1992 Honda Accord EX 2.2 Gasoline from North America


Reliable, responsive, and versatile


Brake Master Cylinder failed at about 100,000 miles. Replaced by dealership (about $300).

Trunk leaked for awhile. Cheap ($5) sealant from store fixed this.

Clear coat is starting to peel, probably due to Texas sun. Car is not garaged. Base paint is still good.

Automatic transmission started to feel rough when I sold the car at 117K miles.

General Comments:

The Accord is seriously a great car that is very reliable.

The older Accords are simple cars (IE no leather, power seats, etc.) but I always felt very comfortable in mine. The trunk is huge for what looks like a small car, and leg room is ample. I had a sun roof on mine which was a nice touch.

The 4 cylinder was always enough for me and got great mileage. It did tend to bog down if I filled the car with people. It always handled well, especially in bad weather. A/C seemed a little underpowered, but it gets VERY hot during the Texas summer.

If you do buy a higher mileage Accord try to get a manual transmission. I noticed my automatic seemed to be wearing out towards the end. I got 3 great years of service from my car though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2006

12th Jun 2006, 10:08

Though the transmission on these cars shift rough when old, I know that they will last at least 50-100,000 miles more. My neighbors 94 Civic started shifting like that at about 120,000 and today at 225,000 still shifts rough and slow. These automatics will keep on chugging as long as you don't tow heavy weights; that's is how our CR-V's tranny died with only 100,000 miles on it.

1992 Honda Accord LX from North America


This car is not worth the trouble!


Replaced the engine mounts several times and transmission shifting is still jerky.

Replaced igniter after the car died in the middle of the street and would not start up again.

Replaced turn signal switch and relay after that broke and the turn signal did not turn off.

Replaced seat belt on the back passenger side seat.

Replaced radiator and hose when it overheated on the highway.

Catalytic converter cover is broken, so there is rattling at low speeds.

Back window squeaks and won't go up all the way.

Honda sound system has been problematic since I got the car. The radio doesn't turn off, the speakers make a buzzing sound, AM doesn't come through clearly and some speakers only work intermittently.

General Comments:

Even though there are people who have driven this model over 200,000 miles, I must have gotten a lemon!

With in the past 8 months I have gotten stuck 2ce and had the turn signal problem mentioned above.

It is time to get rid of this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2006

7th Jun 2006, 15:11


You bought an very used car with 130k miles on it & say "I must've gotten a lemon"???!!!

This review has no credibility.

8th Jun 2006, 10:46

I do admit that is a lot to replace in only 18,000 miles. Don't knock the person because they are having problems.

1992 Honda Accord LX 2.2 liter from North America


As tough as a Russian T-34 tank on its way to Berlin


Bothersome oil leak from the valve cover gasket and possibly elsewhere.

When I replaced the spark plugs they had oil on them, probably worn valve seals.

Auxiliary fan rattles like crazy when running, but it rarely activates anyway... so I don't really care enough to fix it.

Mysterious rattle underneath the car when I go over bumps or when the engine is at about 1500-1800rpm. My guess is loose heat shield or broken exhaust clamp.

Typical rust spots around the rear wheel wells.

A/C no longer works.

Neither does cruise control.

Recently the drivers side window has gone off track.

General Comments:

Despite the annoying, yet relatively minor problems... this car is amazingly dependable. The motor, trans, and clutch seem indestructible. Great on gas. Keep up with the basic maintenance (fluids, filters, spark plugs, etc.) and it will keep soldiering on.

Its by no means a speed demon, but has ample power for daily driving and passing/merging on the highway. Pretty fun to drive with the manual trans.

Handling is a good compromise between comfort and performance.

Comfortable and decently roomy interior. Smooth steering and shifting. Original radio and tape deck working fine. Front speakers still good, but the lousy original speakers were obliterated. So I went to the junkyard and got a pair of accord EX rear speakers, and now its good as new.

I've owned it for about 15 months and its served me well. I'm considering getting rid of it, because id need to put a bunch of work into it in order for it to pass state inspection in a few months. Otherwise id drive it until it fell apart or blew up, which id imagine would be awhile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2006

4th Jun 2006, 07:32

No way is an accord anything like a T34.

4th Jun 2006, 18:31

"No way is an accord anything like a T34." No, really? Gee, and here we thought it was... I think the reviewer is trying to make the comparison for a point on dependability, not actually trying to say that a Honda is brutish or hulking. Oh geez, why bother...

4th Jun 2006, 21:59

Yeah, a K-car is!!! Just ask Iaccoca!

5th Jun 2006, 15:23

Seriously, get it through your heads, a T34 has treads, thick steel armor, a massive diesel engine, and a huge main gun plus machine guns. The Honda has a tinny body and small engine.

6th Jun 2006, 15:48

Um, I obviously didn't mean LITERALLY as tough as a tank. I was talking from a reliability standpoint. I stand by my comment, the accord is a real trooper.

6th Jun 2006, 21:46

This honda = sherman tank.

Any better?