2004 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 6 of 13

2004 Honda Accord V6 Wide Body 3.0 VTEC 5 speed auto from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 VTEC 5 speed auto Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Quality

Faults:

Only thing wrong is, I had to get the rear brake discs machined. But I tow a heavy trailer, so that could have something to do with it.

Nothing else, perfect.

General Comments:

I drive a lot and this car has not missed a beat. It is a comfortable car with a luxurious type feeling interior.

The performance is good, the car flies up any hills on the freeway or around town. Acceleration is also good and even though it is a smaller engine than a Falcon, it is probably quicker, although does require higher revs towards the 3000rpm mark, as opposed to a barely over 2000rpm for a Falcon.

The gearbox is fine; it switches very smoothly and is always in the right gear. There is no Tiptronic like on the Accord Euro. However the good thing is it uses unleaded fuel instead of premium unleaded like the Euro does.

However, this is not a sports car and is not an enthusiast's car.

Fuel consumption: 12L/100km in the city and 10L/100km on the freeway.

If quality, comfort and good resale value are what you're after, then this is the car for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2007

21st Jun 2010, 03:34

Man, you've got shocking problems. Our 2006 Accord V6 does 6lt -100 on highway trips, over taking and normal driving. That must be thrashing it to get that.

In town it is 9-10lt -100km.

As for not being a sport car, that is wrong. The car has better handling than some sports cars.

21st Jun 2010, 20:39

No I don't see any problems with their gas mileage. If you read the review, the reviewer states that he tows a heavy trailer. This explains his MPG.

30th Jan 2013, 03:44

If you're getting 6.0/100, you clearly don't own the 6 cylinder. It is impossible for it to achieve this figure.

2004 Honda Accord EX 2.4 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Good value for money, reliable and comfortable

Faults:

Battery had to be replaced.

Two tires replaced.

Front and rear bumper covers replaced.

General Comments:

Handles better than you would expect. While not a sports car, it's predictable and taut.

The 4 cylinder engine is very smooth and power is adequate. Manual gearbox and clutch are the best I have ever used. For a car sold in the US, it's very fuel efficient. Regular servicing has been inexpensive.

Comfortable ride and seats with a decent amount of interior space. Not easy to clean with the cloth version.

Great initial quality, but I have doubts about it's ultimate durability. Sheet metal is thin and susceptible to hail damage and buckling. Bumpers are just plastic covers and are seemingly designed to crack and split. Lots of weak plastic bits on the exterior. Front valance, mudguards and oil pan vulnerable to damage.

It's a reliable friend but I don't see it lasting for 200k.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2007

22nd Feb 2007, 18:37

My 1994 Accord has dents, it has plastic bumper covers: give me a car that even competes with the Accord that does not have a plastic bumper! My Accord is going to hit 251,000 miles and its engine is not too far off from yours (2.2--you have a 2.4 liter)

2004 Honda Accord EX 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles

Summary:

The car is efficient, dependable, comfortable, luxurious and responsive

Faults:

There have been a few niggling rattles.

The driver's control for the front passenger's power window works intermittently at best.

General Comments:

The seats are the most comfortable I've ever sat in in a car.

The leather seems to be of a higher quality than that in other cars in its price range.

Ergonomics are brilliant and controls and tactile responses are generally superb.

The car feels so much more expensive from behind the wheel that it actually is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2007

2004 Honda Accord 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 kilometres
Most recent distance38500 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Liberty

Summary:

Good value for money "luxury" sedan

Faults:

Brake shudder during prolonged light application of brakes descending long declines. The shudder becomes progressively worse the longer the brakes are applied - difficult to solve while trying to stick to the speed limit. Obviously the heat build up (due perhaps to insufficient sized rotors) is a factor.

General Comments:

Overall the car has met expectations, albeit the inability of the manufacturer to rectify the brake shudder problem belies Honda's image as a "quality" manufacturer committed to the highest standards.

The fact that replacement rotors & pads have not rectified the problem indicates an engineering fault - Honda have refused to acknowledge this.

Otherwise value for money is good.

The difficulty now is to find a replacement that still offers the same level of luxury, but with better fuel economy (note that this is more to do with the current price of fuel than the V6 being overly thirsty)

Any suggestions?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th July, 2006

5th Aug 2006, 04:47

If I were you I'd look at the Accord Euro as it's built in Japan whereas your current car was built in Thailand. It looks better, is no doubt better built and although it's only a 4 cylinder it's engine output is pretty good. With fuel prices going through the roof, I think people who look down their noses at 4 cylinder cars are mad.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 48 reviews