1999 Honda Civic EX 2.? from North America


A great little car!


Drive light indicator in Dash.

General Comments:

Great economical car.

Pretty comfortable for a small car.

Pretty quick considering it's a 4 banger automatic.

Shifts a bit hard from 1st to 2nd at around 20mph, but I assume that is a feature ;-) since it's been that way from day one.

Been to Canada 3 times from Georgia and it performed fantastically.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2002

1st Feb 2005, 22:54

I have an automatic also, and feel the same hard shift going into 2nd. It's been that way since I bought the car last March. I runs great though!

1999 Honda Civic Si 1.6 VTEC from North America


An incredible performance bargain with legendary Honda reliability


Absolutely nothing has gone wrong. Perfect reliability.

General Comments:

Let's get one thing straight. I'm an 18 year old from Arizona who couldn't care less about tricking out my car, like those street racing so-called rice rockets with the ridiculously ugly body kits and fart-pipe mufflers. They're the ones giving teen auto enthusiasts a bad rap. I'm interested in building a high performance road car, and I think the 1999 Honda Civic Si is an excellent start.

In terms of performance, I couldn't be happier for the money I paid. This 1.6L VTEC engine has a split personality. When driven like a normal car, it behaves like a normal car. However, once you put it in full throttle above 5600 RPM, it becomes a beast. The VTEC kicks in at that point, creating a sound reminiscent of a Formula 1 car, and carries it all the way to the red line at 8000 RPM. That's right, 8000. When stock, this car churns out times like 0-60 in 7 seconds, and the 1/4 mile in slightly less than 16 seconds. The Si does all of this while getting 26 MPG city and 31 MPG highway. It idles so quietly, sometimes I forget its on!

The fit and finish of the Si is excellent. It has gone 64000 plus miles with almost no wear whatsoever, thanks in part to that famous Honda reliability. I'll have this car for many years to come. The exterior paint is an incredible blue, and the interior sports firm, supportive seats, as well as a great 6 speaker CD system.

I have only one minor complaint about this car. It really, really needs a 6 speed transmission (not that there's anything wrong with the 5 speed, its nice and smooth).

What a great car. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a high performance machine with a limited budget. Best bang-to-buck factor in the industry, and I've test driven a lot of cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2002

22nd Feb 2003, 04:14

If you wanted a "cheap reliable performance car", why didn't you just get a 90-94 Turbo DSM? I have a 90 Laser RS-T, and I could get into the 10 second 1/4 mile bracket before I spent $10,000, including the price of the car. How about you? You can probably get 3/4's of your car paid for... doesn't seem like TOO much "cheap" performance to me.

If you would like, you should check out www.dsmtuners.com to see what I am talking about, since most (not all) Honda owners have no idea what a DSM is. Stock, a turbo DSM will go 0-60mph in 6.4 or 6.7 seconds, depending on the year and whether it's AWD or not. which is faster than 99% of stock Honda/Acura's. The only one that MIGHT compete is a new Prelude VTEC... this is not counting the S2000 or the NSX, since those are undoubtedly in a COMPLETELY different bracket.

This is just my 2 cents... 3 cents Canadian! ;)

1999 Honda Civic Si honda from North America


Nice beginner's car, not too powerful



General Comments:

Although reliable, the engine leaves me with a lot to be desired, not much torque and 160 horses, it's almost nothing compared to my 93 built mr2 turbo. but it would be good for anyone looking for a beater. one other reason I sold the Civic, is because I grew tired of seeing other cars like it on every corner. definitely worth buying if you want to fit in with the rest of the crowd, if not buy a Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2002

4th Aug 2004, 09:36

I would like to bring to your attention that the Acura Rsx type-s provides 100hp per litre as well (200hp in total) and has much more torque than the Si (or SIR in Canada)

I have no problem with the civic si, but please people... stop thinking it s a race car it s a Honda Civic (America`s family car), you WILL get your ass whooped by a lot of cars, and I won t hesitate to embarrass you with my RSX-s it s very easy.

4th Oct 2007, 01:35

I've been debating getting a Focus or a Civic. We already have a Focus in the family and it's proven to be very reliable, but I like Honda hatchbacks; however I'm not willing to pay considerably more for a Civic because of its reputation, because I don't believe it. Honda is not Mercedes (old Mercedes when they used to over-engineer).

And to the fella who went on and on about the B16 engine: stock four-cylinder engines do not yield 75% power increase from a supercharger, this includes the "mighty" b16. I encourage your enthusiasm, but be realistic; 30-35% is the average power increase from the addition of a supercharger.

9th Nov 2011, 17:29

Engine torque doesn't mean anything when it comes to racing. It is good for being able to accelerate briskly without downshifting. When it comes to racing, horsepower is king. I can get wheel torque by using a lower gear in the transmission, that is why we have transmissions; to multiply torque. That is why a Civic Si with 111 foot pounds of torque can accelerate with a V6 Mustang with 220 foot pounds of torque. The Mustang has twice the torque and only a couple hundred pounds more weight. If engine torque were the only factor that mattered, the Mustang would leave the Civic like it was sitting still.