2000 Honda Accord EX 2.3 VTEC from North America


This is one outstanding car... My hat goes off to the guys at Honda


Transmission had to be replaced due to a recall.

General Comments:

This is a great car that I would recomend to anybody that wants a safe, reliable car.

My wife and I have enjoyed this car tremendously. Every time we talk about purchasing a new car my wife just cannot part with this one.

The only problem we have with this car was the transmission and it never caused the car to be unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2005

2000 Honda Accord SE 2.3L 4 cylinder from North America


Best car ever had, very satisfied


Clock Light burnt out at 60,000 miles.

A/C smells like mildew at times.

General Comments:

What a great car. Only thing that broke was a $1.88 light bulb for the clock. Battery has been going strong for nearly 6 years. Highly recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2005

10th Nov 2005, 01:22

The clock light- That happened to my 99 accord. You can actually replace the bulb yourself in 2 minutes. I had to pay $6 CDN for the bulb from the dealer. Works well again though.

26th Feb 2006, 19:59

Do you happen to know what the part number is for that particular light bulb?

2000 Honda Accord EX 3.0 V6 from North America


Point A to Point B dependability


Brakes constantly are worn thin.

Various rattles and squeaks from dash and rear windows.

A few recalls.

General Comments:

It's...a car. No frills, nothing exciting. This car doesn't really excel in doing anything extremely well and it doesn't do anything especially badly either. Well, the transmission sucks and it shifts like hell, but the car has been pretty reliable nonetheless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2005

2000 Honda Accord EX 3.0 from North America


The Accord is a very good long term driving investment


SRS light occasionally turns on.

Paint on the hood has started to chip; probably due to normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

This is the first Honda I have ever driven and I am impressed with the ride.

The car has been very reliable since the first day I got it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2005

2000 Honda Accord EX 2.3 LITER VTEC from North America


1991 was Gold- 2000 is a big piece of Stress


This is my second Accord. My first was flawless. 1991 Accord. 125,000-miles with out one problem.

I have had nothing but problems with this 2000 since new.

Door Hinge 2-door Front Drivers- Bad at new.

A/C switch on dash-1-year or so old.

Coolant leak 2-years-Radiator cracked.

Transmission was worked on right before the basic warranty was up. Not sure what they fixed, but the car would go into D super hard at times. They did not have to remove the transmission, but it still took them 2-weeks with no loaner car provided.

The car now has a growl sound from the front and no one can find the problem. Not wheel bearing or tires. Noise is from driver's side and has a direct relationship with the speed of the car.

General Comments:

This car has got me down and I don't know what to do. I really fell in love with Honda and thought that I have solved all my car needs with Honda.

I'm going to sell the car, I have got my mom's car-she has died, but I have to get the growl sound fixed first or no one will buy it. I don't know what to do.

Also it cost so much for a new air-filter and fuel filter and brakes. These parts must be laced with Gold.

I just don't know where to turn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

28th May 2005, 20:16

I'll tell you where to turn: Volkswagen. It's German quality and innovation at Japanese prices.

19th Aug 2005, 18:24

The growl sound might be the torque converter or something inside the transmission. has happened on other cars.

10th Jan 2006, 22:29

OK, the ABSOLUTE LAST PLACE you want to turn is Volkswagen, just read the reviews, all those blue faces! Plus, if you think Honda parts are high, check some VW parts. Do not buy a VW! Get a Toyota perhaps, but I think you just got a lemon Honda, they truly are great cars!

2000 Honda Accord S 1.8 from UK and Ireland


Very nearly faultless - great car!


Minor problem on delivery with Radio (fixed within 24 hours). That was about it, for four and a half years and 53000 miles.

General Comments:

Have just traded in my Accord for a new Honda CRV. The car proved absolutely faultless (apart from the radio issue on delivery) and just ran like clockwork.

Performance from the 1850cc engine was very good, though fuel consumption was not fantastic at around 26 MPG for town use and approx 34 mpg on the motorway (freeway). The trade off was that when the V-TEC kicked in, it could give the boy racers a run for their money! Even in more mundane family driving, once you got to know the good spots on the torque curve, there always seemed power available to overtake in safety.

Build quality in terms of engine/mechanicals and bodywork was fantastic, but the interior suffered from a few cheap looking materials and did look a bit tired towards the end.

Overall, I was really sad to see this car go - if I had the money to spare, I would have kept it, as it was the best car I've ever owned in nearly 30 years motoring. In the end, it just got a bit too tight on space for our family (2 adults and now 3 teenage kids), and we needed something with more passenger and luggage space.

Went for another Honda as both the cars and the dealers are so much better than the likes of VW, Ford, and even Volvo; all of which I've tried before.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2005

5th Oct 2007, 16:56

I couldn't agree more! I bought a 2000 Honda Accord S 1.8 from my parents (primarily because I knew it would have been looked after) and I love the car!

I am still getting used to the VTEC engine, but everything seems very well put together and I am getting around 400 miles to the tank. Perhaps some people may find the ride a little firm, but there is practically no roll which I prefer to a softer ride. The car can really shift when you need it to!

Engine noise is at a minimum, especially on the motorway, but can't comment on road noise as it's mainly to do with the tyres - generally the better the tyres are for the wet, the noisier they are (i.e. the cross-thread profile type or something). Still, it's very quiet inside.

My only annoyance is a strange squeak that I sometimes hear. Only one squeak is audible and rarely happens, but is quite loud and noticeable and I can't find where it's coming from!

When I come to upgrade I'll probably go for the newer Accord - I do like the Mazda 6 but it's very noisy on the motorway which puts me off.