1992 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 16 of 18

1992 Honda Civic CX 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carPorsche 944

Summary:

Sheer personality and reliability

Faults:

Nothing, just me... I totalled my Civic in November of last year.

My C.V. joints have been bad since I bought the car... Never had them fixed, never gave me a problem.

My distributor went out about four months prior to my accident, bought a rebuilt one installed it myself in 5 minutes.

General Comments:

I never tinkered with the motor, just intake work and exhaust to improve efficiency. Incredibly great gas economy.

With the right tire, wheel, and springs the car handles relentlously.

By far my favorite car I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2002

1992 Honda Civic SiR 1.6 DOHC VTEC from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Cheap way to smoke the road

Faults:

Rumbling plastic noise coming from the rear mirror.

Shock absorbers give a knocking sound, but my mechanic couldn't find any fault in the shocks.

Wheel arches too small for 16 inches tyres. You will need low profile ones to overcome that problem.

General Comments:

Considering the displacement and the cost, DOHC VTEC is a brilliant way to go fast.

A tiny Civic is more spacious than a Skyline GTR!

Fuel saving at low rev.

However, auto transmission and VTEC is a bad combo.

Loose plastic sounds and a "weak" chassis is a common problem in Civic hatchback. My previous Civic had the same noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2002

26th Aug 2002, 08:22

16inches are not standard wheels, Honda Si and SiRs came with 14inch wheels. If this car was bought in Australia it certainly was not sold by Honda Australia as only the Si model was sold here.

24th Sep 2008, 16:29

There is no need to go larger than 15" with this car.

1992 Honda Civic VTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

An understated hot hatch, with a huge fun factor

Faults:

The distributer bearings failed at 66,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very impressed with the cars performance.

One of the best engines I've ever found in a car, the engine will rev so freely.

The cars handling is very good and only fails if you push to the very limit, but even then the car is very predictable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2002

1992 Honda Civic VX 1.5L VTEC-E from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L VTEC-E Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance149500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

The best $2400 car I've ever bought

Faults:

The throttle position sensor went bad at 75,000 miles.

The Ignition Control Module went bad at 140,000 miles.

General Comments:

It runs great and always starts no matter how cold it is.

It gets great gas mileage.

The interior build quality is far superior to any domestic car I've driven.

Including insurance and gas, this car costs me nearly half as much per mile as my Escort did.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2002

7th May 2002, 12:02

My sensor in my 1989 Civic also went bad at 75,000 although it continues to operate at 80,000. Parts needed to repair it will run about $1,000 since Honda does not sell the part I need separately. Otherwise it has been a good car.

13th Nov 2002, 18:41

My VX just turned over 200,000 miles. I have had it since new, and still have the original clutch. Nothing bigger than a distributor has gone out. Gas mileage is 42-52 mpg. This car still looks and runs like new. It was, and is, the highest gas mileage 4 cylinder car in the world, and is now very rare.

8th May 2003, 23:19

I've had my '92 VX on the road since new and have 170,000 Km - about 106,000 miles, on the beast up here in Toronto (same exact specs, same user manual, even, as in States) and she's only given me two problems - distributor cap cracked, and, just recently, the rad went. Awesome mileage makes it impossible for me to give her up. Bad rust on both lower back wheel wells... I think I'm gonna fix that and keep her running for another 100,000 miles!

29th Jul 2004, 06:25

Hi there,

I have a 1992 civic vx. I have gotten 55mpg twice under controlled conditions. Now can only get 47 under controlled conditions (got that 4 times in the past 2 months.) Can anyone give me some tips? I replaced the plugs and air filter and timing belt. The intake valves were all too tight so I loosened them a bit to get them in spec. (Is there a typo in Honda's intake spec? It says 0.20 intake.) (All the exhaust valves had were in spec, so that's why I suspect a problem with Honda's spec).

Thanks Donald email me at ceilidtoes@yahoo.ca.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 63 reviews