2004 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 11 of 13

2004 Honda Accord Exec 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Noisy

Faults:

The car makes a high-pitched whining sound in 5th gear at between 75 and 82 mph.

I returned the car back to the dealer who could not help me. After countless telephone conversations with Honda UK they eventually sent an engineer to test-drive the car.

His report is as follows – ‘the transmission whine described by the customer and experienced by myself is a noise common to this model of Honda Accord. A report was submitted by Honda UK technical support department at the time of model launch. Reply from Honda Japan R&D was noise was caused by helical gears used with the transmission, there is no way of elevating this noise and the noise is not detrimental to the economic life of the transmission so is regarded a trait of the transmission design.’ So in other words I will just have to put up with it, but hopefully if you have read this you won't.

The drivers seat moves sideways when going around corners. The fixings were replaced under warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

10th Aug 2005, 23:27

I guess this Accord was built in Ohio too? I know that there are no bad Hondas or Acuras coming out of Japan. Who make up this crap anyway? A design flaw is a design flaw, regardless of country. Acuras have had bad trannys (manual and automatic) and other problems from rigt from Japan. Yep, hard to believe from a perfect culture, but true.

13th Jan 2007, 04:27

I think the UK accord is different from the American version, the UK version is very similar to Acura TSX.

2004 Honda Accord LX 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Disappointed

Faults:

In less than a week after buying my 2004, I began to hear ticking sounds coming from the dashboard and door. It took a several trips to the dealership to get it fixed, including having the passenger door replaced; however, it is ticking again. The car runs well, but I am tired of the ticking sounds and ready to get another vehicle. My last car was a 1998 Accord and I loved it. I wish I was as pleased with the one that I have.

General Comments:

The car's interior makes ticking sounds which comes from not being solidly built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2004

2004 Honda Accord EX V6 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Great design with lots of extra power; nice job Honda!

Faults:

Right rear strut squeaks over small bumps.

Passenger door rattles inside.

Moon roof rattles in the tilt position.

Now, the windshield is cracked.

General Comments:

Overall, Honda made an awesome step up in 2003 with the addition of the 6-speed manual for the 240-hp V6 in the EX Cpe. I'm very impressed with the overall performance of the car. Looks fast, even sitting still. Great cruiser on the highway, peppy in town.

Sadly, I've had the 4 problems listed above, only owning the car for 5 months. The strut problem took 4 visits to the dealer to fix. I hope the windshield is coverend under warranty! I'm optimistic about the rattles needing only minor adjustment to fix, but we'll see. Other than those <minor> setbacks, I would fully recommend this car to anyone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2004

2004 Honda Accord EX 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance4275 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A full size boat that handles like a compact sports car

Faults:

Glove box rattles. Sun roof is leaking. Water is leaking into the trunk also. Excessive wind noise when driving down the road. Brakes squeal when applied. Pulls to the right constantly. Transmission is acting funky. Only getting around 17 mpg around town, and only 25 mpg on the highway.

General Comments:

Despite it's faults, I really can't complain about my new Accord. It looks good, runs good and has plenty of room inside. Honda did a good job with this version, as it is often mistaken for a Mercedes from the side view. This car is a behemoth size wise, and I wasn't sure if I could get used to it, but it didn't take long. Kudos to Honda for making a full size car that can actually be maneuvered around. This car is very peppy for it's size with the V4 motor. I've been told it makes 240 hp, and I can feel those ponies every time I drive it. In conclusion, I just want to thank Honda for making a full size car that isn't a lumbering boat, and can be handled with ease.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2004

15th Nov 2004, 19:47

The Accord is behemoth? What??

The Accord doesn't have a "V4", and even if you do have the 4 cyl, it doesn't make 240Hp. Try 160. And your trunk and sunroof leaks, but you can't complain. Geez this thing is new, take it in for service!

26th Dec 2004, 11:29

V4...honda makes no such thing...I'm not even sure there is such a thing. Straight 4 which is I-4 of Box 4 what the WRX uses... I know no more type of 4-cylinders. The accord is a very good car, just has suspension issues in the earlier years, and a mysterious rust spot always appearing over the rear wheel.

10th Apr 2005, 14:10

Dear, immediately take your car to the dealer and get those leaks fixed -- sit on them till it doesn't leak any more -- those leaks will EAT your car with RUST before long. Reading these comments I think I'll pass on this car.

16th Oct 2005, 18:29

Wait.. I have an 87 Accord LXi that does the exact same thing to the "T". My driveway is at an incline so I back it in so the water goes out the front drain holes because the back ones are hard to reach to unplug. It pulls to the right because of the used tires. The wind noise, trunk leak and transmission because it old. Get yours to the shop because the rust is eating away at the roof.

28th Oct 2008, 19:35

"Full size boat", eh?

Pitiful. Just plain pitiful.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 48 reviews