1987 Honda CRX Si 1.5L, Fuel Injected from North America

Summary:

It's a fun in the Sun type of car

Faults:

The sunroof doesn't like to close when it's cold outside. I have to assist it by pushing up on it.

The alternator went out late in 2001. I still managed to drive it from Boston, MA to Rexburg, ID with a spare battery and a charger.

In late 2003 the Starter slowly went out. It eventually just make a clicking noise with no sound from the starter. I personally took the Reduction Gear Solenoid apart, which is half of the starter assembly. Then I replaced the stationary Solenoid Contact for $2.48 and the starter works like new again. It's a very common part and easy to find at an electric motor repair shop.

General Comments:

Overall it is a fun little car. Like what has already been said, she comes alive at 3,000 rpm to the red-line.

There is a bit of body roll in tight turns, but it's not as bad as most 4 door compacts from the '80s.

The clutch in mine doesn't feel normal, but it hasn't ever become worse or gone out on me. maybe mine has a performance clutch, or a loose cable. I've tried adjusting it to no avail.

The interior is very nice and functional for an '87. The only real downside is a lack of any cup holders.

Air Conditioning would have been nice, but to my knowledge, no brand new CRX sold in America had A/C. There are ways to put one in however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2004

20th Apr 2004, 12:05

My 86 CRXsi is a California Car, and it has AC. I've seen several out here and in Texas that do.

23rd Oct 2005, 12:58

I have an 88 crx and mine has factory a/c. At least it appear to be factory as all the controls are in the dash unlike many after market units which mount the evaporator under the dash or glove box.

22nd Mar 2006, 08:00

I have a 1987 CRX Si with Factory Air, I was amazed to find one with Air and it still works great!!

I love this car! 154,000 miles, still runs like NEW and very fast for a 1987.

8th Jul 2009, 00:20

If the clutch feels funny, check to see that the bracket holding the clutch pedal to the firewall is intact; they tend to fatigue and allow the bracket to move instead of the pedal. The shop welded mine up and it's solid again.

1987 Honda CRX HF 1.5 from North America

Summary:

High speed, low maintenance, and looks great

Faults:

Bearings are wearing causing aloud wobbling noise.

Needs regular tune ups.

Heat/AC does not push air through vents.

General Comments:

Body is in excellent condition inside and out. A few dents that require little fixing, no cracks in windows, and paint is faded, but still looks good.

Interior is great. no warping on dash, all displays light up and function, nice pioneer stereo with Sony 2-way speakers. very loud.

Is very quick and quiet, lots of room for a 2 seater, and it has appeal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

29th Oct 2005, 02:12

Just curious, What kind of mileage do you get with your HF?

9th Aug 2007, 00:32

Our 1988 had a broken heater control cable unit under the dash that was the cause of the poor air/heat flow. Is about a $40.00 part if you can replace it yourself, otherwise about 2 hours of mechanics' shop time at $90.00 per hour (Canada).

1987 Honda CRX Si 1.5L Fuel Injected from North America

Summary:

Light, quick and nimble

Faults:

The synchro for the second gear is worn causing grinding while shifting into second gear.

There is rust starting to show around the hatch area.

General Comments:

This car has a very distinct power-band. The 1.5 liter engine doesn't make any real power until the tachometer hits 3000rpm. The engine accelerates incredibly all the way to its 6500rpm red line. It seems as if the top end power is endless. It could use a bit more low end grunt, but thats understandable with such a small 4 cylinder engine.

The interior of the car is a bit cramped and there seems to be minimal headroom. I am 6'4" and fit in the car adequately, but headroom is a bit limited.

The car has enough space to carry two passengers and a few groceries, but being what it is, a compact sports car, that's understandable.

The car handles well, but does tend to roll under hard cornering. Installing a thicker anti roll bar from a 86 Civic Wagon would solve this problem.

This car looks excellent and in my opinion, is the best affordable compact sports car Honda has ever made. Its fast and lightweight. Steeping on the throttle gives almost instant acceleration as the tachometer sweeps past 3000rpm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2003