2002 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 17 of 24

2002 Honda Civic Vision 3dr 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A great First car

Faults:

Nothing much has gone wrong. I drive 70miles a day, after 14000 till this day, still not a problem. The door panel sometimes rattles a little, but that might be due to my big fat subs ;)

General Comments:

Honda needs to be driven like it is designed for. If you don't like to work through the revs, then Honda is not for you. Its not just "put your foot down" kind of car. Whereas I love it, I love changing to the right gears for the right performance. It will definitely make you a better driver.

It's a very fun car to drive. You can relax and cruise at low revs. Or you can have a bit more excitement listening to the engine roar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

23rd Apr 2010, 11:55

I have a 02 model with 97000 miles. When I bought it, it had 88000. Not much has gone wrong with it other than needing 2 new engine mounts. Performance is very good for a 1.4 litre engine - even with heavy 17" rims on. Very good, reliable and economical car. Would recommend it to anyone.

2002 Honda Civic Si 2.0 i-vtec from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 i-vtec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance1190 miles
Previous carAudi 90

Summary:

Unassuming speed from a little bug!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This car is amazingly quick and agile. It accelerates rapidly and doesn't lean in the turns. The seats are great and support your up and lower body.

The stock stereo is great. Its loud and has cool tweeters on the doors.

I got a great deal on it because it was a leftover. There lots of them left on dealers lots, and combined with low financing it's a sweet deal.

This car is great around town and winding roads. It is not bad on the highway, but it does not have the comfort of a larger car.

It is a great car for one or two people.

I also have to say, this site it awesome! I wasn't sure about buying this car, but after reading what others said about it, my decision became easier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2003

2002 Honda Civic LX 1.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired45 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Would be a great performance vehicle if it would always start

Faults:

The car has been taken in three times for not starting from cold and warm starts. It is going in for the fourth time for non-starting tomorrow (3/10/2003).

General Comments:

This problem seems to be ignition/ electrical in nature and others in Madison, WI have similar experiences.

The car randomly refuses to start. It is not a gas or starter problem. It has to do with the key recognition and start switch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th March, 2003

17th Jun 2003, 00:44

I also recently bought a brand new 2002 civic LX and been having the same problems. Actually right now I have it sitting out in the street not moving cause it won't start. Most of the time I have to start the car twice to get it going. Also sometimes the key lock won't lock the door or unlock the doors. Also, the gas use is low, I don't seem to be getting as much mileage as I should be with a civic. More importantly, the service I've been getting from Honda has been little to none. They keep putting blame on the buyer instead of finding and fixing the problem.

2002 Honda Civic Hybrid IMA from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission IMA Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance11500 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Take away the squeaks and rattles and you've got a perfect 10

Faults:

Too many squeaks and rattles, not what you usually get from Honda.

General Comments:

This car has a lot going for it, particularly now with gas prices so high. But beware, you probably won't be able to achieve the EPA estimated readings. Getting the most mileage from this car is a learned technique. After you get the hang of it, you should be able to keep your mileage in the mid-40's. Occasionally, I've managed to get 50 mph to a tankful.

This car does track straight and true and steering is perfect. Air and heat work well. Things that you think might suffer in a half-electric car - don't. You tend to forget that it is a hybrid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2003

2nd Mar 2003, 23:00

Thank you for submitting the review. These squeaks and rattles that you talk about, do you know the cause? Could they affect reliability in the long term? My Geo Metro makes a lot of noise, but it's very reliable. I'd like another efficient car to replace my Geo when I wear it out, and right now the manual Hybrid looks like the best option. Thanks.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 78 reviews