1995 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 13 of 15

1995 Honda Civic DX 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance205000 kilometres
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Overrated and Under Performing

Faults:

Replaced a head gasket.

Automatic transmission rebuilt.

Replaced 2 wheel bearings.

The interior dash lights occasionally flicker when the car hits bumps.

Most features on this model were cheap for example it didn't come with a trunk light and the radio buttons don't light up at night.

Acceleration is horrible.

General Comments:

Aside from the gas savings this car has been very expensive to maintain. In fact this car has cost me more than any domestic I or my family has ever owned.

I will never buy Honda again not just because of the poor product, but because of my poor dealership experience.

Anyone who gave these cars a high performance mark probably never owned another car before. I found it almost anemic and a nightmare when trying to gather enough speed to enter a busy freeway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th March, 2003

12th May 2003, 02:45

That is because you bought a DX model, get the EX and you will know what people mean when they say performance, or EVEN better try a SI how's entering the freeway now LOL!!!

16th May 2003, 08:14

For the first commenter, performance is Mustang, Camaro etc. you should be familiar with their tail lights by now. :) Try one of these and you'll know what performance is! LOL.

26th Jun 2003, 04:26

I am also very satisfied with my Honda 1995 EX. It has with me for last 3 years and now 103000 KM done. The only problem I faced for last 5 month with my Honda is it's main pulley, which connected, with Crankshaft and it has controlling AC, power generator and power belts. It's started first from noise coming from pulley, and then suddenly on my way to mechanic it broke up. Then I spent $150 on buying new pulley, belt and repaired engine shaft. Then just on last weekend it happen again, but this time it's not worst like before, it only Pulley Cartar, so It cost me $ 50. Now I am very much concern with this, what mechanics told me that this is manufacturing fault in HONDA civic EX. Now the current status is that I am confused, because now this car seems to me unreliable. But the problem is that I love this car very much and do not want to sell. It's beautiful and perfect in driving and in fuel consumption. Ashar Khan (ashar_khan_pk@yahoo.com)

16th Sep 2006, 22:00

You are crazy!! I owned a 95 Civic ex for 6 years and it was the best car I had ever owned, Now I own a 2006 Civic and it is the best car I have ever owned!! I love Civics!!!

15th Nov 2006, 20:41

Dude the Honda civic isn't meant to be a performance car, it's a cheap economical car.

1995 Honda Civic DX 1.5 Liter Fuel Injected from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Liter Fuel Injected Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

An awesome car that is a bastion of reliability

Faults:

At 100,000 miles the ignition module died. I replaced it myself for $270.00 bought at Auto-Zone with Lifetime warranty.

The battery has been replaced.

Nothing bad has gone wrong.

After 8 years the "paint" has chipped off the factory plastic hubcaps.

The drink holder broke.

The tint peeled off the back glass.

The CV Boot tore after 100K, but this is not unusual for any car. Rubber wears out.

Brake pads were replaced at 150,000 miles.

The car has 156,000 miles and has the original clutch!

It has had to be aligned several times. Pot holes seem to affect it a lot being it has small tires and is low to the ground.

General Comments:

This car is an excellent vehicle. It never lets me down. It is super reliable. It is predictable. I would recommend this car to anyone. The handling is precise. It is fairly quiet in the cabin. I only wish we had bought the 4 door as we now have 2 kids.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2003

10th May 2004, 21:59

We have 176,000 miles on it now. No problems since I last posted at 156,000.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 56 reviews