2002 Honda Civic Type-S 2.0 from UK and Ireland


A wolf in sheep's clothing!



General Comments:

This engine just loves to be revved! It's like a puppy on a leash, wanting to be let free.

Very comfortable ride, much better than my Mondeo Zetec (although the Ford did have lower profile tyres). There is so much cabin room, and lots of cubby holes for bits and pieces.

The User Manual is huge! The wallet with other paperwork does not fit into the glovebox.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

2002 Honda Civic Type R 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


A high performance bargain


Driver side speaker rattles somewhere near the door.

SRS airbag light came on once.

Some rattle from the suspension (could be my fault)

General Comments:

An excellent car.

Excellent handling on bigger roads - motorway performance is stunning. It's put much bigger and powerful cars to shame (BMW 330ci, Scoobies, Cossies).

You might eventually get tired with having to rev it to 7,000 eventually though!

Not brilliant in the wet/cold and on smaller twistier roads.

Drives easily - even my wife finds it easy to drive - and she doesn't like to drive.

Very practical - wheels not too big nice shape - not too boy racer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2003

7th Mar 2004, 16:48

No doubt it is a fast car, but I don`t believe that its put Scoobys and Cossies to shame, come on, its nowhere near these two in the performance stakes. All the same it's a very fine car.

27th May 2004, 05:02

Scoobies would leave a CTR easily their performance is on another echelon. I've got a 255bhp (slightly modified) S3 and it can just keep up with them after 100mph then at 125mph closes the gap and past. I looked at the CTR when buying the S3 but the Honda dealer wouldn't let me test drive it being only 21 so I bought the S3 instead albeit second hand. The CTR is a wonderful car and extremely well priced, but in my opinion Honda do need to include air con standard then it would be near perfection.

2002 Honda Civic Si 2.0L DOHC I-vtec from North America


Has potential


The cruise control only works when it wants to.

The gas mileage is good sometimes and then sometimes not.

General Comments:

I really like this car because its comfortable to drive.

I don't like the fact that when you have it on defrost the AC is on.

I don't like that the sun roof opens a little bit when you pop it up.

I really like the shifter, it has made driving long distance comfortable.

The stereo gets really good reception.

I had a 99 Honda Civic before and I felt that offered more leg room in the backseat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2003

20th Sep 2004, 08:52

If you don't like the fact that the A/C turn on with your defrost, just go to your dealer and ask to re-program the computer. This is what I did in the first month of my purchase and cost me absolutely nothing. Now, I have complete control of my defrost and A/C.

2002 Honda Civic LX from North America


Still a good car, but noticing little bugs uncharacteristic of Honda


Tires on vehicle seem to be wearing down very quickly. Already had one side wall blow out. This tire was worn to the wear bar, it had 21,000 miles on it.

Dealer replaced all four struts already. A couple of struts were leaking, car had 21,400 miles at this time.

General Comments:

I have owned three previous Honda civics. I have noticed with the last two I have owned much more slipping on packed snow than the first civic I owned. I don't know if this is due to a lower grade of tire or too much front wheel pick up speed, but it is noticeable to me.

Wipers are real cheap and must be changed often.

All in all a good comuter car, not for long trips. If Honda would make a four wheel drive civic (sedan) it would make me happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th November, 2003

2002 Honda Civic 2.0 Type-R 2.0 I-VTEC petrol from UK and Ireland


A wonderful-looking, affordable high performance hatch-back


Noise like a loose object inside the tailgate. Dealer knew about this and said it was one of the struts that just "needed tightening".

Apart from this very minor and silly fault, this Honda, like most I read about, was completely fault-free and totally reliable.

General Comments:

I needed to get away from the rut of owning two Impreza Turbos in a row over 7 years. The Civic compared very well on outright performance, but I missed that 4-wheel drive traction from standstill in the Subaru.

Buy it for that amazing, zingy engine and incredible, light gearbox. The step-up in performance (and noise!) as you pass 6200 RPM is very addictive. However the high revs and noise that go with getting high performance makes you feel a little bit anti-social.

The "space saving" spare CANNOT be put on the front (fouls the brake caliper) ; so if you have a front flat, you must first put the spare on a rear position and use the good rear wheel/tyre on the front. Not good on a wet night!

The free Motoring Appreciation Course (MAC) that Honda provides is a nice touch. It does NOT teach high speed driving, but makes you a better driver.

The ride is not great and the driver is inhibited from using all the performance for fear of alienating his passenger who gets thrown about!

Very cheapskate and annoying of Honda to not even fit "one-shot up and down" to front passenger window and only one-shot down (not up) to driver's window.

When either front seat is folded for access to rear, it does not return to its previously set position; this sounds minor, but is disproportionately annoying!

The "motor cycle style" Type-R decals on the sills are a bit ostentatious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2003