1990 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 12 of 16

1990 Honda Accord ex 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Very tight, high quality little car, but still a car with many parts that don't last forever

Faults:

The first couple of years where uneventful, car required usual things for its age: CV/axles, exhaust, radiator, brakes, tires, hoses, I maintained per schedule and it never let me down.

Then: this past year or as soon as the car hit 190k all heck broke loose.

New Door Latch, surprisingly expensive!

New Distributor/Coil.

New Speed and O2 Sensors.

Oil pan gasket.

Turn signal/headlight stick.

Another round of exhaust/ tires/ brakes while paying for other things.

Repairing rear fender rust again.

AC needed freon, no leaks found.

General Comments:

Even with the wallet draining past year, this has been a good car. Not the most fun, but the least overall cost of ownership. If you maintain them they will run forever.

Car has 200k and uses 1 qt of oil b/t changes (5k-6k)

Seats are comfortable, I'm 6ft 230lbs.

Very little UV interior fading.

Paint still shiny, I wax twice a year.

My only complaint is I wish these little cars could tow a small trailer, 1000lb capacity isn't worth putting a hitch on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2003

17th Jul 2003, 07:58

Things (freon) don't last forever. They eventually run out.

3rd Oct 2003, 20:20

The A/C system is sealed and rarely if ever will need more freon. Only if there is a leak, and even a small leak over 13 years will eventually need recharging.

13th Jun 2012, 20:40

All heck broke loose at 190 K??? ROFLMAO... ever own an American car???

1990 Honda Accord EX-R 2.4L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired205000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres

Summary:

The perfect first car for a sixteen year old

Faults:

Engine stalled out while driving at about 120km/h.

Paint keeps chipping.

Both the cruises and air conditioning's electronics have quit.

Power mirror motors are broken.

Clutch is wearing.

Rust is a problem only around the rear fenders.

The valve lifters need adjusting.

General Comments:

The interior on this car is mint.

The car has about 125hp (stock), so it can keep up with the crowds.

It's a 2 door, but getting into the back is no problem because the doors are fairly long.

My sister says the back seat is uncomfortable, but I think shes just jealous.

The car handles well.

It starts great in winter, even though it doesn't have a block heater.

It feels very low (and is), but very comfortable.

The insurance is only $800 a year, and I bought the Accord for only $4000.

It also seems to be very popular with my friends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2003

14th Nov 2003, 02:10

Hi. I also own a 1990 Honda Accord EX-R, and also have the rust problem. But right now, my car has about 195000km on it, and is still running. It needs, soon, a CV joint, rad, struts (these cars don't have shocks), stereo, clutch (it's a standard 5 speed), and a few other things, and I have 2 young children. I would recommend a Honda to anyone who asked me, they are very reliable, and if I trust it with my kids, its very dependable, even with troubles as listed above.

13th Jun 2006, 00:27

I purchased a '90 Accord in 2001 with 169k miles on it. The car now has 297k on it and I plan on driving it for another 30k! It has needed some maintenance along the way. I've replaced the timing belt w/water pump twice (maintenance), exhaust, CV boots, radiator and ignition module. I replaced all brakes at 175k miles, and am still running on those! I'm a firm believer in using OEM Honda parts. All in all, this car has NEVER left me stranded on the road and there is not a single rip or tear on the seats/interior of the car. The automatic transmission started to slip around 220k miles, but it has not gotten worse and is not even noticeable if driven in "S" mode - change tranny oil every year.

With almost 300k miles on this motor, I sent an oil sample in for analysis. The results were incredible! No blow by, only 3 ppm of copper, 9 ppm of iron, 11 ppm of lead and 0 ppm of chromium. The level of contaminants in that oil sample are safe levels to have in your bottled drinking water according to the FDA!

28th Oct 2007, 00:39

I own a 1990 EXR Accord. I have put 55k on it with no problems and it is at 355k now. I also have a 1990 lx Accord that I have put 110k on. It now has 210k. And I own another 1990 ex with 600k. No problems with any of them. Regular oil changes and replace the timing belts every 100k and the car will run forever.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 53 reviews