1990 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 13 of 16

1990 Honda Accord LX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired145010 miles
Most recent distance146200 miles
Previous carFord Econoline

Summary:

I got more than my money's worth on this car!

Faults:

We only had to give it a tune-up when we first got her.

The radiator just went 2 weeks ago.

The inside is still immaculate, no stains, rips or wear spots.

General Comments:

This car is good on gas compared to my full-size truck.

She handles really well.

Room is excellent for 5 people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2003

1990 Honda Accord LX 2.2 Liter, 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter, 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance191800 kilometres

Summary:

Maurice is his name and I'd never get rid of him

Faults:

Driver's side view mirror is held by duct tape.

Rear view mirror is unable to maintain its position. Currently held in place with gaffer's tape.

Radio antennae does not go all the way down. Instead, it makes a grinding noise that sounds like a mechanical fart when it's retracting.

Glove compartment is misaligned so the light is always on.

Passenger side seat does not slide all the way back.

Sideview mirrors must be adjusted by hand.

Ignition timing is off especially in hot weather. Eventually, the car will start, but it's a matter of patience.

Rims are cracked.

General Comments:

Hugs turns extremely well.

Seats are very comfortable.

Power steering is responsive and accurate.

Survived major accident sliding down an icy hill and T-boning a car at 35 mph.

The car doesn't look like a 13-year old car, especially after a good thorough washing.

Acceleration is quite decent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2003

1990 Honda Accord LX 2.2 L4 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 L4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

The most reliable car I've known

Faults:

The exhaust system failed twice, both times at the muffler. There needs to be a bracket behind the muffler, because the weight snaps it off.

Ignition coil failed in extreme cold and possibly the ignitor, since both were replaced at the same time ($180)

CV joints have gone once ($400)

EGR system clogged with carbon and head needed cleaned. Caused car to stutter at mid RPMs ($100)

Factory stereo has a lot of static at times. Haven't replaced it... yet.

Looks like my radiator just started leaking. The part is $130 and I'll probably put it in myself.

Power locks weren't working when I bought the car.

Front coils broke and I replaced them with performance springs from H&R ($350 with labor)

General Comments:

I do absolutely no maintenance on this car at all, other than oil changes and the timing belt/water pump change. I drive it hard and abuse it, and it never fails me.

The car could use more torque or something to get it up to speed, but it keeps me out of trouble.

I added lowering springs which helped the handling and look of the car.

I have all the confidence in the world this car will make it another 100,000 at least.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2003

1990 Honda Accord DX FUEL INJECTED from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission FUEL INJECTED Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance235000 miles
Previous carChrysler dodge ram van

Summary:

My best purchase ever!!

Faults:

The main relay went out this past summer in the heat.. no real problem.

The distributor cap had to be replaced before a tune up due.. would not start when it rained.

I seem to wear out the brakes often even tho I am not a pedal rider.

It has gone through myself and an teenage boy who drove it hard, totaled twice, and it is still in good shape.

General Comments:

This is undoubtedly the best car I have ever had.

It is fairly simple to work on if you are mechanically inclined.

I wish I could find one as reliable and this one in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2002

19th Jun 2004, 10:33

How are you still driving it if it was totaled?

8th May 2006, 10:26

Cars that are totaled don't necessarily die from the crash. Some are repairable, but the cost would be more than buying a new car.

1990 Honda Accord LX SIR 2.2 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200111 miles
Most recent distance224000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

A bargain for your buck!

Faults:

The car had many repairs prior to me purchasing it. I bought the car for $1200. From buying it I had replaced:

New drivers side CV joint for $200.

New paint job for $330.

New water pump, timing belt, tensioner belt, new drive belts, new oil seals, all for $770.

Replaced power lock control unit for $50.

Replaced antenna for $12.

Added two sets of new front brake pads.

For performance parts I have added a sport exhaust, cold air intake, and race pulleys. I converted all lights to clear.

General Comments:

For having 224000 miles, this car runs perfect. I will be added a new clutch, may I add this is the origonal soon. It hasn't junked out, I just would feel better if I replaced it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 53 reviews