2006 Honda Civic LX 1.8L from North America


What a great car!



General Comments:

I loved this car. It was a small car, but big on the inside. I chose it because of the inside room, fuel economy, and reliability.

I had the car for 4 years, and ran it on synthetic oil.

I totaled this car about 10 days ago. I was traveling at 50 mph on a highway, and T-Boned a lady that turned left in front of me. So - this brings me to another major point that I really didn't think of when I bought this car. The safety features of all of the airbags, and the engineering of the unibody to absorb the impact of this crash was unbelievable. Even the body shop could not believe that I was not seriously hurt.

I bought another Honda to replace this one. So, parents - this car is small, easy to maintain, reliable, and very safe in frontal impacts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2010

2006 Honda Civic LX standard 4 cylinder from North America


A well built dependable car


The driver's sun visor broke twice and was replaced twice. The second time happened on the last day of the warranty. The dealer replaced it even though the vehicle was over on mileage. This is a very common problem on Civics due to a design flaw.

The inside floor key hole for disabling the trunk lock remote-opener became jammed by a piece of sand.

The digital clock keeps lousy time. It gains a minute every week or so.

The arm rest on the driver's side has broken away from the door, flexing more than it should.

Something plastic gave way that holds the door panel on.

I received a letter stating that someone filed a class action suit with Honda because the odometer records more miles than actually driven. Honda agreed to extend the warranty by a certain number of miles to compensate for the discrepancy.

General Comments:

The car is as dependable as the day is long.

I bought the car for commuting. It gets great mileage, usually between 35 to 38 mpg. I hit 40 a couple of times.

Overall, it is fairly comfortable to ride in. One thing I hate is the placement of the emergency brake handle. It rubs against my right leg. I put a foam sleeve over it.

The car has good acceleration. Not the fastest car I've ever driven, but for an economy car, it drives good.

Overall, this is an excellent car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2009

2006 Honda Civic EX-l 1.8L 4 cylinder from North America


Best car I've ever owned, and I've owned them all at one point or another


Nothing, not a darn thing has gone wrong in three years.

General Comments:

It's comfortable.

Fast enough to merge and pass.

Extremely reliable.

Great on gas.

And I know I got a great price, cause Japanese products don't have thousands of dollars in mark up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2009

2006 Honda Civic VTEC 1.8 from Malaysia


This model is a low quality car


Design fault of wiper arms. Until today, has a problem with the wipers. Windscreen cannot be wiped effectively during rain.

Steering column changed at 40,000 km due to a creaking noise. Reported the problem at 20,000 km.

Driver side window, the rubber needs greasing almost every month.

Last week, engine mounting changed at 94,000 km.

General Comments:

Performance of the car is good. Acceleration is quick, but the handling is only average. I don't like taking bends and corners with this car.

I find the quality is bad. Many faulty parts to be replaced within the 100,000 km warranty.

Worst of all, I needed to have the engine mountings changed even before the car reached 3 years and below 100,000 km. This is not covered under the warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2009

2006 Honda Civic EX 1.8 from North America


This car is a sorry excuse for a Honda


1. Right rear window electronics/mechanism went bad; window would grind on up/down - mechanism and electronics replaced.

2. High pressure hose on power steering leaked - bad seal replaced.

3. Took to dealership 3 times before they figured out what was causing a bad rear tire ware (cupping) problem. Final disposition was that I needed a camber kit to resolve the problem. Not sure if it is still fixed, since I just bought the tires 6 months earlier, and I'm going to run them until they are worn out, so I hear a thumping noise at highway speeds.

So, including two recalls, this car tops any I've ever owned in time spent in the shop.

Fortunately, is was all covered under warranty.

General Comments:

This is my first Honda, and I've owned numerous cars in my 28+ years of driver, and strictly from a mechanical point of view, this is the worst car I've ever owned.

None of the cars I've had in the past ever saw a mechanic more than twice. Maybe I've just been lucky, and this is normal. (I hope not!)

All I'll say is that I will be hard pressed to buy another Honda.

If this was a new model year American car, I'd cut them some slack, but since I've owned several new model Mazda's, Nissan's, Toyota's, and even a Chevy, I'm not going too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th August, 2009

5th Aug 2009, 15:54

You probably got a dud. My Civic has been great, I haven't had a single problem with it.

2nd Jul 2010, 22:47

My Civic ate tires every 12000 miles. The dealer solution was to trade it in on a new car. Several alignments couldn't fix it, as well as the rear control arm replacement.

Now at 73mph the front steering wheel vibrates like crazy, and over 80 it goes away. I bought new rims/tires/alignment and still does it... crappy crap.

3rd Jul 2010, 12:34

"This car is a sorry excuse for a Honda"

In our case, Honda was a sorry excuse for a car!!

19th Sep 2010, 21:39

Having owned a 2006 Civic for the last 4 years, I'm finally rid of it! Living with the fact that the motor might suddenly start leaking anti-freeze (due to bad casting, which Honda knows about, but won't recall), I'm glad it's gone!

The leaking shock at 40,000 miles was the last straw. The fact that it ate tires until I found out about the camber problem (another thing Honda knows about, yet, no recall), rattles, vibrations...

Don't think I'm anti Honda, as I still enjoy my 05 Accord, I just won't be recommending a Civic to anybody!