2006 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 5 of 16

2006 Honda Civic EX sedan 1.8L from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49500 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

All around good ride with a sporty spirit

General Comments:

The acceleration is adequate, on the quick side.

Controls are great and easy to find and well lit.

Handling is great for its class, steering is sharp and precise.

The window pillars sometimes obstruct vision.

The sedan could've used the 350 Watt system from SI and coupe EX, but the included system with 6 speakers is not bad.

I actually like the 2-level dash because you don't have to glance too far down to see how fast you're going.

There's a good amount of room in the back, even for tall passengers.

Fuel economy is a big plus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2009

2006 Honda Civic EX 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Far short of Honda's reputation

Faults:

Intermittent cutting out.

Rear suspension knock.

Petrol filler cap failed to open.

Central locking failed.

Power steering failed.

Colour came off of gear change knob.

Engine to body earth point failed.

General Comments:

Honda really failed on this one, although it has been very reliable since an independent motor engineer fixed the faults. For which repeated negotiations with Honda customer services failed to do. And the dealer as much use as a chocolate teapot. Probably why they went bust.

I would say the car drives well, comfortable, and running costs are good.

The bad Honda customer service detracts from how good this car could be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th June, 2009

2006 Honda Civic EX Coupe 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Japanese Mustang

Faults:

Car began to not start on first try at 33,000 miles. Only happens now every 20 starts or so.

Side airbag light came on at 47,000 miles, telling me the side airbag was off. It comes and goes.

The steering wheel lightly vibrates when you brake.

When turned to the left, the steering wheel also makes a strange squeaking noise.

New brakes at 37,000 miles.

Flat tire at 46,000 miles.

New tires at 46,000 miles.

Got slammed with a $500 bill from Honda, after taking it in for regular check up.

After getting the windows tinted, they now squeak so bad while moving up or down.

Dead battery at 40,000 miles.

General Comments:

My parents and I picked out this car in January 2008 as a birthday present for myself. My last car was an Oldsmobile Alero (what a piece of junk). That car was canned after continuously not starting.

The Civic is a very good car. It is used daily and driven constantly, far distances. It gets good mpg about 25/35 (which is close to what it should be - 30/40).

The cabin is very small, and my God the dashboard is like a dance floor. It's huge and collects a lot of dust. The digital dash however is amazing. It's placed at just the right location, and is always correct with the digital speed check-points cops set up.

On the road, the steering is very sensitive, hard to get used to. Once you do though you really will appreciate it. I have had a few close calls and I guarantee my steering being so touchy saved me. The car was in an accident at about 27,000 miles and it held up. The other car was totaled (no surprise - 1995 Ford Contour) and the Civic only had minor front end damage. The brakes are sensitive like the steering wheel, and I am still not used to them.

The car is slow to start off after acceleration, but once it gets going it purrs! It can easily go 80 mph. I usually notice the car "bucks" right after you get past 55 mph, when you let off the gas, and then press it again, I know its most likely just the gears shifting.

Has a tiny trouble starting in cold weather, but is a lot better than my first car. It will not start sometimes on the first try, and then will start instantly on the second. The AC is a bit wimpy, isn't all that cold at max (and it's has plenty of freon). But, the heat is great! I feel like I'm in Florida in July when it's on.

The interior seems to get very dusty and dirty, very easily. Not sure why. If you have lots of things with you when your driving, the interior is small and clutters quickly. Seats are a dream, so comfortable. I drove from Philadelphia, PA to upstate PA, a 3 hour drive, without one complaint. My back gets stiff and just sitting on the seats, the way they contour you is like having a massage.

I have the oil changed every 3,000 miles. The Oil Life % feature is absolutely wonderful. I also like how it tells me the temperature, very helpful. Perform regular maintenance on the car. Had to be taken to Honda for a check up, and they found "issues" and billed me $500. They said it had to do with the brakes, I don't buy it.

The stereo system is the best I have ever heard. I didn't add anything to it, and I've had people in the car who say it's like I have sub woofers. You could blast the music and have the volume at 40 (the highest) and not blow the speakers. It's amazing. I also love the instant i-Pod hook up!

All in all the Civic has a few rough spots, but I love it and wouldn't trade it for any car. It's reliable and sporty. Plus it's economical AND fast, all in one car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2009

24th May 2009, 10:34

If you think that this is an amazing car, you should try the Si coupe, and you'll notice the difference. After so many problems, critics, compare yours with this: 1999 Chrysler Intrepid, 177k miles, nothing wrong, all original but tires and brakes.

5th Nov 2009, 18:17

It's not like it has subs, it DOES have subs...well, A sub..lol. The EX comes with a factory sub in the trunk.

12th Jan 2010, 21:33

I had a 2006 Civic EX, and I loved it too. I loved the long rake windshield- I like all of the light. I wonder if that's why the dash always seems dirty- it's because you can see it! I had the same experience. Love the digital speedo.

For the passenger side airbag light going on and off - do you have something in the passenger seat? If you have something with some weight to it in the passenger seat (a bag of groceries) the Air Bag light will come on to indicate that the airbag is off. (Safety feature for small children sitting in the front seat.)

3rd May 2011, 13:52

A 5 speed instead of auto will turn your performance score of 6 to a 8 easily. 2nd gear rips!

3rd May 2011, 19:06

Japanese Mustang... Yeah, okay! C'mon, the two are so different it is ridiculous. Obviously this poster has never really driven a Mustang!

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 46 reviews