1997 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 7 of 17

1997 Honda Civic LX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

It'll get you from A to B, nothing special

Faults:

Power window on the driver side broke. $400 to fix.

Replaced two front axles at 100,000 miles. $400 to fix.

I think the rear strut needs to be replaced as well- the ride gets harsh at 70+mph, and it's coming from the rear.

Someone stole the radio and I put in an aftermarket one and the keyless doesn't work anymore.

Check engine light came on, oxygen sensor replaced at $400.

General Comments:

I bought this car to replace the Trooper that was in an accident. I paid $5000 for it with 90k miles. When I drove it everything was fine, but after a couple of months, there was some problems which I guess is routine at this age of the car like timing belt, tires, but also the other stuff I've described above. So in about one year I've driven I had to spend $2000 on these things which has put a damper on me liking this car. And I still have to fix the rear suspension.

My previous car, Isuzu Trooper, which I put 185,000 miles, if I add up all the repair costs would have been less than 2000.

The road noise is loud. the wind knocks this car around. And with the automatic, the car feels sluggish on the road and I actually use the D2 and D3 on this car.

I like the gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th January, 2006

1997 Honda Civic EX 2dr 1.6 VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 VTEC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance90307 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Affordability and performance all in one!

Faults:

There have been a few minor problems with the car. The battery needs to be replaced, the drivers front headlight lens has water in it which makes it tacky and the front brake rotors have started to warp.

General Comments:

So far this car has been an absolute blast to drive! It gets 30mpg in mixed driving and 35-38 in highway which is great. It also has the VTEC engine that adds a little bit of zip to it. The 5 speed transmission is very smooth and responsive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2006

1997 Honda Civic EX 1.6 VTEC from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 VTEC Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good car but a little disapointed in some of the repairs.

Faults:

Both passenger and driver power windows broke. One was under warranty, the other was not. One was at about 40,000 miles the other at about 65,000 miles.

My transmission started making a bad noise in 2nd gear at 80,000 miles.

My clutch started to make a noise at 88,000 miles. Had both problems fixed for about 1,200 dollars.

General Comments:

The car handles o.k. It's quick enough. Road noise is pretty loud, but I won't fall asleep, so I do not mind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2005

1997 Honda Civic 1.4i 1.4i SOHC 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4i SOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Decent car

Faults:

Original paintwork is easily scratched.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable car.

Always runs smoothly.

Has good standard features such as electric windows, electric sunroof and electric mirrors.

Though the car rolls quiet a lot at fast bends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2005

1997 Honda Civic LXI 1.6 SOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC Manual
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance93000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Sigma

Summary:

Reliable economical, fun and fast car

Faults:

Central locking motor packed up.

Central locking manual switches broke twice.

General Comments:

Excellent fun, and economical car to drive (3 door Hatch).

Brilliant suspension (double wishbones) front and rear for cornering and 85kw of power from a non V-tec 1600cc which really gets up and goes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2004

1997 Honda Civic 1.5LSI 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9-5

Summary:

Disappointing - the new Civic I believe to be a much better car. Rover did nothing for Honda

Faults:

Wheel bearing (rear)

Exhaust

Rear suspension Bushes

Battery

Front electric windows slow to work.

General Comments:

The car is noisy above 3000 rpm, particularly when revved hard.

The engine needs to be worked hard as the engine has little low down torque.

Fuel consumption is reasonable

I recently had an accident, where the car suddenly lost grip on a dual carriageway and oversteered me into the crash barrier. I have not been able to ascertain the cause as I have never experienced such a thing on a front wheel drive car in 30 years of driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th November, 2004

16th May 2008, 03:20

I have been driving my '97 1.5 Civic now for only a couple of months. I love Civic and I do love my car, but already I have problems.

My front windows will go down but won't go back up! The central locking had to be disconnected because all of the power went to one door, and the passenger lock will not open from the inside of the car; I have to unlock it and lock it with the key, which is a wreck-head.

It's a lovely car to look at, but these problems are really getting me down. And now I just found the clutch is on its way out. Is it true that the Civic usually has problems with the windows?

1st Mar 2010, 01:48

The problem with the windows seems to reflect the connections Honda had with Rover at this time. I have owned three Rovers from 95-98, and all three had problems with the windows. This was due to the rollers in the window mechanism being made of a perishable materiel, therefore after a while the runners slip off the track, causing the window to jam. You can have the window mechanisms replaced, but it's not such a difficult job if you are mechanically minded.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 70 reviews