1995 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 15 of 15

1995 Honda Civic CX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Needs to be driven off a cliff and put out of its misery!!!

Faults:

3, yes 3 head gaskets.

5 or 6 CV joints, I've lost count.

Water pump.

Fuel pump.

Brake rotors ALWAYS warp.

Transmission leak.

Engine refuses to idle correctly.

General Comments:

Ugly and gutless. Get triple A if you buy a Civic, you will need it. By far, the worst performing car I've ever owned or seen. Fix one thing, and behold more and more engine problems.

Sheet metal is too thin, hail damage numerous times.

Engine bogs down when accelerating, like a rubber band is holding the car back. Or is it from mosquitos? Beats me.

All in all, Honda Quality is way overrated, and I will NEVER make this mistake again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2001

18th Jan 2002, 09:45

I have had a '95 Civic CX for 7 years and it has 246,000 miles on it and has had barely any repair work. It still runs great. The ignorant response by the postie must mean that he forgot to actually every get it fixed up.

18th Jul 2005, 12:01

I think you're the one that is ignorant in this case. I have a Honda Civic Coupe EX and have ALWAYS tuned it on time with oil changes every 3k religiously. However, I have come across the same problem, it just doesn't have the acceleration power needed and bogs down when trying to accelerate.

12th Jan 2006, 15:44

Acceleration is horrid in these cars, I test drove a few recently while looking for an economy car. With that in mind, acceleration is horrid for this economy car. My mother drives a 97 Altima, and with a bad transmission it will out accelerate a Civic. I do hear that 5sp Civics are quicker, and with good reason. In all fairness though, you can't expect performance if you are buying a Civic, you buy the car for economy and that is that. You want acceleration, get a Trans Am.

18th Sep 2006, 13:14

You obviously do not take care of your vehicles.

30th Dec 2006, 21:31

As per my G-Tech Pro my 95 Civic Si will do 0-60 in 8.8 seconds. Not too bad for what it is, a Civic.

27th Jul 2007, 22:38

Tuning up a car requires, a cap, plugs, and wires...

13th Aug 2007, 13:40

It doesn't help that it's a CX... should have sprung a little more to get a vtec engine; guarantee you would have had less problems...

1995 Honda Civic LX 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance79700 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

With these crazy gasoline prices, buy a Civic!

Faults:

Just routine maintenance like brakes, and oil changes.

I drive about 15,000 miles per year and my only qualm is that on long drives it seems cramped. I realize however, that it is a compact car.

General Comments:

It is great around town, it cuts right through traffic and pulls hard at any engine RPM.

My Civic is also delightful on the open road when it is just me, and miles of pavement.

I have upgraded the air intake, exhaust system, spark plugs, and wires. The power is much improved!

I also run Mobil 1 oil, and change it out every 3000 - 3500 miles, along with a new oil filter with every change.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

1995 Honda Civic EX from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

Not bad for a cheap little car

General Comments:

I have killed many batteries because there is no audible warning to prevent me from leaving my lights on. Is something broken or does this car not have a warning signal for leaving the lights on?

Radio reception is poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2001

14th Feb 2009, 18:01

I have a 1995 Civic EX coupe and there is no warning for lights for mine, unless of course mine is also broken!

1995 Honda Civic VTi Hatchback 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres

Faults:

Nothing at all yet.

General Comments:

It's a good fast car with lovely grunt when revved hard, I would appreciate it if someone could comment on this review and let me know its 0 to 60 time and top speed. I have not had an opportunity to time it myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

12th Mar 2001, 13:53

Sounds like you got a Japanese import Vti or it would have been a 1.6l engine.

0-60 in just over 8 seconds it'll do 120+. If it is the import then I've found it very hard to get independent performance figures for this.

The UK and Ireland 1.6 Dohc VTEC will do 0-60 7.7sec and 130 mph flat out.

1995 Honda Civic VTi 1.6 petrol DOHC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Pulse raising, smile inducing racer

Faults:

Passenger side door lock system repaired. Still inconsistently locks door.

Cassette/radio reception is poor. Needs a multiplay CD system!

General Comments:

Fantastic performance, best experienced on B roads, although brakes do not instill confidence.

Poorly supportive front seats, and unattractive dash, lacking in central console.

The exhaust noise says it all.

Ours is a pearlescent black and is called Linford!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2000

1995 Honda Civic LSi Coupe 1.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A good car, a little on the large side for a coupe, could be a little bit more comfortable (seats) and better quality interior (rear seats).

Mechanically sound.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 1998

1995 Honda Civic DX Special Edition 2dr 1.5 4cyl 16 valve from North America

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.5 4cyl 16 valve
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10

Faults:

Absolutely none, never gone back to the dealer.

General Comments:

I love my Civic. A few months ago I replaced my wheels and put 15 inch Antera wheels with 195-50-VR15 tires. The car looks great, I get a lot of thumbs up. I installed a performance intake, exhaust, platinum plugs, and wires, and use Mobil 1 synthetic. Buy Honda!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 1998

1995 Honda Civic LX 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.8
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

The only major drawback with my Honda Civic LX is that I had to replace all four brake pads or shoes. My car has over 43,000 miles and I drive it over 108 mph. I live in Germany so having goods brakes is a must.

General Comments:

My car has been performing very well for me. No major investments except new tires and brake shoes/pads. The car handles well at speeds up to 112 mph. One thing I have noticed is that it takes awhile for the car to reach 65 mph. It is an automatic.

Every year the salesman has always sent me a card saying thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 56 reviews