1994 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 20 of 22

1994 Honda Civic VTi 1.6 16v DOHC VTEC petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v DOHC VTEC petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired54592 miles
Most recent distance60159 miles

Summary:

A fast and fun car with a great engine sound-track

Faults:

Nothing.

Car came with full service history from a Honda dealer, which is almost mandatory for an engine like this.

General Comments:

Come on... 60mph in just over 7 seconds, a ton in around 20, and an engine that revs to 8000rpm! What else do you want?

I'm fed up with hearing "there's not much torque!" When will people understand what DOHC VTEC is all about. Power & revs! This monster thrives on revs, if you can't bear to scream a car round to atleast 6000rpm look elsewhere! But revving it that hard is no chore and you'll never tire of the sound that fabulous engine makes.

Handling is good too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2001

16th Oct 2001, 15:19

Agree totally. Real world performance with 36mpg+ economy and legendary Honda reliability adds up to a very practical hot hatch.

26th Oct 2001, 17:40

I am now a complete Honda VTEC convert. Fantastic engine sound. A car that comes alive when you want it to, and delivers 35 mpg most of the time!

Looking forward to the legendary Honda reliability and dealer support.

7th Mar 2009, 13:24

My 2.0 1992 Celica 182 is too thirsty, so I have been researching other cars and am glad that I have discovered the VTEC Civic Vti. I can't wait to buy one, everybody rates them very highly and I'm looking forward to the sound after 5200 rpm! :) I think I'll be wearing some tight underpants on the test drive! :)

1994 Honda Civic VTi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

Best Civic shape of all!

Faults:

No faults to report as yet!

General Comments:

The handling is very predictable, although perhaps not as sharp as my previous vehicle (Citroen ZX 16V).

Acceleration is quick up to 5800rpm, then the valve timing changes and it becomes very rapid.

Dash is plain but functional, and the seats are well shaped (although my 6'3", 20 stone mate is too big for them).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2001

1994 Honda Civic DX 1.4 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Liter Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles

Summary:

A bit over-rated car that doesn't meet expectations

Faults:

Valves got stuck in the open position. Had to get a valve job done at 135K - $1000.00.

Front axle boot tore at 120,000.

Timing belt needed adjusting at 130,000 - skipped a tooth (timing belt had been changed at 80K miles).

General Comments:

Solid little car as most Honda's are. Overall, the performance and maintenance costs were within reason.

The car performed well in the front end collision that ended its life. Both air bags came out, and the seat belt held solid. Went from 50mph to 0mph in 5 feet. Walked away with minor bruising only.

Disappointed that I had to get a valve job done at 135K. I thought it would run to 200K or more (being a Honda) before needing something like that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2001

17th Nov 2006, 15:33

My '94 Civic DX is at 158K and I have had no problem with the valves, however, I have had to change the ignition module twice. + new tie rods. and brake calipers! Love the little car though.

16th Apr 2008, 04:17

I had a 94' Honda Civic DX hatchback. It was not only an AWESOME save at the gas pump but it was a serious racer... GOD I MISS IT! Unfortunately I had to sell it after I had an accident because a lady had no clue how to drive on ice.

The Honda had Chevy lovers rethinking is was a "stupid little Japanese car." This car handles as if it already knows what you're going to do and was so cool that it had a hatchback~~~~I fit a bookshelf it that thing... lol.

1994 Honda Civic EX VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission VTEC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carSubaru Loyale

Summary:

VTEC engine - what else can I say?

Faults:

Exhaust line replaced at approximately 85,000 miles.

Front right axle replaced at approximately 93,000 miles.

General Comments:

Here are the Pros:

This car is FAST! The VTEC engine is unbelievable. With only 125 hp, the Civic EX really pins you to your seat at 3000-5000 RPM.

This car is totally upgradable! There are so many after-market products out there for the '94 Civic EX! Just about anyone can trick-out this supposed "economy" car!

This car is TOUGH! I hit a late-80's model Chevy Cavalier with the Civic HEAD-ON, resulting in the Cavalier's front bumper being torn completely off. However, the Civic sustained only minimal damage. I replaced the front bumper molding and the hood just because the Cavalier-owner's insurance paid for it. The actual damage to the Civic consisted merely of a 4 inch crack in the bumper molding and a tiny dent (about the size of a silver-dollar) right below the Honda logo on the hood. This surprised me since the other car was so torn up. The '94 Civic is one tough car!

Both driver AND passenger airbags in a '94 "economy" car seem to be unheard of. However, the '94 Civic comes with both.

This is one sporty looking car! I love the sun roof. Even though it is 7 years old, it looks like a contemporary design - timeless!

Great fuel economy! Even though the EX is not the most fuel-efficient Civic model, it still gets around 30 miles/gallon. And that's even when I rev the engine a lot.

Now, the Cons:

The seats seem comfortable at first, but driving for two hours or more results in a totally numb posterior and an aching back.

The factory speakers are OK, but the interior moldings are kind of loose and rattle with the bass bumping.

Not much room in the back seat for passengers or cargo. I guess that this would be expected since the EX is a "Sport Coupe".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2001

13th Mar 2003, 22:24

Yeah I used to have a 94 Civic EX... Then I let my friend drive my car and he hit the back of a stopped BMW going at like 40-45mph the frame was to messed I couldn't get it fixed... But now I'm going to get a 99 Civic EX with about 60k miles less than the Civic I had and I'm buying it for a lot cheaper HAHAHAHA oh yes. Yeah and the car was pretty fast and light, with only a few mods I could feel a performance increase... I'm going to miss that car :* (

4th Oct 2003, 17:54

I love my 2 door Civic EX Coupe. It is a "sweet ride".

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 78 reviews