2000 Honda Accord ex-v6 3.0L from North America


Despite the minor problems, Honda's are fun and comfy to drive


"SRS" warning light stays on... what to do...?

General Comments:

My "SRS" warning light came on my Honda Accord 2000 EX-v6 at 157000 km (Canadian vehicle).

I found out through the grapevine that there is an extended warranty on the OPDS/Belt buckle sensor "if" that is the problem when the "SRS" light comes on. This light must be on when you bring it back the dealership for inspection.

I called 1-888-9Honda9 (for Canadian Hondas), to confirm my vehicle is under this extended warranty. It's VIN dependent!

My vehicle was covered and Honda will send me a confirmation letter. Armed with this letter I'll proceed to the dealership.

Good luck to all that do this...

BTW...the warranty is extended on the transmission too... so call and check...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2006

2000 Honda Accord EX V6 from North America


Not so reliable after all


I have had to replace the alternator in my 2000 Accord EX (V6) twice since I bought the car six years ago.

The first time the alternator was replaced, the car was just past the 3-year warranty.

General Comments:

For those of you who have experienced alternator problems with your 2000 Accord, I encourage you to contact the main Honda customer service office in California. They called me about 10 days after sending a letter with the complaint and said if they get complaints about faulty parts, they will issue an extended warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th October, 2006

16th Oct 2006, 14:53

At least your engine still runs well, after all that is what Honda built. The alternator is a Delphi unit. It is like one that made its way into GM, Ford, and Chrysler products. You are feeling the sting that many other car owners are feeling. On the upside, only the V6 Hondas got them from 98-2002, and then they went back to good old Denso alternators.

2000 Honda Accord EX V6 from North America


I guess it's my bad luck


Transmission - replaced at 97kmi

Alternator - replaced at 97kmi

Clock light bulk - replaced twice

Wheel bearing and hub assembly - replaced at 97kmi.

General Comments:

It's a 2000 Accord Coupe EX V6 @ 96kmi. I bought it three months ago, and now it's giving me all sorts of problems. Previously, the car had been serviced at the Honda dealer all the time. I have all the records. Carfax reports an accident, but it also says it was a "minor damage".

At 97kmi, the check engine light went on while I was on the street. The car suddenly lost power, regardless that I pushed the pedal down a lot and rpm went up to 4, 5k. Had it towed to Honda dealer, where they replaced the transmission (ouch) and the alternator. They had no idea why two components broke down at the same time.

After only one week, I found that as I turn left, I can hear a loud grinding noise from the passenger side wheel area. Went to dealer again, and they replaced the front wheel bearing and something called hub assembly (about the same price as the wheel bearing).

Now the light behind the clock is broken. And I suspect there is some noise similar to what I heard the previous week on the wheel bearing problem as I turn right. I have to visit the dealer again.

Now the car is still under extended warranty, but it will soon expire (Next May). The transmission has been replaced, so it should be OK, but what about other parts? It seems the car I bought and loved is a lemon Honda. I don't know what to do. For now I have to fix the noise or nobody will buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th September, 2006

12th Sep 2006, 12:13

I have a Honda 2000 v6, and it had only 36,000 miles on it when the transmission starting acting up. I found out that this model has a great deal of defects.

16th Jul 2007, 09:16

I had a 2000 honda accord v6 coupe too and she was always in the shop. I've had over 5 major issues with my car. I just traded her in and only got 2000 dollars for her because:

The odometer is incorrect due to the dash board malfunctioning.

The same issues you had with the turning was going on my car.

The lights on the dash board continued to go off and on.

My alternator went out.

And last, but not least... the transmission died.

I am done with Hondas from this point. I basically brought a lemon just to trade in a lemon.

16th Jul 2007, 12:28

Wow and I got 1000 dollars on my 13 year old Honda that had 257,000 miles and never left us stranded anywhere. My 1999 Accord will have 200,000 miles soon. And I should add we have another 99 that never got any maintenance other than oil changes until 106, 000 when we did the timing belt. Sorry to hear that you never changed your oil or anything.

30th Apr 2009, 22:31

You should all do some research first and realize that there are problems with the V6 manual transmission in the 98-02 Accords.

11th Sep 2009, 00:42

I had a silver 2000 Accord EX V6 that had 134,000 KM on it until it was in an accident with a GMC Sierra a couple weeks ago. This car ran so nicely and had no rust with excellent paint appearance, so I was planning on using it for another 3-5 years.

Only problem would be was the 93 month/75,000 km warranty was long finished on the transmission, and while it never had any problems, you never know.

Only one light bulb and one tail light bulb replaced, say 9 months ago, and a set of tires and timing belt at about 100,000 KM. Original AC setup was still very cold, and the heat was still very hot.

It did however had to have two new leather seat coverings on the driver side, as it was splitting along a horizontal stitching on left side. Thankfully since it was in first couple years, it was replaced on warranty and the last cover never had the issue ever since, as I believe they fixed the design.