2004 Honda Accord EX 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

Good car with a bad transmission

Faults:

The transmission at 107000 miles.

The compliance bushings at 80000 miles for lower control arms.

The engine mounts at 90000 miles.

Air intake hose keeps cracking every 2 years.

General Comments:

Perhaps I am expecting too much from a transmission, but my 95 Accord that I bought with 100000 miles 9 years ago was still going strong with the first automatic transmission with 234000 miles. I would still drive it if it wouldn't have been stolen 2 weeks ago.

I only have a problem that Honda knows about; the transmission issues with the V6 model, but when I mentioned to the dealership at 80000 miles since, that I had noticed some hiccups with the tranny, they said that everything is fine and that their recall fixed the lubrication issues of the tranny. Yes, it helped just enough to make it beyond their extended transmission warranty, so that they didn't have to pay for anything.

The cost to have it rebuilt at an independent transmission shop was $3000. Honda would have charged $4500.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th December, 2013

1st Nov 2014, 09:44

Exactly on review.

Great engine, sucky transmission in the EX V6 model.

I expected more from Honda, a lot more. The last Honda we will ever own.

2004 Honda Accord EX-L V6 from North America

Summary:

It just runs and runs and runs, comfortably, and quickly

Faults:

Very very few unexpected things have gone wrong with the car and needed to be replaced. In fact, the only thing in recent memory is a bad throttle position sensor, which cost maybe $400 to replace; labor, parts, and diagnostic included. The reliability has been fantastic.

Other than that, the driver's seat belt tensioner is loose, so the seat belt does not retract quickly. It still retracts and never comes loose while driving, so I haven't gotten it fixed.

On the service side, I took it to the dealer for general maintenance twice. Both times they tried to rip me off, telling me I needed work done that did not need to be done. Two times because I figured I'd give them a second chance; maybe the first tech didn't work there any more. Unfortunately, it wasn't just one tech. I have since found a private mechanic who is great and very trustworthy.

General Comments:

Great car, very reliable. Also pretty fast, given it is a Honda Accord. I would think most people do not think of "quick" when it comes to the "Accord", but this has plenty of power. The 6 speed manual transmission is nice, too.

My last car was a 95 Nissan 300ZX, which I loved, but at 212K, the valve cover gaskets started leaking, which caused the alternator to fail. Given the bill to replace both gaskets and the alternator (and the fact that I needed four new tires at the time), I decided it was time to move on. So, I was looking for something more practical, but not boring like a 4 door, 4 cylinder sedan. I came to the V6, 6 speed Accord, which is pretty rare. When I found one, I got it.

Overall, very happy with the car. My wife and I recently bought a Pilot for her because of my positive experience with my Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2013

2004 Honda Accord LX 2.4 from North America

Summary:

Honda = reliability

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Excellent, reliable & comfortable...

Nothing feels better than owning a car with a reputation for reliability...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2011

23rd Feb 2011, 11:52

Your Honda's only done 43k miles! I would expect it to be fully reliable...I'd be disappointed if my Volvo's don't do at least 240k miles before any problems!

23rd Feb 2011, 12:24

I went into the local Honda car dealership to test drive a 2004 Honda LX model (automatic) in early 2010... beautiful looking car, inside and out... but at the time was driving a 93 Honda Accord DX (5 speed) model... and I could not part with it... it drove better than the 2004 and had better power... I wanted to fall in love with that 2004 because it was so pretty... but couldn't part with a older Accord that I thought drove better...