2002 Honda CR-V EX from North America - Comments

21st Jul 2007, 09:20

I am sitting in the Dealership waiting area to find out about my air conditioning problem in my 2003 Honda CRV. I dread the call to the service department after reading all of the comments about the air conditioning problems here and other places online. My CRV was purchased new in April of 2003 and only has 36,700 miles on it. All in town driving 50/50 highway and city. Road noise is a complaint. Replace tires at 33000 miles, improve noise a little, still not great. Love the AWD and cargo area. Mileage is not as great as I would have expected, average about 20mpg, but I do like the vehicle. I will not be very happy if the dealership doesn't give me the goodwill warranty on the air conditioner.

21st Jul 2007, 09:27

Update - just talked to service manager. Air compressor is locked up in A/C. Dealership is going to fix with no charge. They are waiving the deductible since I brought it back to the dealership. All cost of replacement to be covered all $1288.00. Very happy customer sitting here!

Oklahoma City

30th Jul 2007, 17:15

Well the whole process to repair my A/C took a full week. The more they did to fix it the more they had to replace. Apparently I had a Millennium warranty and the Millennium people had to inspect the parts to authorize the complete repair. Grand total of replacement $2074.00. It was covered by the Millennium warranty. (2003 model with less than 37000 miles). Certainly hope I don't have to do this again.

Oklahoma City.

12th Aug 2007, 21:16

The A/C on my 2002 CRV just stopped blowing cold and started blowing hot. No noise, nothing, just started blowing hot. One minute before that it would freeze you out! 58,XXX miles. Wondering what to do I looked to the net for information. Boy, did I get it! Apparently there is absolutley nothing UNcommon about the A/C compressor blowing up on a 2002 CRV. Armed with the information I received from this site and several others I am off to the local Honda dealer tomorrow morning to begin the battle. Wish me luck! And thanks!!

14th Aug 2007, 12:38

I have a 2002 Honda CRV with 70,000 miles and the air compressor just went out. I guess I'm in the same boat as everyone else. The only thing to do is let them know through my wallet. It will be the last Honda I will ever purchase. If they lose enough business, maybe they'll start doing the right thing and recall cars they know have problems, and make the repairs free of charge before they have a dissatisfied customer.

14th Aug 2007, 19:10

My 2004 Honda CR-V just cost me $2300. The air compressor blew up and sent metal particles through the system. 9 hours of labor! The dealership assured me that this was very rare! Like getting struck by lightning! Gosh... just bad luck. They say thay have had no advisories from Honda, no complaints from customers. I referred the service manager to this site. Disgusted with this. Are we supposed to prevent this by changing air compressors every time we change oil or tires? P Mc CA.

16th Aug 2007, 18:51

The air conditioner on my 2003 Honda CRV just blew up and the dealer said they are not aware of any problems. I will have to pay a local shop $1700 to repair my system. This is my last Honda. Be warned, the rear brakes are bad,the seats hurt your back and consumer reports shows all these problems in their current rankings for this car.

17th Aug 2007, 12:31

I own a 2002 cr-v as well; with a-c problems. Last fall took it to dealer had only hot air blowing -they replaced entire a/c system including bad compressor.

This April hot air again- took it back to dealer

They said oh well; it must not have completed been freon charged.

It worked fine until July!! Blowing hot air again!!! it is only 100 degrees out side----Called them left message-- no reply ---called again today. I am taking it back Tuesday-

I live 1hour and 30 minutes on way from dealer.

Why does this car only get 20 MPG no matter what I do??

I am very disappointed in Honda.

21st Aug 2007, 08:13

I bought a used 2002 CRV back in May from a local Honda dealership. Only had 48,000 miles on it so I thought everything should still be in good working order.

I've now had the to replace the oxygen sensor $500, have the check engine light checked 3 times, and now have a compressor unit go out on the a/c. Estimate to repair $1200.

Not too happy considering I bought a 05 Pilot from same dealer and yet to have any complaints on it.

I will definitely steer possible buyers to other model than CRV.

24th Aug 2007, 09:10

I was driving to Jacksonville, Fla, 90 degrees, first time we were driving my 2003 Honda crv out of town , I had purchased the car new, it was my pride, I have a "Honda", it was my second Honda and I recommended my son to buy one and he did. Until last week, suddenly the a/c started blowing hot air. We were 200 miles from home, in the heat, we stopped at a Honda dealership, they checked the car, they told me there was an "issue" with the a/c of the crv's, to check with my dealer. I went to the dealer yesterday, I was under the impression they knew about this problem, I left my car there. I'm praying and also my fingers are crossed, my vehicle has only 32,000 miles on it. I will not buy a Honda again.

27th Aug 2007, 21:38

I am a little relieved to hear that I am not alone with A/C woes in my 2002 Honda CRV. Three days ago my wife said that she was driving and heard a strange noise resulting in the A/C blowing out hot air. The preliminary analysis by a local mechanic is that it is a problem with the air compressor.

Between my wife and I, we have owned 7 Hondas in 20 years. I have never put money into a Honda like I have this CRV, including an oxygen sensor as someone else mentioned to the tune of about $700. I don't intend on paying for the cost to fix this, and that includes parts and labor. I will be on the horn to the dealer and to American Honda tomorrow.

The worst thing is that I nearly traded the thing in last week before the A/C went out. But we decided it was too good of a vehicle to get rid of! Bad decision!

27th Aug 2007, 23:49

I also have a 2003 Honda CRV -EX 4WD, bought new. I was very satisfied until today when the A/C stops working after making a rattling noise.

Check several web sites and it is very common problem on the CRV's and apparently Honda is not doing anything about it other than covering costs for some Customers. My car has 36,200 miles and has been driven by my wife 95% of the time.

I will fight this battle to the end with Honda Corporate. I am 2,400 miles from the Dealer I bought the car, but won't give up.

I will take the car to a local dealer tomorrow and update everybody on the outcome.

Depending on the results, my next car will be a Jeep.