1991 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 3 of 20

1991 Honda Accord EX F22 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission F22 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired167084 miles
Most recent distance187105 miles

Summary:

Proud to call it my first car! Would get another one!

Faults:

RPM when idle shudders badly when it comes to a stop.

Steering wheel makes a squeaky noise when turning hard.

General Comments:

It starts up quick, gotta love those Honda starters.

Car has about 187k, but still feels like new!

This car can really haul ass!

Like any car, it has its share of problems, but if fixed quick enough, you can prevent permanent damage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2010

10th Mar 2010, 23:59

Squeaking at the steering wheel indicates that ball joints or tie rod ends are failing.

You have six months or less to address the problem before a catastrophic failure.

2nd Sep 2010, 01:58

Steering squeal solved, it needed power steering fluid.

Rough idle, possible vacuum leak or failing IAC valve.

1991 Honda Accord EXi 2.2 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired339000 kilometres
Most recent distance352000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Legend

Summary:

Great performance and reliability for a 20 year old car

Faults:

Ignition switch required replacing.

Air con needs re-gassing.

Transmission occasionally slips harshly when going up steep hills.

Rear drivers side window no longer operates.

General Comments:

This is my second car after writing off my Honda Legend, and now this one has been written off due to a woman in a 4WD running a stop sign and smashing into my rear side.

This Accord was amazing, I'm still driving it even with the pretty much diminished panel and lack of boot (it's there, but I cannot open it). Performance is great for a 2.2 litre engine, and the engine noise after 4000rpm is what you'd expect from a larger engine.

Fuel wise it was pretty good, averaging about 9-10 litres around town, a tank would last me about 550km with a mix of steep hills driving and suburban driving, using 95 octane fuel.

It went through tyres pretty quickly, but that may have just been due to my driving style or the bad steering alignment (I had never gotten it fixed because it wasn't a big deal). Oh and tyres seemed fairly troublesome to track down, even second hand ones as new ones were overly expensive.

Breaks are a bit iffy, sometimes either being too sensitive or not sensitive enough. From the lights, flooring it would often get me past all the other cars, a few times even beating some P platers in their hotted up Commondores. Hahahaha. Insurance was easy and police never even looked at me.

The ignition switch died on me when I was 2km from home, luckily I had already exited the freeway so I had to hold the key til I got home, and a used ignition switch was $55 and took about twenty minutes to install.

I have been very happy with this car, and if it wasn't for such expensive labour with panel beaters, I'd definitely get this car fixed. I'm going to keep it and maybe try to fix it up myself, and in the mean time may purchase another Legend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2010

30th Jan 2010, 16:22

If the woman driving the 4WD was at fault, why not sue her and/or her insurance company for the panel repairs?

5th Feb 2010, 00:01

I tried doing so, but they just said economically speaking it's not worth it...

1991 Honda Accord SE 2.2L PGFI 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2L PGFI 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired198000 miles
Most recent distance222000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Absolutely great car for anyone

Faults:

Nothing car runs sweet as the day I bought it, even with high mileage.

I have had 2 car accidents with this car, and it still keeps taking me wherever I need to go. Great reliable car.

General Comments:

Leather seats are weak. I believe Honda could make them more durable considering they fry in one summer here in north Carolina; even with leather treatment everything goes wrong with the seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2009

1991 Honda Accord EX 1.5 SOHC from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired164000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

No major problems with car. The starter was rebuilt after a few months of driving it, but the noise when you start the car was still there. Might have been the flywheel. After that I bought a brand new car so I just let that one sit. Had power windows, locks, sunroof. Very clean interior.

General Comments:

I put on some 18 inch konig rims, and window visors and tints, and the car looked sharp. It was a great car, should have kept it longer!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2009

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 86 reviews