2004 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 7 of 13

2004 Honda Accord EX V6 coupe 6spd 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired162 miles
Most recent distance20350 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

This car does everything well

Faults:

Scraping noise from sunroof.

Braking vibration at highway speeds.

Premature leather wear on driver's seat.

General Comments:

Car has excellent acceleration, but traction is somewhat limited by front wheel drive layout.

Fuel economy is averaging 25mpg in mostly city driving.

Very comfortable front seats.

Decent handling when equipped with Honda Factory Performance suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2006

2004 Honda Accord EX-L V6 Sedan 3.5 V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

It's my baby forever!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Believe me when I say this. I honestly adore this car to death. My 1996 Cutlass Supreme Sedan was a good car, but this car is top notch in every way. To be honest with you, no wonder why the Honda Accord is a great car. It's people like me who will keep them forever. I got the top of the line in the sedan, and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for the perfect family sedan, or to buy one as their second vehicle. You will love it like I do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2006

2004 Honda Accord EX 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Every car should work as well as this car does

Faults:

Some difficulty with noise when rolling up windows.

General Comments:

The 2004 Accord EX w/leather is an amazing car. Every aspect of the car has worked the way it is supposed to. Although I haven't been happy with the dealer ship, I have fallen in love with the car.

Initially, I was nervous about buying a car with so many features - more that could break - but I have been extremely happy.

After renting many cars with navigation systems, the Honda system is clearly the easiest to use (some info not easy to find, though).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2006

2004 Honda Accord V6 EX 3.0 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance26700 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

This is an excellent car other than the transmission problem which could cost me a bundle soon.

Faults:

Honda recalled this car 6/2004 for a transmission defect (mfr recall # 04V176000). The vehicle was supposed fixed by Honda when brought in for this recall. The transmission was not replaced. Instead, they updated the transmission with a simple revision to the oil cooler. Since that date I have brought it in for transmission problems two times and have been told there is no problem. Ever since I purchased it new there has been a scraping sound in 1st gear, the gear shifter when moved to the D postion does not always release the key, and the transmission is not smooth as other Honda's I have owned. Beware of Honda's poor service on this vehicle. 2004 V6 Honda Accords.

General Comments:

The transmission needs to be repaired or replaced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2005

21st Dec 2005, 11:28

Your review doesn't fit the smiley face.

3rd Feb 2006, 16:14

My 2005 Honda Accord exv6 works perfectly. No recalls, and very spacious. Comfortable, and great shifting (very smooth). Honda actually sends you an email for your Maintenance schedule.

11th Dec 2008, 15:29

Why not keep taking it back and get that Lemon Law on your side.

Does service end when you start paying??

Good luck, you will probably need it.

3rd Oct 2010, 06:33

I had (until yesterday) a 2004 V6 EX purchased new. I put a 137,000 on it, serviced it meticulously, and the trans went. I never used my 7 year 100K warranty, which I was due a refund on in 8 months, but the service adviser told me Honda wouldn't help me out on this. I paid him the diagnostic fee, and traded the car for a new Hyundai Sonata.

The Accord was a fabulous car, but after replacing two transmissions in my 1999 Odyssey (fortunately mostly at Honda's cost) and owning a 2006 Odyssey which has yet to have a problem, I'm starting to think it doesn't pay to drive these cars to high mileage, because you won't get by without a transmission replacement. I really miss the days of Honda manual transmissions and affordable clutch repairs.

2004 Honda Accord Euro Luxury 2.4 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance24500 kilometres
Previous carHolden Acclaim

Summary:

Lovely engine which sings like a bird and handles like a dream!

Faults:

Rattle/squeak in the passenger side pillar.

Nothing else.

General Comments:

After driving a Commodore for 5 years I am in love with the Honda! It's a great driver's car and makes driving enjoyable.

The ride is firm with good feel from the suspension. The steering is direct with a great turning circle.

I upgraded my wheels to 17 inch with better tyres, the standard tyres I found too noisy and intrusive noise entered the cabin. On 17 inch wheels the car handles far better. I think also that the car also has improved with a slight lowering of the front suspension. The gap above the tyre in the wheel arch was too big and made the wheels look even smaller. I think the original setup was mainly for headlight height specifications for Australia.

The interior is sophisticated and functional, but the downside could be the amount of fake woodgrain... I chose the dark interior to take the focus of the woodgrain.

My only gripe is the throttle has a lag which can't be changed, makes the cruise control a little jerky when going down slight hills. It also makes it difficult to control the throttle in first gear... you can't get a smooth ride.

The cost of PULP going up makes filling the tank a little expensive at the moment.

All in all though it's a great looking well built car, looking forward to the turbo model!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2005

6th Oct 2005, 02:18

That's great! I love the car too. However, have you noticed the glove box light (glove box lid when closed) from the backseat when your driving at night? Let me know because I heard from Scotts Honda & Hornsby Honda that this problem with the gap in the glove box is a "design flaw".

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 48 reviews