2002 Honda Civic Si 2.2 from North America


A nice little tool


Nothing.... Now, how great is that?

General Comments:

Bought this car as I have had experiences with Honda in the past (All very positive) Car is screwed together well and the looks are beginning to grow on me after 1 year of ownership. I like the fact that it has some poke and is very smooth in the engine compartment. Kind of alarming when looking at the tach though at 80 mph as its spinning at 4000 revs, something that took some getting used to. The steering is sweet as is the transmission and brakes. The ride is a little harsh and can be kind of jarring when going over potholes and uneven road surfaces. The radio is weak with no mid range and the cheapest thing inside the vehicle. The wheels are too small and its easy to make the tires chirp easily when cornering a little enthusiastically, but all good fun. Plenty of good road feedback. Steering is nicely weighted at speeds and feels secure, and just so easy to park in the city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2004

20th Mar 2004, 09:49

2.2L at 4,000 RPM at 80 MPH even my 1.6L 16V Renault Scenic doesn't rev that much at 80 MPH it revs at 3,850 RPM at 80 mph.

21st Mar 2004, 15:54

Surely you can't compare the two?

I imagine the gearing will have been set to match the power delivery attributes of the engine. As Hondas are nearly always high-revving, this would make sense, no? Otherwise you'd be having to drop it into 4th to safely overtake!

5th Jul 2005, 19:11

The SI comes with a 2.0 not a 2.2 and no you cannot compare the two because yes honda tends to produce high revving engines. Do not worry about 4k @ 80 mph. That's completely normal.

6th Jan 2007, 14:04

It's a 1.6 liter. Not 2.2, not 2.0. If you don't know, that's fine, but don't correct someone and be completely off yourself. The only civics to ever come from the factory with a 2 liter engine are the k20 SI's from 2006+.

30th Apr 2007, 00:22

The 2002- 2005 Si does come with a 2 liter engine do your research please. I recently did a huge research project and I am positive of this. The 99 and 00 come with a 1.6 with the b series engine while the 02 to 05 come with the 2. k series and it has the same 160 horses just with 400 more cc's and 23 more foot pounds of torque. Get it right if your going correct someone.

24th Apr 2009, 01:31

I bought a 02 Si and found out it comes in a 1.7 as well as 2.0. I got the 1.7. I wish I knew how the two liter drove. My 2.0 Prelude was fast.

2002 Honda Civic EX 2.4 from North America


A Civic is worth every penny!


I have not had any problems with my Civic.

General Comments:

I love my Civic - It makes a great show car after adding a few extras. All in all it's the best car I have ever had!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2004

29th Jul 2005, 00:33

I agree with all of that. especially if a vertical door kit is installed on those long doors.

2002 Honda Civic EX 1.7 from North America


I bought my first and last Honda


The seat track has been replaced 4 times. The steering rack and front struts have been replaced. These took a lawyer and 18 months in order for Honda to agree to repair. The floor mats fell apart. The cloth on all 4 interior door panels fell off. The driver's window locks up. The trunk lock broke. The computer needed reprogramming. Need I continue?

General Comments:

Fit and finish are very good, but the quality of materials, construction and after purchase repairs are unaceptable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2004

24th Feb 2004, 13:50

This car is UNCOMFORTABLE!! Those of you with bad backs note it! The ride is so so so bumpy it hurts everywhere. I never had a bad back and I got one. Engineering mistake?

14th Mar 2004, 12:27

What are you talking about back problems. If you have back problems it is only because it is related to your family genes. I have had my civic for about a year now and my back feel great. My civic is incredibly comfortable and has a great feel to the road. You don't want a car where you can't even feel the road. If you can't feel it how are you supposed to ENJOY IT!!.