1998 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 2 of 13

1998 Honda Accord EX V6 VTEC from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V6 VTEC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired211000 miles
Most recent distance216500 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Honda proving its terrific excellence once again!

Faults:

Alternator replaced at 214k miles.

Then just other basic maintaining such as brakes, tires, battery and timing belt.

General Comments:

Car has very good pickup.

Has 216k miles and still runs new.

When things need to get replaced, they are cheap and easy to access.

Very little rust.

Starts right up and warms right up every single time.

Built to last.

Very comfortable, and has very sporty look.

Reliable, gets the job done, and looks good doing it.

Just another car made by Japan that proves foreign is better than American, German, or any other country.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2010

1998 Honda Accord EX from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance217000 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

The transmission was not built well, but for some strange reason I still love the car

Faults:

4/15/2000: Replaced brakes at 45,727 miles.

2/2001: Replaced timing belt at 65,920 miles.

3/27/2001: New tires at 68,525 miles.

10/3/2001: Replaced A/C and heater filter.

Engine light came on at 80,000 miles. Catalytic converter had to be replaced.

2/27/2002: Replaced brakes and rotors at 88,541 miles.

8/26/2002: Replaced battery at over 96,000 miles.

5/17/2003: Cut front brake rotors 107,190 miles.

10/24/2003: Check engine light at 115,212 miles. Replaced vent shut valve.

11/28/2003: New tires at 116,479 miles.

3/5/2004: Replaced front and rear brakes at 120,553 miles.

8/3/2005: Rebuilt the transmission at 144,243 miles.

11/1/2005: Transmission appeared to be having problems again at 152,436.

1/18/2006: Transmission slipping slipping. Took for a service at 161,515 miles. It was stated that trans has a 1st to 2nd slide shift and flares 2nd to 3rd gear. Adjustments were made, but did not fix the issue.

2/9/2006: Replaced front and rear brakes at 163,086 miles.

5/1/2006: New tires at 167,969 miles.

7/19/2007: Replaced front end bearings at 186,015 miles.

1/18/2008: New battery at 194,096 miles.

4/16/2008: Engine light came on at 194,000 miles. Replaced oxygen sensor to correct the problem.

5/31/2008: Replaced timing belt, water pump, drive belts at 195,643.

4/16/2009: Replaced radiator at 213,125 miles.

9/24/2009: Replaced starter at 214,275 miles.

General Comments:

Besides the transmission problems with these Hondas, the car is very reliable. I wish I had bought a stick instead, only because of the ongoing transmission issues I have been having. After 5 years, the transmission is currently still slipping in 2nd gear.

The car is quick and handles well.

The seats are uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2010

3rd Jun 2010, 19:33

My 98 Accord EX V6 has 205,000 miles and no issues with the transmission. Great car. Researching a brake change now.

1998 Honda Accord 2.3 EX Coupe F23 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission F23 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

This Accord's rear-end is like no other Accord model

Faults:

First I had to replace my passenger axle; cost $20 for the part brand new.

Next the front struts, so I replaced all 4 for a reasonable price. Upgraded to Brembo rotors when I had to fix those.

Replaced headers and upgraded to V6 model dual exhaust at my own expense.

Changed distributor and starter, changed radiator and heater core hose, ignition switch, had timing belt change and new battery.

Both upper and lower O2 sensors.

"NOW!" my dashboard lights are not working, but all the check engine, maintenance requirements, ABS, SBS light all work fine when the car is just started, the shift lights only work when the headlights/park lights are off.

Second, the car will not start, it turns over and almost starts like "psych", thought you were going somewhere and dies. It does this every time I try to crank it. But before it just didn't want to crank anymore at all, it use to stall at start up for like 3 weeks. Is it my computer? HELP ME!

General Comments:

This is my first Honda and I really like the car. I even have a custom wine paint job with Gold pearl and Ice pearl (I have pics).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2009

1998 Honda Accord DX 2.3 non VTEC from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.3 non VTEC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance291000 kilometres
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

So reliable..

Faults:

Incredibly reliable

General Comments:

Incredibly reliable, just changed timing belt twice, Some suspension parts, tires...oils... The fuel economy Average : 10L/100 km but never less than 120 km/h on highway.

I love my car like the first year I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2009

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 48 reviews