1992 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 17 of 18

1992 Honda Civic DX from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 kilometres
Most recent distance139000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Tercel

Faults:

The car has now reached 139,000 km. I have been told that I need a new or rebuilt engine, a new distributor, spark plugs, timing belt, along with the general tune-up parts and possibly a new computer.

General Comments:

I am disappointed with my Honda and thought Honda was a brand that lasted a long time without major repairs such as a new engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th June, 2001

14th Dec 2001, 17:50

I have an 89' DX Hatchback, it's already at 120,000 miles, and the repairs I've done are no other but the normal ones that a car from that year would need.

It's fast (at least, mine is), and a reliable, good car indeed.

12th May 2002, 13:16

A car is only as good as the care put into it allows. If you neglect to maintain you car, then you will obviously have more problems with your car. Personally, I think Honda is one of the most reliable makes on the market.

1992 Honda Civic DX 1.5 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90300 miles
Most recent distance91400 miles
Previous carMazda B2600

Summary:

The perfect car for anyone who wants inexpensive and reliable transportation

Faults:

So far the car has run perfect.

The timing belt needs to be changed.

Otherwise no problems.

General Comments:

The design of the Civic still looks good almost ten years later.

When the A/C is on, the engine is starved for power, but otherwise is very zippy. Everyone knows Honda for their great efficient small cars. The 1992 Civic is a great example of what a Honda should be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

1992 Honda Civic VTi (1992 on) 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50500 miles
Most recent distance57500 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

A fantastic, underrated performance car that will put a smile on your face

Faults:

The brakes are generally very good (anti-lock), but are affected by fade after high speed stops.

There is a consistent rattle from the near-side front which my dealer cannot find! Sounds like plastic.

The alloy wheels need to be resprayed.

General Comments:

The car is an excellent all-rounder, helped immensely by its race-track inspired engine which revs happily beyond its 8000rpm redline when asked, up to an 8500rpm limiter.

The handling isn't quite as good as I had hoped, but maybe that's because after 7000 miles I am used to it.

I love the sporty way the sun roof opens over the car, and the metallic blue paint still gains admiring glances after 8 years on the road.

I'm happy with the fact that it has a full Honda service history, not so happy that the last two have cost me over £300 and that they are only 6,000 miles apart.

I did put a K&N filter on it a couple of months ago, it sounded fantastic but was slightly embarrassing. School teachers are not supposed to be boy-racers! I took it off.

Does anyone know of a good chip for it, all I want now is more performance!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2001

8th Dec 2002, 18:48

A simple way of improving the handling of a Civic (EF, EG and EK models) is to replace the main rear trailing arm bushes with urethane or nylon ones. Makes a big difference. After 100000k's (60-odd thousand miles) the old bushes will probably be quite worn and need replacing anyway.

5th Jul 2006, 17:04

I have a 1992 Honda Civic VTi that is running 175 bhp. All I have on mine is an air filter and a Civic Type R induction kit. Also, mine has had the cylinder head tuned a little, it's been lowered 35mm all round, and has a strut brace with 15 inch oz racing alloys.

For just over 1500 quid, I have got car which will embarress most sports cars of today, and leave them standing.

1992 Honda Civic DX (hatchback) 1.5L Gas 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5L Gas 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

A reliable car for single person on a budget

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong in the 73,000 miles I've had it. It looks almost new.

General Comments:

Excellent gas mileage, about 32 mpg city, 45 mpg highway with a four-speed automatic.

It is teeny, causing a general feeling of vulnerability when Explorers drive by.

The seats are comfortable but low, so that grandma has a hard time getting in.

The hatchback cargo area is very small. Two suitcases fill it up. It's best for a single person or family without kids.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2001

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 63 reviews