after a dealer "fixed" it.

The windows don't always roll up straight - which can allow water in, and these are only the problems that I don't typically associate with old age and normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

You have to be rich to keep up with all of this car's repairs!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th August, 2000

11th Jun 2001, 09:26

With all due respect the problems that you listed by no means qualify the car as a lemon. They were all superficial problems that do not disrupt the cars reliability.

20th Aug 2001, 08:10

I own a 90 Accord LX and the only major problems I ever had was with the engine. It sucked a valve and then after spending 600 big ones to fix it, 3 months later it did the same thing. If anyone else has this problem, here are some words of wisdom, just replace the engine. I put the VTEC motor out of a 94 Accord EX in my car for $1300. I believe it was well worth it. If you have any questions regarding this, email me at AccordGod@yahoo.com

1990 Honda Accord ES 4WS 2.2i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carVolvo 480ES

Summary:

Ideal!

Faults:

To date only the air con has given any problems, ie. been recharged but has a leak somewhere, however the car has FSH from Honda and is rock steady to drive.

General Comments:

Ideal car for all generations, very worthy of the Honda badge and has typical Japanese reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2000

6th Oct 2004, 18:20

Mine 1990 4ws UK spec. on 100,000 miles best place for parts is United States (via Ebay), saved me £200 on a re-manufactured Alternator.

1990 Honda Accord DX 2.2 16v SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 16v SOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance289000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Damn good car!!!!

Faults:

I replaced the right front CV joints and that's it!

General Comments:

This car is the definition of reliability. I'm beginning to think that all other cars are junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2000

1990 Honda Accord 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carCitroen BX diesel

Summary:

A reliable, comfortable car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

I have driven this car from new, and it has now done 76000 miles. Trouble free motoring. It does not need oil between services.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2000

1990 Honda Accord EX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

This car has 300,000 km on it and it still has not had any major problems.

The only thing I had to do was replace the clutch. Other than that it still

runs extremly well.

General Comments:

Very reliable car, low maintance, good comfort and probably the best dashboard layout of any car out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 1998

28th Jul 2006, 01:01

I agree, best dashboard ever!!!

1990 Honda Accord 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Radiator replaced twice within 18 months for the same fault (leak along top seam). Rear shockers replaced at 45,000 miles and one new battery.

General Comments:

Great for long trips, although back is cramped for adults. Performance is less than thrilling - as is the fuel 'economy' (25mpg around town but better on a long run 30-32mpg). So far we have not been let down on the road. Dealers excellent but expensive. I will probably buy another one - but who knows, I might prefer a change!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 1998

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 53 reviews