2001 Honda CR-V EX 2.0 from North America


Awesome SUV


This little SUV has been great. I bought it new with 3 miles on it. It now has 167000 miles, and is still running like a champ.

I think it has enough power to climb hills, and also get on the interstates. It's very zippy, and also not so thirsty like the big SUVs. I average 30 mpg on the highway, 28 city; can't beat that.

I also been through some nasty snowstorms, and never got stuck in any kind of weather. It gives you piece of mind to know it won't leave me stranded in a blizzard. Never has and never will.

So glad to own such a great 2001 CRV in these hard economic times. It's a great comfortable ride.

General Comments:

Nothing, just your scheduled maintenance, oil changes etc. Very comfortable and roomy, and great gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2010

13th Jul 2010, 16:05

I agree with your comments above. I'm glad I have a CRV too. It's fun to drive and gets me through some nasty weather safely.

18th Jul 2010, 20:51

I love my 2001 Honda CRV. I purchased it in 2007 with 78000 miles on... now I have 189000 miles and it runs like a champ. Also gets me through some nasty weather here in New York. It's been very reliable too. Just your normal oil changes. I'm so glad I own this. Also it's very good on gas.

21st Jul 2010, 12:32

It is great to have a good 2001 CRV in winter. I'm never stuck, and it gets me from point A to B safely ALL THE TIME. I'VE OWNED THIS SINCE 2001.

22nd Jul 2010, 19:12

This 01 CRV is a very comfortable to drive, and lots of room and great on gas. My CRV has 208000 miles on it. I bought it new. Never any trouble.

2001 Honda CR-V EX from North America


Love it, but I'm also a girl


Little SUV.

The engine is not big, and it takes a bit for it to get going... when you getting ready to get on the highway is the worst part.

The passenger seat doesn't have an arm rest.

The cup holders aren't that deep or something, because drinks fall out of them constantly.

General Comments:

First of all, it's a Honda and I love it for that reason. It is extremely reliable. I love the fact that I don't have to switch into 4 wheel drive and kill the engine. But it does have a small engine.

My fiance doesn't like it because it's way too little, and doesn't have any power to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2010

2001 Honda CR-V LX 2.0 from North America


Stay away from this vehicle!!!


The first night I had this car, I saw a lump in the rear right tire, and I would have had this problem done under warranty, but the dealer said they were backed up for a week, and I refused to drive that long with a bad tire, so I just went to a tire place and bought a new tire at my expense.

There was a burning smell from the brakes at 40,000 miles, and the dealer said this happens when the brakes are over used. But I always drive on the highway, and I never over use the brakes, and when I do need to use them, I'm very gentle on the pedal. I never stop short, which is what I told them, and then they started blaming me that I was doing something, and they were not going to replace it under warranty. So I got mad and just said FINE!! Whatever!! And I just went to a mechanic.

The battery kept dying, and I have gone through 3 batteries and they still kept dying. The dealer said they could not find anything wrong, and there was nothing they could do. I did not buy it, so I got sick and tired with the dealer, and just took it to a few mechanics, and said something is running down the battery, but they could not find out what. Since nobody could figure out this problem, I just dealt with it until I got another car.

General Comments:

This car was badly made. If you got rear ended in this car, the spare tire will cave in the back door. Being that the door is attached at the hinges and latch, the caving door will put the squeeze on the rest of the car's back end. It would be a big mess!!

Safety ratings are not that impressive. Do not listen what the dealer says, just look on http://www.iihs.org/ or similar websites, and look at the ratings on this car.

It was also horribly under powered! You floor it, and you can feel and hear the transmission and engine struggling.

Poor gas mileage. I have gone through 2 tanks a week.

We lost a lot of money out of this car in 5 years of owning it, and only put not even 30,000 miles on it.

We finally traded in this car and bought a Suzuki Reno, which is so far a much better car. Never had a problem with it once yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th February, 2009

25th Mar 2010, 13:01

First you said the brakes messed up at 40,000. Then you said you only put 30,000 miles on the car when you apparently sold it. Which is it???

25th Mar 2010, 19:44

To the above commentor:

Read the review. You will notice that the original reviewer purchased the car USED with 23,000 miles. They sold it with 52,000 miles. This means they actually drove the car 29,000 miles. At 40,000 miles, they stated they had issues with the braking system. Since they drove 29,000 miles, they hit the 40K mark.