1998 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 5 of 13

1998 Honda Accord LX 2.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Terrible

Faults:

Transmission failed (mfg defect) at 50,000.

Replacement failed last month at 80,000.

Manufacturing defect was clutch plate (1-2 gear) installed backward.

General Comments:

Liked the car until it started failing transmissions.

Now I have a 2006 Hyundai Sonata; will never buy Honda again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2007

11th Aug 2007, 06:42

What did you do to this car to make it ruin TWO transmissions, and one within 30,000 miles? Are you trying to tow a loaded horse trailer through the mountains with it? 17 year old kids drive these cars like there's no tomorrow and don't normally ruin one transmission, much less TWO.

12th Aug 2007, 08:11

Oh no - not again! As soon as one person says that they have had a bad Honda, a load of Honda people write in dis-believing and accusing the owner (s) of various things or says they are not telling the truth! Grow up people - Hondas are just cars (they can break as well!). I however, will not buy one - I will stick with Volvo - because there is more to life than just reliability! Try comfort, safety, practicality AS WELL AS reliability!

28th Aug 2008, 01:32

This is the second review I've read on CarSurvey where a person had a bad experience with a Honda and replaced it with a Hyundai and are happy now.

It's actually very common with the Accord that the transmissions fail prematurely. That was the case with the other review I read as well. The transmission on their Accord failed around 80k miles. Why spend so much money on a Honda and have the major problems that people associate with Hyundai? Sometimes reputation is better than the actual product, and I feel bad for people that spend all that money and still have such troubles.

1998 Honda Accord VTi-L 2.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance140 kilometres
Previous carHonda Integra

Summary:

Good, cheap family car

Faults:

Rear brake pads worn and needed replacing.

Steering wheel worn badly prior to purchase (was glued tighter by dealer).

General Comments:

This is not the most exciting car in the world to drive, but as a family car it is reliable and roomy.

The interior is spacious, and the faux-wood paneling is a nice touch.

Build quality isn't as good as the Japanese-built models (this one is made in Thailand I think), but there aren't too many rattles, and it still looks pretty good when kept clean.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2007

1998 Honda Accord SIRT 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Heaven on four wheels

Faults:

No faults, it is a Honda after all.

General Comments:

The dashboard is set out well and easy to follow.

Interior lights for Africa 2 map lights, one in the centre of roof, one in the glovebox, and one in the ashtray.

It has quad cup holders (2 in front and 2 in back).

The seats are quite uncomfortable and not to my liking. There are adjustments, but no adjustment for the lumbar support.

Electronic power steering means you can have either hard, medium or soft power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2007

1998 Honda Accord LX Coupe 2.3 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance192500 miles
Previous carVolvo 960

Summary:

Fuel pincher, great performance, and few repairs make this car a great value!

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong considering the mileage of this car.

1.) Blower resistor @ 185,000. - Replaced for $85.00 total.

2.) Windshield washer darts replaced @ 185,000.

3.) Rear axle components @ 180,000. Needed a couple of misc. parts for under $150.00.

Besides those very minor repairs, I have gotten a tune up, timing belt, tires, and brake shoes/pads.

General Comments:

This car has been absolutely fantastic for me. With 192,500 miles right now, it still runs and drives fantastic, and has required essentially no major repairs.

Fuel mileage ranges from about 26-30 MPG, driving rather quick. This impressive fuel mileage certainly pays off with fuel prices so high!

The car handles very well, and takes turns better than most cars in it's class and year. The 4 cylinder engine has plenty of power for it's purpose, and is a smooth machine. The transmission shifts great, with no slipping, and no hesitation up hills.

I plan on keeping this car until it dies, and judging by how well it has held up for me to date, I think I will have it for quite some time.

I'd recommend this type of car to anyone looking for a great value, with enough handling, and enough savings for just about any person!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2007

14th May 2007, 23:08

Whoa, windshield wiper darts? You better be careful no pedestrians are around when you turn those bad-boys on!!

I think your mechanic ripped you off, last time I checked, the Accord was a front drive car, with no AWD options, and definitely NO rear axle.

30th Nov 2009, 14:28

Regardless if it's AWD or not, the rear wheels need something to attach to obviously, and if it doesn't have independent rear suspension, what could it have? Maybe an axle.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 48 reviews