2005 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 12 of 13

2005 Honda Civic type r 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Great hot hatch for under £17grand

Faults:

Handbrake failed in a shopping centre car park, causing the car to roll into the front of another car damaging the front bumper and causing £600 worth of damage. Honda dealer and Honda UK not interested in helping and am very dissapointed in the way I have been treated.

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick if you rev it hard!!

Previous car was a BMW 330i and it runs rings around it performance wise.

Handling is very good, but can get uncomfortable on long journeys.

Very good car for under £17grand, but cannot forgive Honda's after-sale experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd May, 2005

13th Jun 2005, 06:42

It's likely that the handbrake wasn't engaged properly - you should push the brake pedal down firmly to lock the pads on the rear discs before applying it on any kind of slope.

If you don't do this, the contraction of the discs and pads as they cool can cause the friction to be overcome. It's also sensible to leave the car in gear on any kind of gradient.

2nd Jan 2006, 12:02

Low torque, sloppy steering, but very reliable, would be great with extra torque needed.

2005 Honda Civic EX 1.7L gasoline from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.7L gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance160 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

The 2005 Civic EX sedan is great value!

General Comments:

The quality, fit, and finish of my 2005 Honda Civic EX sedan is excellent. The interior is comfortable and well designed.

Very good fuel economy, even with automatic. The 2005 is a definite refinement of my previous 1999 Honda, which was a very good car.

I bought my 2005 Honda through the dealer's web site via their Internet sales representative, and saved $2100 off the retail price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2005

2005 Honda Civic LX 1.7 Liter from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.7 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance550 miles
Previous carChevrolet Venture

Summary:

Great things come in small packages!

Faults:

The car is new, so I have had no issues.

General Comments:

I love my Honda Civic. After having owned a Chevy Venture for 7 years, its been a long time since I have enjoyed driving. The handling is crisp, and the power is adequate. I bought this car to get good gas mileage, and it has delivered. To date, I have filled up twice, and I've calculated 32.5mpg. The ride is a little stiff, but acceptable.

I plan on coming back here next year to give updates.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2005

21st Dec 2005, 11:19

2004 Accord EX V6, Taffeta White - In the past, I've ordered Honda touch up paint from H and A Accessories online with good results. Since I live in Chicago, I wouldn't purchase the bra because it collects salt in the winter and dirt/bugs in the summer.

Here's the link for your Civic:

http://www.handa-accessories.com/civext01.html

31st Dec 2006, 19:43

I'm back with another review. I now have 40k on my Civic, and I still love this car. Great gas mileage as well as reliability keep me very satisfied. although I do have to report a part that was replaced under warranty. The part was related to the throttle body, and with most cars is a simple change, but with the Civic the whole assembly had to be replace. If it wasn't under warranty it would have cost 600 bucks. Fortunately, every one thinks it was a freak failure, and shouldn't happen again. Otherwise this car has been a dream, and look forward to purchasing one for my wife when her car dies.

See you at 50k.

3rd Feb 2008, 09:38

I'm back again with another follow-up comment.

The Civic now has 61000 miles and I've had no problems. I am now convinced this is the best car I've ever owned! Yesterday I rotated the tires (original) and looked at the brakes, and they might be half worn! Half worn with 61000 miles on the original tires which I will probably go until this summer. Zero problems!

My wife still drives the Venture beast, and when it finally dies, I'm replacing it with a Civic!

After driving the Civic for a couple years, I realize that I don't need 250 or 300 horse power. This thing averages around 35mpg, so I have money left over at the end of the month I can do other things with. The American public needs to wake up and stop buying SUV (s) and get smart about what they drive.

I'm glad I woke up and bought a Civic! One of the smartest things I ever did.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 34 reviews