2000 Honda Accord SE 2.3 VTEC from North America


Not worth the extra money, get a cheaper car.


Head light keeps getting water in it... no damage..only left side--has done since new--Replaced under warranty.

Driver's door latch broke on outside when new-broke inside of door..

Thumping from front suspension... rubber busing disformed... fixed under warranty.

Rear defrost went out... after warranty.

Tape player will not take tape.

Transmission gear selector hard to move from N to D... lubed and still does it.. Trans shop says it is internal...$$$$$$$

A/c no longer blows cold, but it is full of freon they say...

Paint already dull.

Lots of paint chips on hood and front of car..

Sometimes the automatic transmission shifts hard... smashes into 2nd and 3d...but always goes into overdrive silky smooth.

Film keeps building up on inside of windshield and I don't smoke in the car.

Lots of bulbs going out..

Power steering sometimes changes in effort... I think it is going out..

General Comments:

Not really lived up to what I was told it would for quality.

They don't want to give me anything for a trade in... like Honda siad...Honda=high resale...yea--then prove it... mine is super clean and like new on inside.

Lack of power and seems to be loosing power since new.

Only 55,000-miles and I wonder if it will get me home..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th March, 2004

6th Mar 2005, 02:36

Sorry to hear it, because I am just another one in the endless lineup of happy Accord owners (two cars in ten years). It is possible that quality fluctuates due to manufacturing/supplier issues. But that determines if car is good or not.

Well, I still think that Honda got it right. I also bough mine on the promise of refinement and reliability its reputation carries. It didn't disappoint me.

I think that Honda's manufacturing must know about such defects and problems. It would be important to make sure that the info gets there, so the imperfections will be eliminated till we get our next Accords. Happy driving!

4th Jan 2008, 19:49

Watch out with that automatic. My aunt had a 2000 Accord LX and (as expected by reliablity reviews) completely failed. She replaced it with a 2008 Accord 4cyl EX-L. The 2008 is a quantum leap from this vehicle.

2000 Honda Accord LX 2.3L ULEV VTEC from North America


A dream come true


The light behind my odometer went out out 110,000 miles.

General Comments:

I have had absolutely no problem out of my car.

It has a lot of power and torque for a 4 cylinder.

I would buy and recommend anyone buying a 2000 Accord.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2004

8th Apr 2004, 00:05

Same experience. Great car. Superior machine. I strongly recommend it. Buy one and be happy like me and others who chose the quality, elegance and style over mediocrity and marketing deal-push of some others not so Grand auto-mobiles.

2000 Honda Accord Coupe from North America


Not impressed!!


Driver's side rear wheel bearing.

Arm rest, center console lid break.

SRS light constantly comes on!

Poor traction on wet pavement!

General Comments:

The rear wheel bearing went after about 50k kilometers. Though it was covered under warranty it took several trips to the dealer to finally get my car back in reasonable condition.

The arm/console rests are a cosmetic problem, but a problem none the less. They were first replaced at 25k kilometers and have subsequently broke since. Unfortunately I'm off warranty & the dealer won't look after the problem. Considering I purchased brand new, right off the truck it seems like an issue when this is the 3rd arm rest I require.

The SRS light comes on within the first week after I have my car in for service. The unit has been replaced once & it still seems to happen? I've asked for service on several occasions to no avail. This continues to be a problem.

Last, but certainly not least is the fact that I receive little or no traction during wet weather. I have all seasons & the first rain I drove in I noticed the problem. I know that there are better tires for certain conditions, but the fact that we drop $30 grand on a vehicle & we have to replace tires doesn't impress me.

The dealer seems less than thrilled when I bring my car in for service. They've canceled appointments without calling, not completed the full service request (like when they didn't change the oil on a routine inspection), just general poor service.

I heard nothing, but great things about purchasing an import vehicle, but up to this point I'm not impressed! I love the car, but the little problems along with a dealership that is less than professional hurts my overall rating of the product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th December, 2003

28th Jul 2004, 14:49

I love it when someone writes in and lists the problems they have experienced with their vehicle and then someone with the same vehicle, responds by telling you how they have had NO problems with theirs. Smug much?

29th Jul 2004, 12:20

I have had the same problems. I had to replace my passenger side rear wheel hub. I am also experience the SRS problem. If you do a little research, we're not alone in this problem.

18th Aug 2004, 13:57

I purchased a 2000 Accord EX in February of 2004. The SRS lite has been a major headache. I live about 60K from the dealer and on the first trip they "turned it off" second trip they replaced a sensor, now I'm goig for trip # 3 --still they have not informed me that it is a known problem. Had it not been for this service--Iwould still not have known. Dissapointed in Ontario Canada.

25th Feb 2005, 20:47

I also just had my left rear hub assembly replaced. I also had the front two wheel bearings also replaced. the side airbag system light also always comes on and when someone leans on it funny. what's up with that. tires that came with the car are a little slick, so I like the yokohamas avid h4s.

28th Dec 2007, 15:48

I Have A 2000 Honda Accord Ex. I Love It! The Only thing that I Really had to put money into was replacing the O2 sensors at about 96,000 miles. I did however have a similar problem that may help someone. My SRS light did come on. and as you know taking it to the dealership can be expensive... but during a oil change I asked if they could check it. It turns out that it was a censor in my seat belt that had gone bad, and was making the light come on. Honda has a Lifetime warranty on anything having to do with the seat belt, so they ordered the part and a few days later I went back and within a few minutes they had everthing fixed. and I was on my way! and I haven't had a problem since!!